About the Author

Thich Nhat Hanh

Thich Nhat Hanh is a Zen master in the Vietnamese tradition, scholar, poet, and peace activist. He is the founder of the Van Hanh Buddhist University in Saigon and has taught at Columbia University and the Sorbonne. Thich Nhat Hanh is the author of the national bestseller...

Customer Reviews for Living Without Stress or Fear

By Van W
Date Added: Friday 15 August 2014
Deep, deep peace.
Rating:
 
By Deborah
Date Added: Saturday 22 February 2014
Wonderful! True Thich Nhat Hanh style is slicing right io the essence.
Rating:
 
By Kim R
Date Added: Tuesday 14 January 2014
This is a sane voice in a crazy world aflame…truly enjoyed it!
Rating:
 
By Diane H
Date Added: Saturday 11 January 2014
He is magnificent! Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Patricia B
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
I have been very pleased with my purchase and am very glad to have found your website. I will be ordering more items soon.

Thank you.

Patricia G. Bagchi
Rating:
 
By susan e
Date Added: Thursday 2 January 2014
Very helpful, calming.
Rating:
 
By Ranjini George
Date Added: Thursday 5 December 2013
Thay is one of the greatest living teachers on our planet. I have bought all his recordings. And I read and reread his books.
Rating:
 
By Gwen Hartland
Date Added: Thursday 3 October 2013
Excellent..........very helpful in moving deeper into living mindfully.
Rating:
 
By Theresa J
Date Added: Wednesday 2 October 2013
I have never been disappointed with Thich Nhat Hanh. This recording was done very well. Sometimes retreat recordings are difficult to hear, especially with his soft voice, but this one was perfect.
Rating:
 
By Cynthia P
Date Added: Wednesday 2 October 2013
It is for Christmas. I haven't heard it yet, but I am certain I will love it.
Rating:
 
By JAMES M
Date Added: Tuesday 21 May 2013
Absolutely satisfied.
Rating:
 
By Gail T
Date Added: Thursday 16 May 2013
Wonderful CDs, very enlightening, calming and relaxing jammed packed with pure simple wisdom.
Rating:
 
By Cecilia H
Date Added: Thursday 21 March 2013
Wonderful audio filled with lots of information for both beginners and those looking to enhance their practice. Spoken in Thay's gentle, calm voice that is pure inspiration. This is probably going to long be a favorite of mine. As a meditation teacher and mindfulness instructor, I am always looking for new and inspirational ways to motivate myself and others. This does not disappoint!
Rating:
 
By Kristine P
Date Added: Wednesday 6 February 2013
Wonderful wonderful
Rating:
 
By Lilme
Date Added: Saturday 5 January 2013
Really worth buying Thick Nhat Hanh CD, Living Without Stress or Fear. I listened to it over and over again because I gained lots of learning from his wisdom. which I can apply into everyday situations and life in general.
Rating:
 
By Jacqueline B
Date Added: Tuesday 1 January 2013
He is so wise and has easy and interesting meditations ideas...I am only on the first CD, but I do like it.
Rating:
 
By Alice Ann W
Date Added: Wednesday 26 December 2012
Excellent!
Rating:
 
By Lorie A
Date Added: Thursday 20 December 2012
Listened to each CD at least twice whenever I was in the car. Practicing being present in traffic was a good thing. This was a wonderful collection. I liked it so well I bought another as a gift.
Rating:
 
By Mary M
Date Added: Wednesday 19 December 2012
Thich Nhat Hanh has such a gentle voice that listening to his audio book on Living without stress and fear is healing by itself. I highly recommend anyone who lives in todays world to listen to it, not
just once. Over and over and again. His words are practical and honest. I can't say enough great things about this teacher.
Rating:
 
By Mark L
Date Added: Saturday 17 November 2012
Excellent.
Rating:
 
By deborah hamsho
Date Added: Wednesday 30 November 2011
Excellent collection. Listen in car several times. Uncovered several layers of meaning every time
Rating:
 
By Kelli Barahona
Date Added: Friday 4 November 2011
I used it and loved it a lot. I now meditate often and see everything differently.
Rating:
 
By Michael
Date Added: Tuesday 25 October 2011
An excellent CD collection! I find his English impeccable and his accent compels me to listen with even greater attention. And that's a good thing.
Rating:
 
By Kathryn Baslee
Date Added: Sunday 17 July 2011
WHat I never could get from reading Thich Nhat Hanh's wonderful books, I get from listening to him on these Audio offerings. The quality of his voice, intonation, command of English!, reach the darkened understandings in me and offer light. Living Without Stress or Fear is as impactful as the first 2 CD collections (The Present Moment (correct title?) and Miracle of Mindfulness. This new offering takes me further, in understanding, and application. Exceptionally strong counter- techniques to the well-used and useless mental formations standing obstacle to really living life well and offering more consistent compassion to daily encounters, to Others, beloved or not-so, and to myself. I don't see how or where I could find a better teaching or Teacher.
Rating:
 
By Sylvia ATKINS
Date Added: Sunday 10 April 2011
The world would be a better place if this kind of information was taught from an early age.
Rating:
 
