About the Author

Rick Hanson

Rick Hanson, PhD, is a neuropsychologist and New York Times bestselling author. His books include Hardwiring Happiness: The New Brain Science of Contentment, Calm, and Confidence (in 13 languages), Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness,...

Richard Mendius

Richard Mendius, MD, is a neurologist and co-founder of the Wellspring Institute for Neuroscience and Contemplative Wisdom. He trained at UCLA as an epileptologist and neurobehaviorist. He has been on the teaching faculty of UCLA, Oregon Health Sciences University, and Stanford...

Customer Reviews for Meditations to Change Your Brain

By Christine T
Date Added: Tuesday 4 June 2013
This is amazing. It is so informative and easy to follow. I have learned so much, and the techniques are easy to apply and really work!
Rating:
 
By Janis A
Date Added: Friday 10 May 2013
I am very glad I purchased this audio program. The combination of "lecture" and meditations is effective, I enjoy listening to both of the authors, and their advice has already been very helpful to me. I especially like how they make meditating very accessible, and give lots of choices and examples of things that might or might not resonate with the listener. Learning how our primitive brains work is very enlightening!
Rating:
 
By David M
Date Added: Thursday 21 March 2013
The meditations are very nice and useful in themselves, but what I prefer is that the authors explain the foundational principles of their meditations very clearly. So clearly that I find it straightforward to apply these principles during my preferred meditative activities and even in my everyday life. And I can feel the improvement of my well-being.
Rating:
 
By Matt H
Date Added: Monday 29 October 2012
Excellent! A must have!
Rating:
 
By Pat W
Date Added: Wednesday 24 October 2012
Absolutely beautiful, in its directness, low key approach and support for those who listen to experience what is presented. For me, the downside is that the format is mp3 and does not work on my iPad; also that access to what I purchased is limited. Despite the negatives I will continue to return to Soundstrue because it offers "everything" I am interested in. Thank You!!
Rating:
 
By FAYE M
Date Added: Tuesday 9 October 2012
I love Rick Hanson. I love listening to his soothing , humorous voice as he speaks and as he leads the meditiations.
Richard Mendius' contribution is equally soothing and informative. I don't ususally do this, but aI have found it to be so interesting that I have listened to the recording several times.
Rating:
 
By ruth l
Date Added: Sunday 7 October 2012
excellent, a powerhouse of visualizations & information
Rating:
 
By Kush Mainali
Date Added: Wednesday 23 May 2012
Excellent! What can I say. The two of them make a great team.
Rating:
 
By Richard Klekar
Date Added: Thursday 3 May 2012
Drs. Mendius and Hanson provide a scientific perspective on the benefits of meditation and offer several guided meditations followed up by an explanation of the changes that occur in the brain...and mind. The information is very practical and can be used by those new to the practice of meditation or those who wish to supplement their existing practice.
Rating:
 
By Kevin Daugherty
Date Added: Monday 12 March 2012
Your cds were very good and you did a good job explaining the material. I have learned a lot and they have helped me tremendously.
Rating:
 
By Robert Beren
Date Added: Sunday 19 February 2012
excellent
Rating:
 
By Lisa Michele
Date Added: Thursday 16 February 2012
Great information, soothing meditations
Rating:
 
By Hathor Woods
Date Added: Wednesday 15 February 2012
Great companion for "Buddha's Brain."
Rating:
 
By Baraka Burrill
Date Added: Monday 6 February 2012
I love the meditations; they are changing my life. I listen every day at least once. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Brian Bartlett
Date Added: Tuesday 24 January 2012
Rick Hanson's work is invaluable for anyone wanting to improve the function of their brain. Especially recommended for people recovering from addiction or other negative, self-defeating behaviors.
Rating:
 
By Sherri-Lee Lavender
Date Added: Friday 6 January 2012
Highly recommend. I have avoided meditation as explanations of it made little sense and my brain warred with me every step of the way. This teaching explains very clearly to me why! Their voices are soothing to listen to, they give fantastic information on the how and why of meditation practice and lead you through very simple but very powerful sessions during which I actually feel my brain firing and re-wiring. They have opened up the practice of meditation to me in a way that I can incorporate into life and gain benefit from in every facet of everyday living.
Rating:
 
By miro krizman
Date Added: Thursday 1 December 2011
I really love this organic music.
I downloaded flac version for maximum quality, but I noticed that first song Initial Descent has 1 second silent pause in 3:57. I send mail to customer support over a month ago and haven't received any replies yet. Mp3 is ok though, so I enjoy listening to Initial Descent in mp3 version;)
Rating:
 
By Drew Sambol
Date Added: Wednesday 23 November 2011
LOVE this. I love their scientific explanations of what is happening in the brain during various types of meditations. It keeps me motivated to keep going. Both of them also have very soothing voices. Great practices!
Rating:
 
By liza
Date Added: Wednesday 9 November 2011
I first went to a workshop with Rick Hanson at Kripalu and loved it. These meditations are wonderful, useful, eye opening. I also agree, technically, that the meditations themselves should be separate tracks than the lectures surrounding them.
Technology aside, I am happy I bought these.
Rating:
 
By Karen Cooper
Date Added: Wednesday 19 October 2011
I found these cds really interesting. I am glad I bought them.
Rating:
 
By Kathy Shelton
Date Added: Wednesday 5 October 2011
I love these CDs! The doctors are easy to listen to and explain things in laymans terms. I really look forward to meditations and by doing them to changing my brain back into a happier way of thinking.
Rating:
 
