About the Author

Zindel Segal

Zindel Segal, PhD, is the Morgan Firestone Chair in Psychotherapy in the department of psychiatry at the University of Toronto and head of the Cognitive Therapy Unit at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health.

John Teasdale

John Teasdale, PhD, has held senior research appointments in the department of psychiatry at the University of Oxford and in the Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit in Cambridge.

Author photo © Ben Teasdale

Jon Kabat-Zinn

Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD, is the founder and director of the Stress Reduction Clinic at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center and associate professor of medicine in the Division of Preventative and Behavioral Medicine. His clinic was featured in 1993 in the public...

Mark Williams

Mark Williams, PhD, is professor of clinical psychology at the University of Oxford and Wellcome Trust Research Fellow, and co-author with Drs. Segal and Teasdale of Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Depression, a bestselling book for professionals.

Customer Reviews for The Mindful Way Through Depression

By Sylvia A
Date Added: Friday 14 March 2014
This is a life changing CD. I have been interested in mindfulness for some time and this CD has allowed me to give relief to my son who has been suffering with anxiety for a long time. I think he felt heard for the first time. The message is delivered in a very simple way.
Rating:
 
By Nancy H
Date Added: Wednesday 15 January 2014
This program has helped me deal in a very positive way with depressive issues I have had over the course of my lifetime.
Rating:
 
By Jamie R
Date Added: Monday 6 January 2014
This an excellent starter set for anyone interested in beginning or deepening a mindfulness practice, whether or not you suffer from depression. It's wonderfully organized, with warm-voiced narrators and a really vivid view on Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction.
Rating:
 
By Judith G
Date Added: Sunday 29 December 2013
I have listened several times to this download, and loved it. Very helpful!! Never talks down to the listener, and the voice is superb. Excellent material.
Rating:
 
By Marla
Date Added: Sunday 29 December 2013
I am only two CDs into this set and have already bought it for several other people. I love the clear, research-supported explanation of what causes depression and what causes it to return for so many people. It is an excellent bridge between the benefits I've already been experiencing from practicing meditation and my specific problem with depression.

From listening to the first part of the program, my husband finally is better able to understand my life-long experience with depression and therefore be a better partner dealing with the challenges.

I've already gotten enough out of this program to make it worth my time and money. I can't wait to continue through it.
Rating:
 
By Paula BG
Date Added: Thursday 26 December 2013
What I find intriguing about these tapes, is the journey through the how and why of depression. I like to know how things work, and depression is all too prevalent an issue in my life, and birth family's' past. That so much is surfacing about the Mind and how it works, it's so encouraging to think we can have so much hope for our futures.
I also, have been in cognitive behavioral therapy, and know how much that has given me insight. Along with Mindful Meditation, and other support, I'm hopeful, and have more peace in my life.
Rating:
 
By felicity o
Date Added: Sunday 22 December 2013
this cd has been a great support and will become an essential backup for tough times to remind me of what blindness depression can cause to the perception - i have not yet embarked upon the 8 week course but know that when the time is right it will be there for me. so much truth is spoken in this cd thanks to all its contributors.
Rating:
 
By Lori
Date Added: Tuesday 22 October 2013
Excellent. Calm, supportive, and above all, kind.
Rating:
 
By thomas v dwyer
Date Added: Monday 19 August 2013
Very good.
Rating:
 
By Anthony B
Date Added: Monday 29 July 2013
This audio book is excellent. I only wish there were some pauses to stop and consider what was just said. It is packed with thoughtful ideas but they just keep coming and coming. Some chunking of concepts would have made this book easier to take in. With more segmentation, it could be used in a group therapy. Too much emphasis on transfer of information rather the listener applying and making meaning of the concepts.
Rating:
 
By Ann S. B
Date Added: Wednesday 24 July 2013
very informative and an overall good CD.
Rating:
 
By Fiona L
Date Added: Thursday 11 July 2013
I highly rate this publication. I was referred to it by a recommended readings list in a book about depression by Ruby Wax. The guided meditations are insightful and easy to follow. Excellently written and presented.
Rating:
 
By Deanna P
Date Added: Wednesday 10 April 2013
Very good presentation and experiential practice was especially useful for myself and to share with co-workers and with clients.
Rating:
 
By Kathleen S
Date Added: Saturday 9 February 2013
Excellent presentation. Highly useful informaton in a kind and clear presentation.
Rating:
 