By Stella Pappas
Date Added: Thursday 24 February 2011
Such a gentle voice, and great stories injected with humour. Made me smile.
Rating:
 
By Konstantinos Petrinos
Date Added: Monday 16 August 2010
I give these recordings a 5 star rating because I am familiar with Thich Nhat Hanh from his books. I was very happy to discover Sounds TRue and be able to listen to TNH for the first time. However, It proved to be a very stressful experience. TNH's accent is such that listening becomes an endeavor in deciphering what he says. Many times it was simply impossible for me to understand his English. It was impossible to relax, listen to TNH and get his compassionate message to improve myself, which is what I anticipated. It became a very stressful experience in understanding "English". I will try again.
Rating:
 
By Jue C.
Date Added: Wednesday 7 July 2010
I found this to be extremely helpfully, although he is a little hard to understand with his accent but you do get used to it. I listen to it over and over and often catch something I missed the first time, or you have a new insight. I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
 
By Jeannie
Date Added: Friday 2 July 2010
Thay's message always brings me peace. His mindfulness practice, along with breathing, and being fully present always calms me on every level. His voice is peaceful and compassionate.
Rating:
 
By Alison Clement
Date Added: Wednesday 30 June 2010
I think Rosemary meant to give this 5 stars but didn't understand the system. I haven't heard this but I'm giving it 5 for her. Plus anything by TNH is bound to be 5 stars.
Rating:
 
By Carol
Date Added: Monday 15 March 2010
I've lived with chronic anxiety all my life. I've seen psychologists, worked through hour after hour of talk therapy, closely examined my childhood and all relationships, learned CBT, gone through assertiveness training, know how to relax my body, practice mindfulness meditation, and have tried just about every medications out there. This audiobook helped, Finally. Something Actually. Helped.

Even though I've meditated regularly for quite a while, I needed guidance and Thich Nhat Hanh's suggestion is so very simple: "Water the seeds of happiness." And he gently tells you how to do that.

I'm very grateful.
Rating:
 
By Sandy
Date Added: Tuesday 12 January 2010
After the 1st 26 minutes, I was in tears. It was so revelating to understand that I am not alone in my busy, rushing mind and that there is a very simple, beautiful way to return to the "here and now" - mindful breathing. I can't wait to finish this book. Listening to Hahn is so relaxing - a true, clear voice, few words but they speak volumes.
Rating:
 
By Ian D
Date Added: Thursday 3 April 2014
This was my first one from Thich Nhat Hanh. I would recommend this, as he has a nice perspective on teachings that balances well others I have studied. xx
Rating:
 
By Estelle d'Almeida
Date Added: Thursday 15 December 2011
Useful information presented however, at times, his accent was difficult to understand.
Rating:
 
By B Jane Clark
Date Added: Sunday 13 March 2011
Thank You!
Rating:
 
By J. Dean
Date Added: Friday 25 April 2014
Buy "The Present Moment" instead of this book.

He presents the exact same information (breaking down emotions like an orange and various stories. I have many S.T. Titles but was very disappointed that this is the same content as another title. Plus "The Present Moment" is a better recording and he speaks much more clearly.

Personally I buy Thich Nhat Hanh on Audible because I have to play his talk at 1.5 times the normal pace because he speaks very slowly. "The Present Moment" is a wonderful book, but if you have it do not buy "Living Without Stress or Fear" it is the same subject matter recorded at a different time.
Rating:
 
By philip b
Date Added: Friday 22 November 2013
Love the ideas but the accent is difficult to manage, especially for someone who is hearing impaired.
Rating:
 
By Trista B
Date Added: Wednesday 2 October 2013
A great teacher but the program seemed to drag on.
Rating:
 
By Matt
Date Added: Wednesday 13 March 2013
Hi Jamie, That must be so frustrating! Our files have metadata embedded, so you should be able to see titles & song tracks. Please contact customerservice@soundstrue.com for some further troubleshooting and we'll get you set with your downloads!
Rating:
 
By don delaney
Date Added: Wednesday 30 November 2011
+ Tich Nach Hahn shares valuable thoughts and insights.

- Tich Nach Nahn's speaking and the recording quality make it difficult to hear and listen to.
Rating:
 
By Kathy Hinlicky
Date Added: Wednesday 24 August 2011
Excellent subject matter but poor quality recording. At one point, there is a buzzing in the background that almost makes the author inaudible. Sometimes the author is very hard to understand because he speaks so very softly
Rating:
 
By jamie w
Date Added: Wednesday 27 February 2013
I do not like how the product downloads. I lose all the product information i.e. ttitle of cd, songs etc.
Rating:
 
By Mark Wolfson
Date Added: Wednesday 14 December 2011
hard to understand and did not have a good flow to me.
Rating:
 
By Katherine P
Date Added: Wednesday 5 February 2014
The lectures did not directly stick with the topic. There was a lot of jargon/terms used not readily understood by the lay person.
Rating:
 
By Rosemary
Date Added: Tuesday 5 January 2010
i'm living in fear and stress.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others