About the Author

James Hollis

James Hollis, Ph.D., is a graduate of Zürich’s Jung Institute, a licensed Jungian analyst practicing in Houston,Texas, and author of 13 books, including Finding Meaning in the Second Half of Life and What Matters Most: Living a More Considered...

Customer Reviews for Through the Dark Wood

By Jill F
Date Added: Wednesday 12 March 2014
Really enjoy his interpretation of Jungian concepts. His voice is calming and engaging. The content is stimulating and Hollis comes across as wise yet humble. Would recommend to a friend.
Rating:
 
By Patricia B
Date Added: Saturday 1 February 2014
I enjoyed this program very much. The presenter, Ian Hollis, spoke from his considerable professional expertise but also from his experience as a human being who has experienced both the joys and tragedies of life and has managed to weave them into a profound philosophy with which to meet the second half of life.
Rating:
 
By Clare N T
Date Added: Tuesday 17 December 2013
In-depth overview; sounds like oxymoron but isn't.
Hollis uses Jungian archetypal material, myth and symbol to create understandable explanation of the major life shift from outer reality to inner reality.
High on my list of support material in search of living a more fully conscious life.
Rating:
 
By Marjolein D
Date Added: Thursday 4 July 2013
Very good
Rating:
 
By Irene S
Date Added: Thursday 4 July 2013
I love James Hollis. His style of teaching, writing is great. The wisdom shared helps me to understand
my life so much better.
Rating:
 
By Sherryl W
Date Added: Wednesday 19 June 2013
I really like it. Good material. Walks you through some deep self-analysis.
Rating:
 
By Trevor Simpson
Date Added: Tuesday 5 February 2013
If I were to have one book on a desert island, this would be the one. Articulate and insightful it is an invaluable support for anyone interested in self awareness and finding meaning in their experience. It is the perfect companion for the journey of the Soul.
Rating:
 
By Sheila A
Date Added: Saturday 29 December 2012
Wonderful -- so thought provoking -- helpful to make sense of life. :-)
Rating:
 
By Roland Wilhelmy
Date Added: Thursday 8 March 2012
A wonderfully rich set of CDs. A lifetime's worth of wisdom. It will take me at least a year absorb it.
Rating:
 
By marlene melcher
Date Added: Saturday 11 February 2012
OUTSTANDING!! Exactlly what I needed to put the last few missing pieces together in MY puzzle of life! I'm 64 and it really spoke to me... Where were you when I was looking for answers 20 years ago?? Thank you Thank you!!! You are brilliant! I give you not 5 but 10 stars!!
Rating:
 
By Jim Brillon
Date Added: Wednesday 25 May 2011
James Hollis provides a deeper understanding of the core issues of individuation, and the existential and spiritual questions that come to the surface in the 2nd half of life. I love this audio book - and the book it's based on! I read it several year ago and it had a huge impact on my understanding of my path.
Rating:
 
By Susan B
Date Added: Saturday 26 February 2011
This program has had a deep impact on me and it would not be exaggerating to say it is the finest product on personal growth that I have comes across. Dr Hollis is a wise and compassionate man with a gentle and intimate manner of speaking. His extensive knowledge of philosophy and psychology, gained through a long academic career and then over 30 years of practice as a psychotherapist, suffuses the entire program but is never condescending. On the contrary, it sounds as if Dr Hollis is talking to the listener personally, with compassion, understanding and humor. This program is an investment that can be listened to many times in future, and will continue to offer further insights for those who are willing to do the work of living a more meaningful life. If there were any more programs from Dr Hollis available on Sounds True I would purchase them without hesitation.
Rating:
 
By Lamees Mansur
Date Added: Tuesday 1 February 2011
This is one of my favorite audio CDs. The work and the teachings by this marvellous man are priceless - down to earth yet transforming. I also listened to it over and over and still do for as I listen, I am working on transforming myself and the material sinks in deeper and deeper. Highly recommended by me. This program is a gift.
Rating:
 
By Janet Steinwedel
Date Added: Monday 10 May 2010
This is a phenomenal work filled with so many gold nuggets you will be compelled to listen again and again. Dr Hollis is an extremely knowledgeable and gifted speaker, and he comes across very effectively on the CD's. Don't miss out!
Rating:
 
By David Brown
Date Added: Wednesday 31 March 2010
Outstanding audiobook - I've listened to this many times through the dark nights but I still keep hearing new and original insights.

I keep looking on the website for more by James but no luck yet - work on him Tari!
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others