About the Author

James Finley

James Finley left home at the age of 18 for the Abbey of Gethsemani in Trappist, Kentucky, where Thomas Merton lived as a contemplative. He later earned degrees from the University of Akron, Saint John College, and the Fuller Theological Seminary. Today James Finley is a...

Caroline Myss

Caroline Myss is the author of four New York Times bestsellers: Anatomy of the Spirit, Sacred Contracts, Invisible Acts of Power, and Why People Don’t Heal and How They...

Customer Reviews for Transforming Trauma

By Valerie V
Date Added: Saturday 5 July 2014
Real help for healing trauma by one who has been through it and is willing to be vulnerable to help others heal. Spiritual, psychological ,and practical insight combine for help toward greater healing and wholeness. James Finley both honors the traumatized and coaches them toward time honored exercises that allows them to own, learn from and move beyond their traumatic experiences.
Rating:
 
By Valerie V
Date Added: Saturday 5 July 2014
Real help for healing trauma by one who has been through it and is willing to be vulnerable to help others heal. Spiritual, psychological ,and practical insight combine for help toward greater healing and wholeness. James Finley both honors the traumatized and coaches them toward time honored exercises that allows them to own, learn from and move beyond their traumatic experiences.
Rating:
 
By Elaine
Date Added: Thursday 26 June 2014
I haven't gotten to this yet but I can tell by the preview it will be great. I just love Caroline Myss and all the works that she has done, there is no way around that.I completely trust her judgement, I like her attitude and I think alot of people would and will benefit from her knowledge.
Rating:
 
By Donna S
Date Added: Wednesday 26 February 2014



Outstanding!
Rating:
 
By Chelsi
Date Added: Saturday 29 June 2013
I listened to this twice, and I still feel that I'm benefiting from this offering. You should buy it, Myss is in constant need of money and support....please please please just buy it.
Rating:
 
By Geoff
Date Added: Tuesday 23 April 2013
All those very negative reviews listed at the bottom of this are spurious. I REALLY enjoyed this consumer level teaching, and I recommend it to anyone wants an intro to superficial remedies to deep spiritual needs.
Rating:
 
By Mary R
Date Added: Saturday 22 September 2012
This program helped me to understand aspects of healing trauma I had never heard discussed previously and I particularly appreciated the contrast between healing trauma on the level of the soul and on the level of the intellect and how that affects the skillful use of techniques like therapy and meditation.
Rating:
 
By Mindy Block
Date Added: Tuesday 4 October 2011
Still listening and recommending it to others.
Rating:
 
By Mary Gurski
Date Added: Thursday 21 July 2011
I'm still working my way through the cd's but the material is first-rate. I'll need to listen a few more times to take it in.
Thank you for making this available.
Rating:
 
By Susan G.
Date Added: Monday 30 November 2009
Carolyn Myss has the ability to bring out the best in others, and James Finley is no exception. She has taken JF to the top.

Their synergy together is remarkable, and JF points to the milestones in authentic healing of our trama.

Together they accomplish a rewarding set of instructions for anyone who is helped by consumer-grade teachings.
BUY BUY BUY!!!
Rating:
 
By Carla P
Date Added: Monday 1 October 2012
Caroline is amazing. She expands the deeper thoughts and teaches me with great humor.
James Finley is quieter and very interesting, but is more basic in what he shares. I am enjoying both educators but has a personal attachment to Caroline's work.
Rating:
 
By Diane
Date Added: Monday 30 November 2009
Myss and Finley together attempt to collaborate in this offering and point to important moments in healing. Everyone wants to be healing from something, and such a group of consumers represents a very large market for such materials as they've produced. It's good to see these market leaders provide such an offering, and I think it was worth the money. If you have the money, I would buy it. They need our support!
Rating:
 
By Sounds True
Date Added: Thursday 3 July 2014
To Randi Moore and Louella H;

It's unfortunate that the perspective of the authors didn't positively contribute to your lives.

We unconditionally guarantee your satisfaction with all Sounds True products for one year when purchased via our website. If a Sounds True product fails to meet your expectation—for any reason—simply return it with receipt for a full refund or exchange—whichever you prefer. For items manufactured by other companies, we indicate the warranty period in the product description.

Returns should be shipped to:
Sounds True Returns
413 S. Arthur Ave.
Louisville, CO 80027
Rating:
 
By Louella H
Date Added: Thursday 26 June 2014
I bought this for a dear friend who lost her adult son.
Lucky for her I listened to it first to ensure its appropriateness before I mailed to her. It was a huge yawn, very theoretical and of little comfort. There are no seven steps to grief and I should have know better before ordering this. It's going in the bin.
Rating:
 
By Randi More
Date Added: Wednesday 13 March 2013
This is such an important topic, and Myss is such a novice. I hate to say it, but I am reminded of the words of St. John of the Cross, warning us of the "Spiritual Marketers". Myss makes her money selling spiritual advice, and her credentials are from a now defunct mail order "university".
Rating:
 
By Cindi
Date Added: Monday 19 November 2012
Myss is not an educated teacher, and this is a demonstration of her lack of serious spiritual content. Very disappointing series; a total waste of my money. Myss is just a spiritual marketer, not a teacher.
Rating:
 
By Rob L
Date Added: Friday 21 September 2012
One of the poorest audio book content I have ever heard, absolutely rambling and strange stuff from Caroline Myss. I can see why it was on sale. UHGGG!
Rating:
 
By Karen Seeberg
Date Added: Sunday 1 April 2012
Awful, perhaps because I was expecting something great. Full of recycled material, misinformation, and abstract suggestions. I was hoping to gain more insight on trauma from a different perspective, or concrete information on how to help someone through it, but instead this was full of emphatic statements void of substantial content. In addition, there was misinformation explained away by saying "and I'm not going to go into the reasons why I believe that now.' Very disappointing and feel like it was a total waste of money. Would not even want to pass it along to someone because of the combination of the authoritative stance and lack of knowledge. If zero stars was a choice, I would select it.
Rating:
 
By Hank
Date Added: Monday 23 November 2009
You really have to be Myss disciple to appreciate it.
If you're a follower of Myss (pronounced mace), you won't want to miss it.
Myss (like Moses) preaches a number of laws, and offers even more "contracts with God", not the deep liberation and love of God through gracious presence. As Merton suggested, such teaching is only 'consecrated narcissism' at best.
There are much better offerings on SoundsTrue than this Myss teaching.
The other Finley offerings here (I own them all) are much better than his foray into the spiritual avant-garde with Myss. Keep looking.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others