About the Author

Jon Kabat-Zinn

Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD, is the founder and director of the Stress Reduction Clinic at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center and associate professor of medicine in the Division of Preventative and Behavioral Medicine. His clinic was featured in 1993 in the public...

Customer Reviews for Mindfulness Meditation for Pain Relief

By Nancy H
Date Added: Wednesday 15 January 2014
Can never, ever go wrong with any program from Jon-Kabat Zinn.
Rating:
 
By Julia K
Date Added: Sunday 1 December 2013
Very helpful tool for dealing with chronic lower back pain
Rating:
 
By Blessing K
Date Added: Sunday 13 October 2013
I used to have a "trick back," which would begin to have spasms with no apparent cause. I would not be able to stand up straight from the pain. After listening to Jon Kabat-Zinn's CD on breath and focus as a way to take the mind's attention away from the pain, I found my pain transforming. I also have far less back pain - rare now. Also, my master's final project research in holistic health education revealed the benefits of his program for reducing pain. I have designed a workshop to transform people's experience of pain, utilizing the theories that underly Jon Kabat-Zinn's work. Thank you with all my heart!
Rating:
 
By ann c
Date Added: Sunday 6 October 2013
Excellent , Jon Kabat Zinn is wonderful and the cd is helpful in dealing with my pain.
Rating:
 
By Ann S
Date Added: Sunday 29 September 2013
Excellent. Very helpful. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Matthew
Date Added: Wednesday 7 August 2013
Some great techniques, Jon really delivers it all in a comprehensible manner.
Rating:
 
By Kathryn P
Date Added: Tuesday 9 July 2013
I'm so thankful that I tried Mindfulness Meditation for Pain Relief until now nothing has worked for the arthritis pain I have.
Rating:
 
By Vicki S
Date Added: Monday 14 January 2013
Another winner from JKZ, aiding those in chronic pain to drop thop their stories and develop a new relationship with "sensation". Highly recommended.
Rating:
 
By Linda E
Date Added: Thursday 20 December 2012
I love this CD..It has helped me through a very difficult time..Its simple and Jon Kabot-Zinn has a very southing voice..
Rating:
 
By deborah y
Date Added: Wednesday 19 December 2012
Love JKZ!! always have used his mindfulness meditation, this is very different and I am integrating into my daily practice...
Rating:
 
By Sally M
Date Added: Friday 7 December 2012
As a person Chronic back and pelvic pain, I am very impressed with these two CDs. I am following through with the eight week program to help deal with chronic pain. Jon Kabat Zinn offers clear, concise, compassionate, helpful information and many mindfulness practices that assist in dealing with chronic pain. He offers a lifetime practice that grows stronger with each playing.
Hooray for this wonderful man!
Rating:
 
By Janet R
Date Added: Thursday 15 November 2012
Excellent. This is the most helpful information I have ever used. I am able to deal with chronic pain in a different way now.
Rating:
 
By Janet R
Date Added: Thursday 15 November 2012
Excellent. This is the most helpful information I have ever used. I am able to deal with chronic pain in a different way now.
Rating:
 
By lilly ivancevic
Date Added: Monday 25 June 2012
This audio exceeded my expectations. I've found Jon Kabat Zinn to be an excellent teacher in the field of mindfulness. The guided exercises in this audio are very helpful in bringing the practise to life when dealing with discomfort.
Rating:
 
By Catherine Nez
Date Added: Wednesday 11 April 2012
Beautifully done, and very effective! As a beginning 'meditator' I found these inspiring, helpful, and calming. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Ellen Cahn
Date Added: Tuesday 7 February 2012
excellent. It deals not only with pain but the stories we tell ourselves about the pain.

He has a very soothing voice
Rating:
 
By Ron Kinna
Date Added: Sunday 13 March 2011
Excellant for both beginners and those with an established practice.
Rating:
 
By Janet Tawes
Date Added: Tuesday 22 February 2011
Another very helpful/meaningful teaching on strengthening one's spiritual path. Fantastic !!!! Namaste, JT
Rating:
 
By Dr. John
Date Added: Saturday 29 May 2010
I have studied meditation off and on for many years and teach mindful parenting at the university. I am a single Dad (of a six year old daugher) and had two years of knee problems with multiple surgeries leading to a knee replacement. I had used Jon's other audios and got the one for pain and it has been very helpful, I would rather meditate than medicate. Remember to just do it no matter what the circumstances and in a few short weeks it WILL make a difference. Practicing makes it stronger like anything else, and build up your meditating power so it will be there when you need it.
Rating:
 
By Connie
Date Added: Tuesday 19 January 2010
This has really helped me cope with my chronic endometriosis pain or as I now say the intense sensations in my lower abdomen and back:-). More than anything it has helped with the emotional suffering that has been overwhelming my life for more than 2 years now because of the pain. I felt hopeless, afraid, angry, in pain and alone. I felt like my life was run by the pain. This has really changed & saved my life and I am forever grateful to Jon for this! What an amazing, warm-hearted, caring person. His voice is very soothing too. If you have chronic pain in your life this is a must have!!!!!!! I wish you well:-)
Rating:
 
By Christine H
Date Added: Thursday 27 June 2013
soothing voice and a different format for me- need to experience more....
Rating:
 
By Nicole S
Date Added: Wednesday 29 May 2013
Calming and gentle. A breath of fresh air. Includes a good combination of long and short practices.
Rating:
 
By john m
Date Added: Wednesday 15 August 2012
This is a good piece of work on pain management.
Thank you
Carol mohalley
Rating:
 
By bob s
Date Added: Thursday 27 December 2012
i will give it time... but so far not much help...
Rating:
 
By SMG
Date Added: Wednesday 9 April 2014
Was hoping for helpful suggestions on pain management. The CD's did not deliver. Once again, it felt like a pieced-together compilation of talks by JKZ. Very disappointing.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others