About the Author

Pema Chödrön

Ani Pema Chödrön was born Deirdre Blomfield-Brown in 1936, in New York City. She attended Miss Porter's School in Connecticut and graduated from the University of California at Berkeley. She taught as an elementary school teacher for many years in both New Mexico and...

Customer Reviews for How to Meditate with Pema Chödrön

By Brendan Nolan
Date Added: Thursday 17 April 2014
I bought the eBook and the MP3. Pema is deceptively simple. I find that rereading or relistening to her uncovers more and more insights.

So, she manages to speak to beginners AND to seasoned meditators at the same time.
I guess I'm probably in the latter category, although it often feels like I'm beginning over again. I recommend both eBook and MP3 recordong wholeheartedly...
Rating:
 
By Susan W
Date Added: Wednesday 16 April 2014
The program is great. I am not up on my tech language, but who ever copied the tracks for the download, did not number them correctly, so the tracks were not in order as you listened to them.
I only know that this was the problem because I got help from my man friend who builds computers and systems. He fixed it for me and re-numbered them so they played in order. the material is wonderful. I love Pema Chodron's gentle spirit and presentation. I just thought you would want to know about the downloading process. Have a good day. thanks for all the good programs that you and your staff publish.
Rating:
 
By Anthony B
Date Added: Thursday 11 July 2013
Very comprehensive review of major meditation methods. It is excellent on dealing with stability, emotional turmoil, basic postures, working with sound and sight, and many other elements of calm abiding. Pema Chodron has a great talent of talking in a friendly way but covering many points and also in giving the philosophical foundations of meditation. She has a great intuitive knowledge of our psychological problems and some ways of dealing with them.
Rating:
 
By Natalie B
Date Added: Wednesday 23 January 2013
I love this teaching series. It has gone beyond expectation.
Rating:
 
By barbara daley
Date Added: Wednesday 7 September 2011
Quite profound view on meditation combined with very practical guidance. Pema Chodron's warm and wry sense of humour is delightful and encouraging. This is an excellent tool for learning to stay in difficult times.
Rating:
 
By Francine Joly de Lotbiniere
Date Added: Monday 14 March 2011
Excellent rendering and explanation of how to meditate. It is remarkable how Pema Chödron can simplify the practice and yet covering in depth the subtleties of the essential points of meditation. She teaches what she has lived and experienced.
Rating:
 
By Jennie Peut
Date Added: Monday 17 May 2010
I've only listened to the first two sessions, and have already found this an invaluable guide to understanding and practicing meditation.
Rating:
 
By Roy Tuckman
Date Added: Saturday 28 November 2009
To judge from the title, this set appears to be the least appealing of any of Pema's works, whether you are new or a veteran to her work. But this is the best or among the best of her presentations and will bring additional treasures to the most avid students or collectors.
Rating:
 
By MJ
Date Added: Friday 28 October 2011
This was fairly good.
Rating:
 
By Tracy OMeara Smith
Date Added: Saturday 28 May 2011
Pema has a wonderful way in communicating and getting one to settle and understand the mediation process. Highly recommended
Rating:
 
By Linda K
Date Added: Friday 27 January 2012
I downloaded this from iTunes after receiving a gift certificate. The content was helpful, but the sessions were not broken up cleanly (e.g. first session ended abruptly mid-sentence and didn't give the homework assignment). There were also long periods of silent space during which you were supposed to meditate. Perhaps it was akward to say "now hit the pause button" when she is presenting it live to a group. The last session had a terrible skipping at the end which I haven't experienced on other recordings. Given the price, I was a little disappointed with the recording quality.
Rating:
 
By Joseph K
Date Added: Monday 31 October 2011
I listened to one of five disks of "How to Meditate" by Pema Chodronand found it to be rambling, unstructued nonsense.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others