By Gela de Brugiere
Date Added: Wednesday 17 August 2011
Most informative and useful!
Rating:
 
By Claudia Rao
Date Added: Saturday 19 March 2011
Excellent.
Rating:
 
By lindy roy
Date Added: Wednesday 16 March 2011
Wonderful - an excellent resource for both personal & professional purposes.
Rating:
 
By crystal macritchie
Date Added: Tuesday 22 February 2011
I love these meditations as well as the explaination of the brain functioning that is provide. I look forward to these authors creating additional brain changing meditations. I would highly recomend these CD's to others.
Rating:
 
By Marjan M
Date Added: Wednesday 15 January 2014
Geat lecture in the 1st chapter. Good guided meditation in the following chapters. Got a bit repeated. Expected more lectures than what is provided.
Rating:
 
By Andy P
Date Added: Wednesday 1 January 2014
Very nicely done download. Rick Hanson's materials never disappoint.
Rating:
 
By Dave P
Date Added: Saturday 24 August 2013
Very interesting item to get you really thinking.
Rating:
 
By Faith A
Date Added: Thursday 6 December 2012
I really like this product and plan to integrate the practices into my daily life. BUT--some of the meditations seem like repetitions, and at the end of one track it says "now we will do a series of meditations" and it never happens. I am still trying to sort it out...
Rating:
 
By Roseanne Bromley
Date Added: Sunday 18 December 2011
Enjoying this download very much
I plan to spend more time with it when the holidays are over
Rating:
 
By Catherine Hugues
Date Added: Sunday 20 November 2011
A very helpful meditation program. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Elizabeth Marotta
Date Added: Wednesday 31 August 2011
I find the meditations to change my Brain extreemly challenging as I am a recent widow but I am also a long term mediatator so I am very aware of possitive effects possible . I am plugging away, both expeiencing the grief and shifting to positive rememberances.
Rating:
 
By Shirley Gourgaud
Date Added: Monday 4 April 2011
I hesitated before leaving this review. Every time I try and listen to these audios, I fall asleep. This is strange as I normally have difficulty sleeping at any time. The other curious thing is that over the many times that I listened I can remember only a pleasant voice but I have no recollection of what was said or if I went into any meditative state. Perhaps somebody can make sense of this for me because I have given it thought but am baffled.
Rating:
 
By maribel gavaldon
Date Added: Monday 21 March 2011
Very good product
Rating:
 
By Steve Taylor
Date Added: Tuesday 8 March 2011
Very useful. I wish each guided meditation were a separate track thought. It's not easy to navigate to some of my favorites.
Rating:
 
By Anne W
Date Added: Sunday 4 November 2012
I really enjoy what they offer in the CDs both the meditations and the teaching pieces, they are inspiring and informative and l love the sense of get of their partnership in the session.

1 MAJOR improvement for me would be to have the meditations on separate tracks from the teaching pieces that way I could listen to the teachings in my car (which is my preferred place to do so) and the meditations at home when I've got that kind of space/time.
Rating:
 
By Lestlie Prokosch
Date Added: Thursday 13 October 2011
Good.
Rating:
 
By Kaye A
Date Added: Friday 4 April 2014
My rating reflects quality of service and downloads from Sounds True as well as the product. If I were rating the product alone, there'd be 4 stars. But, if I were rating Sounds True alone, I would give them zero stars! I'll give you my opinion of both.

This program by Rick Hanson is pretty good. It peers at meditation from a different angle and provides good insight on what happens over time (in the brain) when you practice. There is one meditation in particular that talks you through holding the positive experience of meditation in mind while also keeping a negative memory/event/situation or current fear in the back of your mind. They say doing this helps to "desensitize" us to the negative feelings brought on by the memory/event.

As for Sounds True... well. Each track of this program is chopped off ... the authors are speaking and mid-sentence they are cut off and the next track begins. I have no idea what I missed or how incomplete the downloads are. I purchased a DVD download at the same time and couldn't get it to completely download either. I called Sounds True and here's what happened: They wanted to do a test ... they called me back several hours later to say they downloaded it successfully so it must be a problem on my end and to try again... I tried again and the same thing happened. I asked for a refund and had to call several times before I received it. Very disappointing experience. Please know I purchase digital products online with other merchants and have no problems getting complete downloads (e.g., amazon, iTunes, software companies, etc.).
Rating:
 
By Sue Robinson
Date Added: Wednesday 30 March 2011
content is wonderful but the online format is not mac friendly, It was very difficult to recognize and choose the individual tracts
Rating:
 
By Sounds True to Lisa L and Karen O
Date Added: Friday 3 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and questions. I am not able to identify or contact you from a product review, but if you happen to see this message, please contact Customer Service for help with your Nook and to get a refund. We offer refunds up to a year after the time of purchase. Customer Service can be reached at 1(800)333-9185 or by emailing support@soundstrue.zendesk.com.
Rating:
 
By Lisa L
Date Added: Friday 27 December 2013
Sadly lacks the deep guided meditations I was hoping for, what is your return policy? Everything else with the order was wonderful.
Rating:
 
By Karen O
Date Added: Monday 5 November 2012
Though download successful, this gift does not appear anywhere in the files on my nook. Help!
Rating:
 
By Baraka Burrill
Date Added: Monday 6 February 2012
This set of meditations is really changing my life. I listen often twice, but always once, to the practices. I am quite broke, so this is all I could afford now, but i hope to buy some of the books, and continue.

Thank you,

Baraka
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others