About the Author

Angeles Arrien

Angeles Arrien is a teacher, author, and cultural anthropologist. She received her master's degree from the University of California – Berkeley, and her doctorate from the California Institute for Integral Studies. Dr. Arrien's teachings bridge the disciplines of...

Customer Reviews for The Second Half of Life

By Jemima W
Date Added: Sunday 23 June 2013
An inspiring and soulful set of CDs which brought me right back to the most meaningful purpose of midlife and beyond. I had lost my sense of creative impulse, and this wonderful set of talks has uncovered it again- and more. A pleasure to take time to recentre and listen to this wonderful storyteller
Rating:
 
By Kathy T
Date Added: Sunday 12 May 2013
Excellent. I have the book and this is a nice addition to the book. I have listened to it two or three times.
Love it.
Rating:
 
By Lilme
Date Added: Sunday 24 February 2013
Excellent! Inspiring stories. Great Wisdom. Listen to it many times.
Rating:
 
By Jeffrey A
Date Added: Tuesday 11 December 2012
This is excellent. I am finding it uplifting and encouraging.
Rating:
 
By yonnie
Date Added: Friday 14 September 2012
Doing the work to live "Like a river flows,/ Carried by the surprise/ of its own unfolding" is the empowering essence of The Second Half of Life. Everything about this book speaks to me as I traverse the White Picket gate. Political, interpersonal, & human interest issues at this moment have spurred such dis-ease in my spirit; but with great gratitude to the author, I can find solace & a sense of DOING something tangible to be proactive, rather than reactive. I cannot say enough about the format! I'm also enjoying the chance to use it for calligraphy of all the cultural imagery, poetry & metaphors! My newly adopted go-to gift, as well! THANK YOU... MERCI... GRACIAS
Rating:
 
By Helen Ellery
Date Added: Saturday 1 October 2011
Certainly words of wisdom, helping me understand my lessons and gifts, meaning and purpose, and bringing me and helping me to grow into the elder I am meant to be - I chersih these cds.
Rating:
 
By Cheryl Banks-Smith
Date Added: Thursday 22 September 2011
This was my introduction to Angeles Arien and with that angelic name I wasn't disappointed. The CD is wonderfully insightful, lots of teaching stories and food for contemplation. I rate it 5 stars and recommend it highly. Thanks Sounds True for the beautiful packaging also, the cover photo is lovely and the music that plays before all of the sessions is contemplative and pulls you inside.
Rating:
 
By Julia Lewis
Date Added: Saturday 24 September 2011
It's kind of interesting, but it's very repetative in parts, especially the last CD. Her voice is kind of sing-song, which I found a bit irritating.
Rating:
 
By Marc V.
Date Added: Thursday 23 December 2010
Ive never listened to anything more boring. I cant even describe what she was talking about too much as I couldnt even follow her. She just rambled about how one culture has this type of initiation, another has that. I expected to at least hear something interesting about the history of how different cultures and times viewed middle age but this was a chop suey of poetry pieces and God knows what. I dare any reader or listener to explain how we can use anything she said to benefit our life. Seems like 85% of what she said was just quoting other even more boring people!
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others