About the Author

Joseph Marshall III

Joseph M. Marshall III is a teacher, historian, writer, storyteller, and a Lakota craftsman. He was born on the Rosebud Sioux Indian Reservation in South Dakota and raised in a traditional native household by his maternal grandparents. He has published nine...

Customer Reviews for Walking with Grandfather

By Mary Latela
Date Added: Friday 28 September 2012
Marshall's book has wide appeal, not only as an honest and true portrait of Lakota heritage and the obligations and privilege of the elders, but also of his own journey from grandson to upcoming elder. Excellent read... to be shared!
Rating:
 
By Elaine Huggins
Date Added: Thursday 5 January 2012
Just excellent!
Rating:
 
By Mary Latela
Date Added: Wednesday 4 January 2012
Strong, clear, full of insights.
Rating:
 
By bob stutzman
Date Added: Wednesday 4 January 2012
most excellent book and CD.. it was insightful and well written.
Rating:
 
By Ingrid Ruhrmann
Date Added: Thursday 29 December 2011
soothing balm for my soul ... thank you
Rating:
 
By Roy Lucianna
Date Added: Tuesday 27 December 2011
You may not recognize this as a little masterpiece because it's dressed in a simple garb.
As a follower of the Tao, I treasure this little book.
Thank you to the author.
Rating:
 
By Jeri Lynn Miller
Date Added: Tuesday 27 December 2011
great read
Rating:
 
By Eunice K Kinney
Date Added: Sunday 25 December 2011
On reflection, those that influence us the most, offer simple yet profound guidance, through love, lessons, humor, respect, truth and candor. How fortunate for us the author chose to share such hard won wisdom. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Annette Wall
Date Added: Wednesday 21 December 2011
Beautiful in its simplicity. The Story is told from personal experience. A valuable little book telling a story too seldom told in our culture.
Rating:
 
By Bob R
Date Added: Tuesday 4 September 2012
Bought my original book in S.E Utah, at Monument Valley. I am a grandfather of two young ones and the book spoke to me about being an elder among my faith community. I have been part of a Men's Group that has been meeting weekly for almost 30 years and I decided to buy the 10 books to give to the 10 men that are in this group with me. I hope it will be a good book study and that they get as much a I have from the words of Joseph Marshall. I also need to order an extra book, we have 1 extra man who is meeting with us for a time. Thanks for getting the books to me. I feel like I'm carrying words that my elders have spoken to me.
Rating:
 
By Karen Chen
Date Added: Wednesday 21 December 2011
loved it! stories with spiritual growth/ be a better human being lessons embedded
Rating:
 
By marcia zumwalt
Date Added: Wednesday 28 December 2011
Very sweet, a rich childhood because of the wisdom and love of his grandfather, not the outside world, for sure. Short and personal.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others