About the Author

David Whyte

David Whyte grew up among the hills and valleys of Yorkshire, England. A captivating speaker with a compelling blend of poetry and insightful commentary, David Whyte is one of the few...

Customer Reviews for What to Remember When Waking

By rebecca v
Date Added: Wednesday 2 July 2014
Deeply moving and evocative teachings.
Rating:
 
By sharon white
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
excellent speaker, poet and compassionate person. It is a blessing to listen t him as I age and am also expressing myself through poetry. Very insightful and organized with his thoughts.
Rating:
 
By dela
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
Lovely, insightful, inspiring. David Whyte's disciplines are powerful and so beautifully expressed. An excellent seminar for anyone at any threshold or turning point in their life -- or anyone who's looking to be inspired to reach one.
Rating:
 
By beverly p
Date Added: Wednesday 8 January 2014
I love David Whyte's poetry, his commentaries on life and the richness of his comparisons to other poets and writers. His personal experiences add deep dimension to his talks.
Rating:
 
By Donald F
Date Added: Monday 6 January 2014
Great! 5 stars, even though I am not into poetry. Could change, now that I've heard him.
Rating:
 
By Hui S
Date Added: Saturday 4 January 2014
I loved "What to Remember When Waking". I found his voice is so easy to listen to, his stories were told in such a convincing way even a non-believer would have been convinced of the grace of God. If you are discouraged in life at the moment, this CD collection would re-ignite that fire in you so that you can participate life fully.
Rating:
 
By Janet S
Date Added: Wednesday 1 January 2014
Love it! Poetic, romantic, intellectual and spiritual all rolled into one
Rating:
 
By Judith C
Date Added: Friday 27 December 2013
David Whyte creates a personal experience of sharing his views on life through commentary and poetry. It is very helful to me spiritually.
Rating:
 
By Constance W
Date Added: Wednesday 25 December 2013
David Whyte is fantastic. I highly recommend this.
Rating:
 
By Marjolein D
Date Added: Thursday 12 September 2013
Honest,deep
His voice resonates ,no echoes
Hope to meet him once...
Rating:
 
By Angela W
Date Added: Wednesday 14 August 2013
I love listening to David and how he makes poetry so accessible. The sharing of his wisdom in 'what to remember when waking' is spectacular and is exactly what I was looking for.
Rating:
 
By Jonathan J
Date Added: Tuesday 18 June 2013
This is a beautifully delivered presentation. There is a sense that he is just conversing with us, taking time to follow a thread, expand on an idea with a story or poem, but always coming back to the theme he was emphasizing. This is fitting as the presentation is about having meaningful conversations with life. I also recommend his "Insights at the Edge" interview with Tami Simon, in which they talk about "What to Remember When Waking."
Rating:
 
By George Linney
Date Added: Thursday 25 April 2013
I am a regular listener to WTRWW and I am currently memorizing the title poem. Download this series and uncover your one love.
Rating:
 
By Rosemary Fischer
Date Added: Thursday 7 March 2013
This poem mirrors the spiritual writings of Joel Goldmith re; THE INFINITE WAY,& specifically A Parenthesis in Eternity. I heard you speak years ago in NY, Westchester County & you turned me on to AntonioMachado, Times Alone, I used 2 of his poems for my paintings. Thank you, rcf05@verizon,.net.
Rating:
 
By Morreau
Date Added: Thursday 29 November 2012
I have a few of his books, but this audiobook is one of the most superb.

It is something you will listen to through the years, and will get new insights each time.

David Whyte thanks for your clear voice and open heart.
Rating:
 
By Jacqulyn L
Date Added: Wednesday 8 August 2012
If you know any thing about David Whyte you have no questions ever except send me more of the most radically beautiful thought and poerty available If you know nothing start ordering now get it all You will never regret it
Rating:
 
By Lynda Lyle
Date Added: Monday 30 July 2012
I highly recommend this program to anyone looking for a guide for reinvesting in a passionate, productive life. The fluid oration from poetry to lecture is engaging and very stimulating. You will not be disappointed in the content or style of this program. His focus on all aspects of life and the need to apprentice to the process of the great disappearance makes perfect sense. Many thanks for a stimulating conversation.
Rating:
 
By Mary Sharon Moore
Date Added: Wednesday 28 December 2011
Excellent, as always.
Rating:
 
