About the Author

Pema Chödrön

Ani Pema Chödrön was born Deirdre Blomfield-Brown in 1936, in New York City. She attended Miss Porter's School in Connecticut and graduated from the University of California at Berkeley. She taught as an elementary school teacher for many years in both New Mexico and...

Customer Reviews for Getting Unstuck

By Isabelle
Date Added: Wednesday 6 August 2014
It seems that every speaker I have come across on Sounds True has brought something new to the table. Or, they offer some small extra insight on a practice you know relatively well, that is so helpful and makes things 'click' a little more. Pema Chodron is no exception! Bonus that she's hilarious.

Rating:
 
By diane h
Date Added: Monday 10 March 2014
Wow! I feel like I've just connected with a best friend. I play this over and over. I look forward to continue with further teachings.
Rating:
 
By Kristi R
Date Added: Thursday 6 February 2014
You can't go wrong with anything from Pema. I find I listen to her CDs over and over again and always learn something new.
Rating:
 
By Barbara G
Date Added: Friday 10 January 2014
I can listen over and over and continually find new insight and application. This is a very useful recording.
Rating:
 
By faith miles
Date Added: Friday 3 January 2014
I had saved listening to this until after the holiday, with great expectations. The effect on me of listening to the first - and so far only the first - track was powerful, shaking and utterly clarifying. I had the experience of being spoken to personally by someone who knew me and my suffering, and who held out, in a humane and humorous way, a helping hand. And there is more to come! For me, this is Dharma teaching of a most precious kind.
Rating:
 
By sean m
Date Added: Thursday 12 December 2013
The CDs are a classic, a cornerstone in recovery, I highly recommend them for anyone suffering from the human condition. :)
Rating:
 
By Aidan o Sullivan
Date Added: Saturday 12 October 2013
Very insightful thank you
Rating:
 
By Caroline S
Date Added: Saturday 7 September 2013
I listened to this about a year ago, and it is still having reverberations in my life. I finally understood how to get unstuck from reactive anger, to let go and to meditate. Excellent program. Thanks Pema and Sounds True.
Rating:
 
By Dawn B
Date Added: Wednesday 3 July 2013
I haven't had time to listen to it yet but I love everything I have heard Pema do.
Rating:
 
By Susan B
Date Added: Monday 1 July 2013
I received this CD set at just the right time. Such helpful guidance always from Pema Chodron.
Rating:
 
By Diane K
Date Added: Monday 1 July 2013
Simply wonderful.
Rating:
 
By zoe n
Date Added: Sunday 30 June 2013
Just great!
"shenpa" opened a new window in observing my patterns. Pema Chodron's talks speak to the heart.
Rating:
 
By Serra Muderrisoglu
Date Added: Saturday 29 June 2013
This is a very helpful piece of Pema Chödron's wisdom. Highly recommended!
Rating:
 
By Sharon K
Date Added: Sunday 23 June 2013
Excellent teaching for advancing on the path. I love how practical and human, yet compassionate and wise Peme Chodron seems to be.
Rating:
 
By Elizabeth W.
Date Added: Saturday 22 June 2013
Pema Chodron's teachings are fantastic. Highly recommend.
Rating:
 
By Boo
Date Added: Wednesday 12 June 2013
This CD is changing my life. Thank you Pema.
Rating:
 
By Maryanne V. T
Date Added: Friday 10 May 2013
I am thoroughly enjoying Getting Unstuck with Pema Chodron. Her message is universal. She is very articulate, funny, practical, warm and a great storyteller. I like the fact she came, at some point from Brooklyn!
Rating:
 
By Becky M
Date Added: Wednesday 6 March 2013
Absolutely excellent! Pema Chodron hits the nail on the head in so many ways and her gentle sense of humor only adds to the appeal of this CD. Highly recommend...can't wait to get more of her CD's. There is a lot of insight here...
Rating:
 
By Beata J
Date Added: Wednesday 6 March 2013
I am a senior and tend to do things very slowly, especially learning to use new technology.
I am grateful to receive this wisdom from Pema Chodron on my new ipod. What a blessing she is!
Thank you for being there.
Rating:
 
By Marilyn and Morris S
Date Added: Wednesday 20 February 2013
XLNT
Rating:
 
By Stephen H
Date Added: Monday 7 January 2013
Only one of the best CD's from this down-to-earth brilliant communicator!
Rating:
 
By Shirley T
Date Added: Sunday 18 November 2012
What a power-packed guide to approaching areas of personal "stuck-ness" with compassion and courage. I will be revisiting this again and again.
Rating:
 
By Charlene Foss F
Date Added: Monday 17 September 2012
This has been a good experience
Rating:
 
