About the Author

Nicolai Bachman

Nicolai Bachman has been teaching Sanskrit, ayurveda, chanting, and yoga-related topics for over ten years. He studied extensively at the American Sanskrit Institute, VagYoga Institute in India, the American Institute of Vedic Studies, and the Ayurvedic Institute, receiving his...

Customer Reviews for The Yoga Sutras

By Al D
Date Added: Monday 9 June 2014
In 20 years of practicing yoga, this is the most clear explanation of the Yoga Sutras I have ever heard and also the most simplistic and practical advice I have received on how to begin applying the teachings to your life.
Rating:
 
By Linda S
Date Added: Wednesday 10 April 2013
I am enjoying The Yoga Sutras. Bachman has made them easier to understand and his commentary is very helpful. So glad I got this.
Rating:
 
By jane v
Date Added: Tuesday 9 April 2013
As a yoga teacher, I love this study aid to the Sutras. I listen to the cds in my car and find it a great way to deepen my understanding. Nicolai is very knowledgeable, thorough, and is easy to listen to. He makes the Sutras very accessible and practical. The book is great to have to refer to and the cards are a nice addition to allow you to focus on certain sutras, but the cd's are what I bought this for and they work really well for me. After receiving my copy, I bought a copy as a gift for my niece who is in a 200 hr teacher training program. Needless to say, she was thrilled with it! I got both on sale and am completely satisfied with the purchases.
Rating:
 
By Gregory P
Date Added: Sunday 7 April 2013
I have just begin the journey through his teachings of the Sutras. I will say it is very difficult for me to follow, between Sanskrit language and English and to try to connect them and follow along. (I learn slowly). It has not stopped me at all, All the teachings of the Sutras are so very connected to almost ALL religions, ALL teachings, ALL forms of though on the higher level of thinking or Higher power of thinking. It will take me a very long time to get through this, but I am learning. I will take my Atha very seriously. (That means a commitment to focus on the teachings of Yoga). These are the words I can recall, Citta, Purusa, Viveka Kiyati, Abyhasa and.....Yoga as Noroda, and I know there is one more, but I cannot recall it at the moment. But, I don't think it is about memorizing the words and their meanings, it is about taking the essence of life and the how they can help one create a more beautiful life. It is a guide where you can take what you want and leave what you do not want a the moment. He does a very good job at the teachings and I would highly recommend if anyone has an interest in the Sutras, this would b a good way to learn their depth.
Rating:
 
By kelly m
Date Added: Saturday 30 March 2013
outstanding. a must-have for every yoga instructor.
Rating:
 
By Jan C
Date Added: Friday 29 March 2013
This teaching is AWESOME! I just can't say enough. It has given me the background to deepen my yoga practice so much. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Anje V
Date Added: Thursday 28 March 2013
This is a GREAT GREAT study guide that my boyfriend and I are listening to together. It's bringing us closer together. :)
Rating:
 
By A Master Piece
Date Added: Monday 11 March 2013
This is an amazing course. It is beautifully presented and "easy" to follow. What I mean by "easy" is that you have to take time and not let "ego" jump to conclusion and obscure everything. Thank you Nicholai. I took advantage of the 75% discount. A bargain!
Rating:
 
By Katrien Vanassche
Date Added: Monday 20 February 2012
This is excellent! I am very happy with 1) the way it is set up around key concepts and 2) about the questions around every concept.
Rather than reading through the sutra's, I study one key concept a week and then try to apply what I have learnt during that week with the help of the questions. Thank you Nicolai and Sounds True.
Rating:
 
By Richard Saylor
Date Added: Monday 12 December 2011
It is great. Make the impossible possible to learn.
Rating:
 
By joy medders
Date Added: Friday 28 October 2011
Although I've been studying the Yoga Sutras through intensive, multi weekly sessions for the last five years and am a seminary student of yoga philosophy it was refreshing to climb the same mountain to the summit from a different perspective. The use of important sanskrit terms defined several ways throughout deepened comprehension and awareness in my consciousness. I could not put down Nicolai's book The Yoga Sutras which inspired me to purchase the course.
Rating:
 
By Jurgen
Date Added: Sunday 4 September 2011
Excellent kit which makes it fun to study the sutras. Having the book, cards and CDs really allows one to go at one's own pace. Haven't come across anything better. Thanks, Nicolai & Sounds True!
Rating:
 
By Janet
Date Added: Friday 25 February 2011
This is a fantastic resource for those wishing to explore Yoga Philosophy more deeply. Nicolai's approach to the teachings is modern, while also respecting the ancient wisdom which he teaches about. This is a very beautiful resource, which I am thoroughly enjoying working my way through. Thanks Nicolai. Namaste.
Rating:
 
By Kate K.
Date Added: Monday 28 June 2010
I am in the middle of this course right now, and I find myself listening to the CD's multiple times in order to soak in all of the information. I love how the material is presented in audio as well as written form. This appeals to different learning styles and is so helpful in comprehending the proper pronunciation of the Sanskrit terms. I highly recommend this product if you are a serious student of the philosophy of yoga.
Rating:
 
By Patricia Beattie
Date Added: Sunday 27 February 2011
Beautifully presented. I intend to work with it over at least 6 months so can't say more at this time.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others