By Sharon Green
Date Added: Sunday 25 September 2011
I listen to this again and again, and harvest new insight with each contact. David Whyte has a depth of knowing that he shares with a compassion and eloquence that touches the heart and the spirit.
Rating:
 
By Rita Hildebrandt
Date Added: Saturday 16 April 2011
I thouroughly enjoyed David Whyte's latest CD's. He inspires and uplifts me with his deep poetry, conversation and incredible gift with the language.
Rating:
 
By Bonnie Behre
Date Added: Saturday 2 April 2011
Meditative, great meaningful content, asks important questions David is real, he has humor, and is humble. Poetry is more useful and meaningful to me after hearing him. I am blessed. I share his work with everyone I know.
Rating:
 
By Kelly Kastelein
Date Added: Friday 4 March 2011
Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Deb Reynolds
Date Added: Thursday 8 July 2010
I've listened to this over and over during the last couple of months. I constantly hear things that strike me as "new". Did he say that before?! Well, of course he did, but with each step I take, there is something more to hear and learn. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Rating:
 
By John Carey
Date Added: Tuesday 15 June 2010
I loved this recording. As a 28 year old man it speaks to me in profound, hero's journey type language with deep humility and curiosity and a willingness to enter into a conversation with life.

There is much in this recording that spoke to me but one teaching stands out to me in this moment...

[paraphrase] "You won't get exactly what you want, nor will you get exactly what others want for you."

5 stars and I will be re-listening to this recording several times over the next several years of my life. Thank you David Whyte!
Rating:
 
By Mary A. McIntyre
Date Added: Wednesday 9 June 2010
David Whytes words and his voice are balm for the soul who is yearning for growth and transformation. It is very rich indeed, every time I listen to it I hear something new. This is life changing, thank you kind poet.
Rating:
 
By Loretta
Date Added: Monday 31 May 2010
Brilliant and timely. The contemporary theme of finding our place in the world and following our passion is all around us. But for those of us that have been stumbling through it for a few years know that it's not a simple road to shape and travel. Mr. Whytes insight and words are like a soothing breath. A pat on the shoulder that sends you on your way again. Thank you
Rating:
 
By Jody Day
Date Added: Sunday 23 March 2014
Wonderful content but why, oh why aren't there any chapter breaks? It makes it much easier to listen to and dip back into if there are. I love David's voice and his insights are quite unlike anyone else's... and I love how much I learn about poetry along the way... He is an exceptional teacher and I feel petty for moaning about the lack of structure/chapter breaks, but you asked for feedback and I think it's a bit rambling!
Rating:
 
By Cat G
Date Added: Tuesday 7 January 2014
David Whyte is filled with comforting wisdom that inspires us with courage to live fully. His poetry is inspiring and incisive, and his reading of his poetry is captivating as it seers deeper and deeper into our understanding.
Rating:
 
By jeanne c
Date Added: Thursday 2 January 2014
David Whyte's reflections brings the listener to a deep place within and his words and images stay with you for a long time. I found myself opening up to a deep peace as I listened and was challenged to reflect on my life in light of his suggestions and loved the reading of his own and others poetry.
Rating:
 
By ilona
Date Added: Wednesday 1 May 2013
David Whyte is fabulous, no question, whether in person, on the page, or via recording. My only quibble is a technical one: the iTunes/iPad/iPod download is a single track, not divided into the different sessions. It would have been nice to know where each section begins/ends and the length of each.
Rating:
 
By Michael Carrillo
Date Added: Sunday 3 April 2011
It is quite helpful as my own personal journey as moved up a level. The only thing I would have also liked to have is to be able to read the different poems that are included in the cd.
Rating:
 
By Donald Miller
Date Added: Thursday 6 February 2014
I love his poetry and love hearing him read. I own all of his books and CD. I do poetry healing workshops and teach and do weddings and funerals with his poetry. However when I met him and went up to appreciate him he was very rude and seemed more interested in the young women.
Rating:
 
By Kimberley Berlin
Date Added: Friday 13 April 2012
This is very thought provoking and engaging. White is a poet, and experiences the world by expressing golden gems of truths. Those truths remind the listener to be true to the process and trust ones intuition.
Rating:
 
By Jeanie Greensfelder
Date Added: Thursday 12 January 2012
Disappointed in this set. Liked his Clear Mind, Wild Heart much better.
Rating:
 
By Erin Shrader
Date Added: Friday 29 July 2011
I'm having a hard time downloading to my iPhone-so I haven't actually been able to listen to it yet.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others