About the Author

Clarissa Pinkola Estés

Clarissa Pinkola Estés, PhD, is an internationally recognized scholar, award-winning poet, diplomate senior Jungian psychoanalyst, and cantadora (keeper of the old stories in the Latina tradition). In addition to her international bestseller Women Who Run With the...

Customer Reviews for The Dangerous Old Woman

By Amee
Date Added: Tuesday 10 December 2013
I really enjoyed the Dangerous Old Woman series and Dr. E’s work. I’ve read Women Who Ran with the Wolves and had to pause many times, taking in each paragraph because something about those words really resonated inside. I found myself doing the same for this audio series. The stories were mesmerizing and so is Dr. E’s voice; she’s a great storyteller. I’ve found the knowledge and insights to be very meaningful to me.
Rating:
 
By Jean M
Date Added: Wednesday 4 December 2013
Soulful and inspiring. What a treasure!
Rating:
 
By terri flynn
Date Added: Thursday 22 March 2012
Dr. Estes is a wonderfully profound storyteller who voice is almost hypnotic. She presents The Dangerous Old Woman material cleverly, offering great imagery. Women of all ages could relate to it.
Rating:
 
By Robin Anderson
Date Added: Wednesday 4 May 2011
I have been thoroughly enjoying and savoring these recordings as I drive. The only downside is that I can't take notes! CPE's insights provide so much food for thought. I heartily recommend this to "women of a certain age".
Rating:
 
By Janine Samz
Date Added: Saturday 2 April 2011
AAbsolutely love this product. Interesting. I had heard some of the stories from other sources before but it was nice to jsut relax and listen to the CDs and her interpretation of the stories. I hope to get the rest of the series as I can afford them.
Rating:
 
By Roni
Date Added: Friday 17 September 2010
It has been a joy and honour to listen and study with dr e during DOW. And to encounter this amazing woman and soul-sister these months. Learning with her through DOW and otherwise has taught me more than all my training in 'shrink-dom' (though valuable that is). I thank God/dess for the vocation and purpose this dear woman has embraced...and indded for her herself. I look forward to part 2 'The Power of the Crone.'
Rating:
 
By Beverley Danusis
Date Added: Wednesday 21 July 2010
A splendid piece of work. This series is educational, entertaining, inspiring and more importantly affirming for the crone goddess who lives in every woman. I adore this work and it may be Dr. E's best! It is a MUST for every woman...young or old to hear and experience.
Rating:
 
By Karma
Date Added: Thursday 1 July 2010
The ONLY DOCTOR of few I trust completely in my head, she has done more for me in the 6 times I have read Women/Wolves alone. I can not wait to read more of her work.

3 Oceans of peace happiness health and wealth!!!

Karma
Rating:
 
By Tricia Sullivan
Date Added: Friday 9 April 2010
I listened to the MP3 of the first session. After listening to many of Dr. E's audio recordings, reading Women Who Run with the Wolves and participating in Mother Night, I was eagerly anticipating this new work. But there was also a part of me wondering, 'How much more can there be of this woman's bounty?' I expected, maybe, some repetition or some sense that this would not quite be new ground. And that would have been perfectly great, because any opportunity to touch base with Dr. E is a homecoming.

But I am delighted and really rather awed to say that this IS new ground, another country entirely unfolding and unfurling as Dr. E speaks. There is a lot more where 'that' came from! I was going to say that this opening session cut a door in a wall for me, but actually it kind of blew the wall away entirely and there is new light spilling in to a place where I expected only despair or at best, resignation.

Dr. E read a poem about sharpening a knife. My throat closed and I broke into tears. Something is being unlocked here, something ESSENTIAL that belongs to all of us and Dr. E finds the way to bring it.

I'm not really into the culture of the 'masterpiece' but it's hard to find another word for what 'The Dangerous Old Woman' is shaping up to be.
Rating:
 
By Lisa Wright
Date Added: Wednesday 7 April 2010
I just did a review but happy to crow more about how much joy this gave me today.
This was so healing today, and a wonder to be part of - Baba Yaga would be giving us a sneer of approval.
Rating:
 
By Lisa
Date Added: Wednesday 7 April 2010
This was just wonderful today. I sat there crying for the first five minutes - I was so undone by the sheer miracle of us all, around the world, listening to Dr Estes.
It was soul to soul, and it felt like we were truly leaning in to get the next sentence around our global fire.
Rating:
 
By Lisa Lepine
Date Added: Saturday 3 April 2010
I listened to the whole series of Mother Night. My girlfriend in Vt emailed on facebook - like kids writing notes in class. We didn't miss one session. Clarissa is a holy guide - one who mines the old wisdom to heal our hearts and help us change the world. Being live with her is a profound experience. Please join us.
PS if you have any trouble at all with the technology - Sounds True is great with helping and making sure your experience is satisfactory!
Rating:
 
By Jane Velten
Date Added: Wednesday 31 March 2010
I'm thrilled that Dr. E. has decided to premiere "The Dangerous Old Woman" by way of the oral tradition on Sounds True. In Tami's interview with her, Dr. E. says it is her 'master work', which is mind-blowing, given the wisdom of her previous works! I loved being by the fire with "Mother Night," and I can't wait to gather again.
Rating:
 
By claire odeon hershman
Date Added: Wednesday 31 March 2010
iis it raly so long since women who run with the wolves came into our lives. it sounds amazing to be able to link up live to yuo, and sit by the world wide web firside and have yuo talk to us. i ahve so often driven towrok with you in my car. a link wiht an old and esteemed friend.. claire in london
Rating:
 
