About the Author

Steven Gurgevich

Steven Gurgevich, Ph.D., is a psychologist specializing in behavioral and mind-body medicine. He is a faculty member at the University of Arizona's College of Medicine, where he teaches mind-body medicine to physicians at Dr. Andrew Weil's Program in Integrative Medicine. He is...

Customer Reviews for Deep Sleep with Medical Self-Hypnosis

By Margot B
Date Added: Friday 3 October 2014
I like it. I play all the items. 3 or 4 times over, followed by Maneesh meditation music to wake by. I like it because it has a bare minimum of negative words, such as no one should hear while hypnotized.
Rating:
 
By Priscilla O
Date Added: Friday 27 June 2014
Really effective for falling sleep and soothing if you wake up from a nightmare. Has helped me through times of high stress and anxiety
Rating:
 
By Susan B
Date Added: Wednesday 4 June 2014
Excellent program. Within days I started sleeping all night, and it continues. My doubts about whether or not it will work make no difference...
Rating:
 
By Marilyn Rush
Date Added: Monday 16 July 2012
This really was very helpful!
Rating:
 
By Sigrid Kilcullen
Date Added: Monday 8 August 2011
Deep Sleep with Medical Self-Hypnosis has been very helpful to both me and my husband. It works well for inducing sleep and producing other subtle positive effects through the techniques that are taught. I would give it top rating--excellent.
Rating:
 
By Meg
Date Added: Tuesday 1 March 2011
I heard an interview on Sounds True podcast with "Dr G" as Tami referred to him. I was having trouble sleeping. I work 2 jobs and really needed to nap between the shifts and I couldn't (menopause, stress, etc). I downloaded it on iTunes. The first play I didn't fall asleep, but by the 2nd day, I was asleep, soundly! Now I'm on week 2 with wonderful results.
Rating:
 
By Ladybug
Date Added: Tuesday 7 September 2010
I did not bought this tape. It bought me. I walked into the book store, not knowing what I was looking for and there it was. I had to buy it. The tape series is extremely helpful. Especially the "museum of creativity. I began purchasing the tape for all my friends, I give it a 10
Rating:
 
By Better with this!
Date Added: Friday 15 January 2010
I feel alot of stress in my life during this phase of it. I purchased this cd when in Boone, NC visiting a very grounded friend, and trying unsuccessfully to relax out of my stress. In fact, my stress had escalated in the first two days of my 'vacation' as I realized how bad the situation I was in at work, prior to vacation, really was.

I found this cd at a cool grocery store, played it all night that night and for the rest of my 'vacation' during August 2009 in Boone. It is now January 2010 and not a night goes by without me listening to this tape. I've never done that before!

I love his voice for this type of cd and while it's effect is very, very subtle for me, I moved from a very disturbing emotional phase to a much calmer one. This cd definitely helps me fall asleep and I was having alot of trouble with this, before this cd.
Rating:
 
By Peter Allan
Date Added: Friday 21 October 2011
Very good and helpful
Rating:
 
By belladonna
Date Added: Wednesday 2 December 2009
This is a very helpful CD on many levels. It has enough time to get settled in bed,then lets you settle down and calm your mind.The Drs voice is really soothing and monotone.One of the best things about this cd is it does not wake you back up. Believe me I have tried them all.
Rating:
 
By Tina B
Date Added: Friday 28 September 2012
I dislike how these audio files download on my iPad. My problem is with your website more than the product. I use my iPad, which only permits the any player option to download files. It rejects the ipad, ipod option altogether. I find it annoying that I can only listen to one podcast before the system kicks me out and makes me resign in for every subsequent file I want to listen to.

I am also not loving that almost all the podcast don't allow you time to imagine the setting they prompt you to envision before they just move on to the next set of instructions. The timing between instructions in every audio file I purchased has been awful...too fast.
Rating:
 
By Mary K. Blackmon
Date Added: Friday 2 September 2011
I was disappointed b/c I am seeking a CD that begins with a guided relaxation meditation that moves slowly through the body to facilitate falling asleep. That way I can just start the CD anytime with what I want to hear. This is my 3rd attempt to obtain such a CD; unfortunately they all begin with the didactic information part which I no longer need to hear over & over. The CD did not meet my needs, but may meet the needs of others.
Rating:
 
By Jack Cousineau
Date Added: Sunday 11 March 2012
Self-Hypnosis is an attractive possiblity and I expected guidance in how to do this myself. The author simply defines all hypnosis as "self-hypnosis" and presents several inductions for different sleep goals. If one wants to listen to a CD night after night, this is it. But that is not what I wanted.
Rating:
 
By Sounds True
Date Added: Thursday 24 April 2014
Hi Ruth K -

If you are ever unsatisfied with your purchase, you can always return it for a full refund or an exchange. Simply mail the product back with a receipt. For items manufactured by other companies, we indicate the warranty period in the product description.
Returns should be shipped to:
Sounds True Returns
413 S. Arthur Ave.
Louisville, CO 80027
Rating:
 
By Ruth K
Date Added: Friday 18 April 2014
Not what I expected...his voice is irritating and does not get me to a "hypnotic" state. Sorry.
Rating:
 
By James Runka
Date Added: Monday 7 May 2012
Not what I was really expecting. It's not what I find to be soothing or calming at bedtime. It's more a lecture about how sleep works. I didn't find anything about it really self-hypnosis.
Rating:
 
By Lisa Vice
Date Added: Sunday 22 January 2012
There is only one recording you can listen to in order to fall asleep. All the others are sort of practice or the author talking about hypnosis and sleep. I found it very boring but not enough to put me to sleep...and if it did, then he wakes you up!
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others