By Lynn S
Date Added: Wednesday 16 January 2013
Practical and straightforward. I found it to be quite calming.
Rating:
 
By joanne
Date Added: Sunday 30 December 2012
I very much like this program but it would be helpful to have a pdf of the outline of the contents - the audio download gives a lot of numbered files which makes it difficult to find particular sections referred to by the speakers.
Rating:
 
By David H
Date Added: Saturday 1 December 2012
It's good. And the meditations are simple, short and convenient to fit in a busy day.
Rating:
 
By Mary Lynne M
Date Added: Saturday 15 September 2012
I am thoroughly enjoying and appreciating this CD set. I have recommended it to two friends.
Rating:
 
By ruth l
Date Added: Saturday 25 August 2012
superb
Rating:
 
By anonymous
Date Added: Saturday 12 May 2012
amazingly helpful in so many ways. It should be called Mindful way through LIFE
Rating:
 
By Leslie Olivas
Date Added: Saturday 31 March 2012
This is an excellent presentation, covering more than depression.
The content is valuable, and the speaker's voice is very pleasant. Thank you for this very nice CD set.
Rating:
 
By Janelle Samples
Date Added: Thursday 16 February 2012
This is a great CD. A thorough discussion of the causes of depression, followed by some introductory meditations, led by Dr. Kabat-Zinn. A wonderful introduction to meditation in addition to the discussion of depression.
Rating:
 
By Chris Jenkins
Date Added: Saturday 19 November 2011
This program is excellent in explaining Vipassana and Buddhist practices to people, without mentioning either vipassana or buddhism which does turn some people off. It puts forward these principles in more "scientific" terms which I feel will be more acceptable to a lot of people. The explanations are very good and I will be recommending this program to many friends and family.
Rating:
 
By Luis
Date Added: Monday 3 October 2011
VERY GOOD INDED!!!!!!!!.

GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!!!.
Rating:
 
By carol ward
Date Added: Saturday 1 October 2011
I listen to these CD's several times a week and the information I have learned has really helped me with my depression. I am making some small changes everyday and its really working. I would highly recommend it.
Rating:
 
By Mark R
Date Added: Thursday 29 September 2011
For anyone suffering depression or anxiety, this program is a god send. It shows how mindfulness practices can help you emerge from the darkness and rediscover your healthier, truer self. What I really like is the way it creates a conceptual context within which to understand how mindfulness can transform mental afflictions. This is a brilliant program.
Rating:
 
By karen green
Date Added: Friday 16 September 2011
excellent
Rating:
 
By Sandra Hofmann
Date Added: Monday 8 August 2011
Have been on vacation and also had grandchildren here for a week so haven't truly undertaken the program but have listened to the first CD and am re-listening to it. Have started the second, also, and have taken the body scan (amazing!) and the first standing yoga one. I am impressed so far but need to have more time with it. My therapist (who recommended the CD series) is also helping me with using the techniques in my particular circumstances. I am hoping this will truly teach me how to live with my brain. I've learned so much already from listening to the first CD's.
Rating:
 
By Marty M.
Date Added: Friday 15 July 2011
I am a Vietnam combat infantry veteran (draftee). I'm diagnosed by VA with PTSD. Shortly after VA psychological malpractice triggered a suicide attempt, I found this in book format. This book literally kept me alive & started me on the path of practicing mindfulness meditation that has made miraculous changes in my life. Indespensable for those suffering from depression. I know of nothing better out there.
Rating:
 
By Donald Fong
Date Added: Thursday 26 May 2011
Kabat-Zinn's guided meditations here are highly apropos and very useful. They are the best part of
this course of self-treatment; that is
my attitude and approach. The intellectual stuff, the narration tracks, have provided numerous insights and realizations for me, but I don't listen to them over and over, as I do with practicing of the meditations. fwiw, I am sleeping a tad better these days.
Too early to tell if my blood pressure will come down from the lofty heights. The course has
been helpful to me. Your mileage may vary.
Rating:
 
By miriam morales
Date Added: Wednesday 16 March 2011
help with understanding biplor
Rating:
 
By Carol Isaac
Date Added: Monday 14 March 2011
Very good
Rating:
 
By Alice Holejsovsky
Date Added: Tuesday 1 March 2011
helpful with good techniques to get out of the circle of negative thinking
Rating:
 