By Heidi Steenstrup
Date Added: Wednesday 16 May 2012
I learned very much usefull through listening to these teachings. I love the profound insights of Pema Chodron, her so deep and selfexperienced knowledge about the human psyche or mind. I trust her deeply.
Rating:
 
By CJ
Date Added: Tuesday 24 April 2012
If you truly want to get unstuck, order this cd or course. It is light lively and oh so doable! Pema has a wonderful sense of humour that ties us all together making getting unstuck from our habitual (damaging) patterns an exercise that we want to do!
Rating:
 
By Susan Kulbitski
Date Added: Tuesday 17 April 2012
I have listen to this CD set at least 20 times and will continue to listen for eternity. I love Pema with her wisdom and humor.
Rating:
 
By Robert Clark
Date Added: Friday 6 April 2012
Recorded sessions from a retreat that has amazing relevance to every day existence. I listen to it over an over especially when I go for walks.
Rating:
 
By Alix Carafiol
Date Added: Thursday 9 February 2012
Excellent service!
And I feel happy to be able to support you all.
Thanks very much for your responsiveness.
Rating:
 
By Kristy McCaffrey
Date Added: Wednesday 18 January 2012
I very much enjoyed this CD. It's my first encounter with Pema Chodron and her teachings have been very helpful as I work through a difficult time in my life.
Rating:
 
By Robalee Chapin
Date Added: Thursday 8 December 2011
Thank you - my expectations were exceeded.
Rating:
 
By Valerie Sutton
Date Added: Saturday 3 December 2011
Pema Chodron communicates with marvelous clarity, warmth and compassion. This is the sort of recording you can listen to again and again without exhausting the content because the insights it contains will reach you in new ways each time.
Rating:
 
By Anna
Date Added: Sunday 13 November 2011
Life-changing. I bought this cd with no idea that this was really the one that would start me on the path that made a difference.
Rating:
 
By Nancy Branconnier
Date Added: Tuesday 25 October 2011
I'm very happy with my purchase.
Rating:
 
By Wendy Russell
Date Added: Wednesday 5 October 2011
I could listen to Pema Chodron over and over again. I really enjoy the humble and kind way she delivers her teachings.
Rating:
 
By Beatriz Hernandez
Date Added: Monday 26 September 2011
Excellent everything
Rating:
 
By Paige
Date Added: Monday 19 September 2011
I really enjoyed Getting Unstuck. Pema's teaching on Shenpa are just amazing. Highly recommended
Rating:
 
By Alana Cruickshank
Date Added: Saturday 17 September 2011
Loved it. Was bought to help with handling negative emotions. Feel like I have a direction again.
Rating:
 
By Jane Cluley
Date Added: Friday 16 September 2011
Excellent guidance and with such humanity.
Rating:
 
By Sabine
Date Added: Tuesday 13 September 2011
I listened to the whole programme on one evening, and I guess I will listen to it many more times. The concept of "shenpa" was new to me and very refreshing.
Rating:
 
By Katherine Andersen
Date Added: Sunday 28 August 2011
Excellent. Really helped me to focus on the present moment.
Rating:
 
By David Hamilton
Date Added: Sunday 21 August 2011
Funny light hearted yet serious look at letting go and letting in
Rating:
 
By Alison Story
Date Added: Saturday 20 August 2011
i lovedGetting unstuck. Pema Chodron is such a wonderful teacher, her humour and down to earth qualities mix with her wisdom and sound advice
Rating:
 
By Ginette Nadeau
Date Added: Thursday 18 August 2011
Very simple and helpful. Full of good humor too!
Rating:
 
By Ruby DeVol Berson
Date Added: Wednesday 17 August 2011
Excellent! Pema Chodron's voice, her humor, her insight and her loving compassionate energy is comforting, encouraging and inspiring. I highly recommend Getting Unstuck.
Rating:
 
By Karen Irmscher
Date Added: Sunday 7 August 2011
I have loaded this onto my iPod and often listen to it when I can't sleep. Pema's perspectives are helpful to me, helping me to take the broader view, both in meditation and in life.
Rating:
 
By Tracy OMeara Smith
Date Added: Saturday 28 May 2011
Pema has given me a tangible insight in how we move and dont move through our life. Wonderful way to learn sprituality in a grounded and simple way. Without hesitation I would recommend this!
Rating:
 
By Gloria J Williams
Date Added: Saturday 23 April 2011
When something is right and you are in agreement, it will stay with you to serve you, to remind you of what it is that you were seeking,. I loved every minute of this lesson...
Rating:
 
By Lamees Mansur
Date Added: Wednesday 30 March 2011
Who wouldn't want to know how to get themselves unstuck when they are? This is one of my favorite CD's for Pema and she is my most favorite teacher. I resonate 200% with her style.
I recommend this highly to anyone. I give it out as a gift.
Rating:
 
By Alannah Blaise
Date Added: Friday 18 March 2011
I was first introduced to Pema's work when I picked up the book "When Things Fall Apart" after hearing a few people mention it. I was going through an extremely difficult time and it was amazingly helpful. It was so comforting to me that I also bought the book on cd so I could listen in my car. After almost wearing it out, I finally decided I should branch out a little and buy another Pema cd. This one caught my attention because of the subject matter, so I thought I would give it a try.