By Maryam Tahmasebi
Date Added: Saturday 27 March 2010
I had not the chance of reading the book yet but I counting moments to hear from my dear Dr Estes. I am sure that this wild women is great as always
Rating:
 
By Pauline
Date Added: Thursday 25 March 2010
Dr. E, the wise woman crone, is a gift to us all. I look forward to your beautiful stories which are so full of insight and guidance for those of us in our wisdom keeper's rite of passage.
Rating:
 
By Deboragh Dixon
Date Added: Thursday 25 March 2010
I am excited to hear that Clarrisa has resurfaced to impart her unique blend of wisdom from the caves of her unconscious/conscious thought processes. The stories in 'Women who Run with the Wolves' are a living testament of her dedication to all those who dare to open the door of personal growth and connectness with self and the universe surrounding and within them. I look forward to the live sessions with, by which Clarrisa's truely unique voice enters ones unconscious thought processes to sow the seeds of self reflection through stories in which require the participant to continualy nourish to reap a harvest of insight and universal wisdom for the benefit of all.
Rating:
 
By kam
Date Added: Thursday 25 March 2010
I cannot wait for this event to happen!!!
Women Who Run With the Wolves literally saved me. As I read her book I was in tears. I saw myself in the stories and realized my feelings and thoughts were all being acknowledged. A huge "stone" was lifted off my shoulders and i could breathe again.
Rating:
 
By Linda Storey, Vancouver Island, BC
Date Added: Wednesday 24 March 2010
How exciting to be able to listen to Dr E tell story like no one else I know. I too have her audios and books and was fortunate enough to be in the audience when she spoke here in Victoria years ago.

Spending two hours in her presence (while she courageously honored her commitment to speak in spite of suffering with Bells Palsy and having to wear an eye patch that she jokingly said was a AAA cup) is a date that's on my list of highlights for this lifetime.

Welcome back Dr E...you are so appreciated and loved.
Rating:
 
By Donna, from South Carolina
Date Added: Friday 19 March 2010
I listened to the Mother Night series and I own all of Dr. E's books and audio files. Her voice soothes me like no other........ and her stories? There aren't enough words to describe the feeling that comes over me as I listen. It's magical!!
Rating:
 
By CYNTHIA TEDESCO
Date Added: Tuesday 9 March 2010
Dr. Pinkola-Estes - i have listened to your amazing cd series & have studied your book: i can't say how much i look forward to this presentation. you have ignited my life! G-d Bless You!
Rating:
 
By Vivian C. V.
Date Added: Monday 1 March 2010
I am sure, as always, we can expect and receive "The best of the best !" from Dr. Estes. Her Mother Night series was fantastic and I am really looking forward to this seminar ! Great work Tami, thank you so much !
Rating:
 
By Colleen T.
Date Added: Monday 1 March 2010
Oh, all that is of me, is prepared to go. The wondering is over...on a couple of levels.

Thank You, Dr. K.
Rating:
 
By Deborah Osredker
Date Added: Sunday 28 February 2010
Thank you, Dr. E, for the call to come sit by the fire again with you. I can feel the warmth of the tribe already. Blessings to all!
Rating:
 
By Marilyn Readhead, Perth, West Australia
Date Added: Thursday 25 February 2010
How exciting to have the opportunity to once again gather around the fire for more stories with CPE ...
Rating:
 
By Rosa de María
Date Added: Sunday 21 February 2010
Thank you for making this posible, i cant wait to seat by the fire and listen to a great storyteller and contadora de cuentos. Im from mexico city, and congratulations Tammy. bye.
Rating:
 
By Patricia Chupak
Date Added: Saturday 20 February 2010
I know in my bones that Dangerous Old Woman will be every bit as spectacular as Mother Night.

Just one question: does this start on April 4 or April 6 - the website has both dates listed....thank you!
Rating:
 
By Marcella
Date Added: Saturday 20 February 2010
In the process of this wonderful development-bring on the MP3S" so those of us who cannot make it to the live events can come to the fireside again and again in our own homes.
Thank You Clarissa for once again sharing with us
Rating:
 
By Anna Walker
Date Added: Saturday 20 February 2010
How I have missed Dr. E for many, many years, and I am so excited she is back with more wisdom to touch our hearts and souls at the deepest level. My old computer wouldn't let me participate in the Mother Night series, but my new computer is ready for The Dangerous Old Woman. Love to you Dr. E and welcome back.
Rating:
 
By Yvonne Barlog
Date Added: Saturday 20 February 2010
CPE's "Mother Night" series on Sounds True was amazing! The classes are available for listening or download after the event so is workable for folks that can't make the scheduled time or are living abroad. I have the last classes on my computer and listen to them often. Can't wait!!!!!!
Rating:
 
By Tricia Sullivan
Date Added: Friday 19 February 2010
I woke up to the news of this one--can't wait! Bring it on, Dr. E!!

:-D
Rating:
 
By Shannon Presson
Date Added: Friday 19 February 2010
To sit by the fireside with Dr. E while she shares her stories and her wisdom is to be "at home" in a place that is warm, comforting and just a little bit mystical. I'm like a little child, eagerly anticipating the comfort of those special "stories" to hold in my heart and help me grow. Much love to you, Dr. E!
Rating:
 
By Mary Friedel-Hunt
Date Added: Friday 19 February 2010
Can't review yet but can comment that this long awaited event will be welcomed and appreciated. It can ONLY be great.
Rating:
 
By paulineanne
Date Added: Thursday 1 July 2010
I am disappointed that this is available for $25.00, after I purchased the course for over $100.00. I feel gypped. I should of waited. It is a great course. I ust wish with my limited finances that I should have waited to purchase it.
I hope the future lectures in the series are comparable to the after the course purchase price.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others