By T Smith
Date Added: Monday 21 February 2011
What do you say about a book that has, simply put, changed my life? If you don't understand depression, buy this book. if you're a prisoner of depression, buy this book. if you love someone that is depressed, buy this book. just buy it and read/listen to it. in the first hour of the audiobook, you will learn 10 things that will make a difference in your day to day struggles with depression. too many great things to list them all.
Rating:
 
By Luis
Date Added: Wednesday 9 December 2009
To whom it may concern,

I have found this audiobook extremely useful, it is worth every secound of it.
I have found Happiness.
However the book mentions a "Practice Guided Section" I have not found yet,Can anyone tell me how to find it.

Congratulations.
Rating:
 
By SMG
Date Added: Tuesday 28 January 2014
Helpful information.
Rating:
 
By tom c
Date Added: Tuesday 31 December 2013
Great insight and instruction on working through depression with mindfulness. Resource in the combined experience of the collaborating authors
Rating:
 
By Mary Ellen L
Date Added: Monday 30 December 2013
Excellent
Rating:
 
By Rosemary John
Date Added: Wednesday 25 July 2012
Very helpful and clear.
Rating:
 
By nancy murray
Date Added: Thursday 28 July 2011
There have been spots on this DVD where there appears to be a defect as the sound gets choppy for a bit and then it gets ok again while someone is talking.
thanks.
Nancy
Rating:
 
By Debbie Keahey
Date Added: Monday 4 April 2011
The material is this program is not new for anyone who has learned about mindfulness before, but the authors do a good job of presenting mindful practice in the context of depression. Sometimes seemed a bit wordy and repetitive and I found it hard to keep focused, but the speaker is empathetic and gentle in guiding the listener. This may not be a complete 'solution' to serious ('clinical') depression, but overall I found it very useful and well done.
Rating:
 
By Jane Ellen Hubschman
Date Added: Friday 26 June 2009
Was VERY skeptical at the beginning since I did not know prsenters. Thought the First sections on Anatomy of Depression and cultiving mindfulness are GREAT. have not tried the guided meditation techniques yet.
Will write a second review once I try that part. The comments about Self Critical Commentary is EXCELLENT.
Rating:
 
By Dean P
Date Added: Wednesday 22 January 2014
Informative but very slow. Make a pot of coffee prior to listening to this one.
Rating:
 
By NW Weggie
Date Added: Wednesday 25 January 2012
The title of this book clearly states who should select this book, folks who consider themselves depressed; preferably ones similar to who the authors studied (at least three clinical depression episodes under their belts according to the introduction). Even though a dysthymia (i.e. chronic low-grade depression) patient was one of the two examples of depressed people in the introduction, I felt that the authors were focused on communicating with people who had spent years trying every other option and, now that they were desperate, were looking into mindfulness. This is too bad because I agree with the authors that their work of applying mindfulness would be fruitful for folks with less depressive history.
Rating:
 
By Nancy Kelly
Date Added: Tuesday 17 January 2012
Would prefer book instead of CD
Rating:
 
By Sounds True to Neo P.
Date Added: Friday 8 November 2013
Hello Neo P.

I am very sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with this product. We do have a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, so please contact Customer Service at customerservice@soundstrue.com and they would be happy to do an exchange or a refund for you.

Kind regards,
Shannon at Sounds True
Rating:
 
By Ken
Date Added: Saturday 7 April 2012
I too could not find the mindful guided meditations. Is that something that needs to be purchased separately?
Rating:
 
By Elissa
Date Added: Friday 21 March 2014
It says not to use the book contents if you are depressed! Here is a quote: "Second, it may be wise not to undertake the entire program while in the midst of an episode of clinical depression. Current evidence suggests that it may be prudent to wait until you’ve gotten the necessary help in climbing out of the depths and are able to approach this new way of working with your thoughts and feelings with your mind and spirit unburdened by the crushing weight of acute depression. "
Rating:
 
By NEO P
Date Added: Wednesday 16 October 2013
Haven't heard all of it but have been skimming and feeling extremely irritated with whoever it is jabbering away incessantly, repetitious running commentary in parts 3-4-5. So far I haven't come across any relaxing meditations without his jabbering..I really wish I could get my money back!
Rating:
 
By RAYMOND MARTOCCIA
Date Added: Tuesday 22 February 2011
NOT HELPFUL
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others