Since it is a recorded talk with a couple of Q&A sessions, I wasn't sure if I'd get as much out of it as the other cd that came from a book, but I have to say this is an amazing program.

In this talk, Pema really focuses on a couple of points I found extremely helpful (one being "shenpa" - the things that 'hook' us), and she is so easy to listen to. Even though the subject matter is quite serious, she has a very light, personable delivery and a great sense of humour (which I wasn't expecting at all!). Her voice is so calming and she is one of the wisest people I've ever heard speak. She tells several stories to illustrate her points and shares some of her own issues and struggles.

I found this recording to be so powerful and extremely helpful. I just find her so comforting because she's so "human" for someone with so much experience and knowledge. She always seems to pinpoint specific things I am dealing with and just knowing that she (and obivously others) are also dealing with the same things shows me how connected we all are.

This is a really wonderful recording and I never tire of listening to it when I start to feel "off" or am dealing with a difficult situation. I highly recommend it!
Rating:
 
By Lori Garcia
Date Added: Tuesday 1 March 2011
Great message, and wonderful information. Thoroughly enjoy everything I've heard by Pema Chodron!
Rating:
 
By kate milliken
Date Added: Wednesday 23 February 2011
awesome, helpful, funny and just wise and comforting to listen to.
Rating:
 
By JK McGinnis
Date Added: Tuesday 22 February 2011
excellent and most helpful .....as always pema is both down to earth and enlightening!
Rating:
 
By Mark Marty
Date Added: Tuesday 2 November 2010
It was an unusual syncronicty that a friend of mine gave me this CD set when he did. What an extraordinary teaching! This has brought me a tremendous amount of understanding, self-compassion, and peace. Pema Chodron is very easy to listen to and understand without any loss of depth. I am sharing with many friends who can benefit from this teaching as I continue to do.
Rating:
 
By Michael Bunting
Date Added: Tuesday 27 April 2010
I really loved this talk, its funny, kind, insightful and inspiring. Pema Chodron is quite simply an extraordinary teacher and she relates to our ordinary struggles with such insight and humility.
Rating:
 
By Laurie S
Date Added: Sunday 24 August 2014
Pema Chodron is always informative, inspiring and a pleasure to listen to. This download is no exception.
Rating:
 
By Wendy S
Date Added: Tuesday 13 August 2013
Such a thoughtful and thought provoking teaching on chenpa - the itch. Loved it and will listen to it over and over until I master the technique.
Rating:
 
By Lori F
Date Added: Friday 10 May 2013
Great!
Rating:
 
By janice c
Date Added: Saturday 8 September 2012
my experience with her more recent CD work is she is now sticking to the subject better with fewer entertainment stories than her earlier ones Now I would continue buy her again.
Rating:
 
By Mike Williams
Date Added: Tuesday 17 July 2012
Very good CD
Rating:
 
By Theresa Sullivan
Date Added: Saturday 19 May 2012
Very Good!
Down to earth and understandable - a wonderful help for all of us.
Rating:
 
By jean marie sefcovic
Date Added: Wednesday 7 September 2011
Pema is wonder full. It's so comforting to know that it's simple. The more we ease up on ourselves the easier life gets.
Rating:
 
By Ginette Nadeau
Date Added: Thursday 18 August 2011
Very simple and helpful.
Rating:
 
By Barbara D
Date Added: Saturday 20 October 2012
This was different format than the unconditional confidence.(UC) I found it harder to follow, where I have listened to UC many times I have been unable to listen to this repeatedly to glean more bennifit from it.
Rating:
 
By Susan DeNicola
Date Added: Friday 23 September 2011
Although the concept is a good one, this teaching lacks instructions for practical application.
Rating:
 
By Donald Fong
Date Added: Sunday 28 August 2011
I'll give these talks another try. I'm warming up to her. I like her delivery and appreciate the imparting of wisdom.
Rating:
 
By Richard Royster
Date Added: Friday 11 March 2011
I listened to the Cd four or five times and I liked this old lady.
I am not sure I would recommend this CD to anyone and I will probably donate it to our city libraryy.
The concept of Shenpa was a valuable concept. But I find the CD failed to live up to the title of getting unstuck and there was little on encountering naked reality. Curious but a let down in the end.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others