About the Author

William Bengston

William Bengston, PhD, is a professor of sociology at St. Joseph's College in New York and author of The Energy Cure. In his early 20s, he received hands-on healing that ended his chronic back pain. A self-proclaimed rationalist, he began a 35-year investigation that...

Customer Reviews for Hands-On Healing

By Pamela Y
Date Added: Thursday 7 August 2014
Excellent program. I've done many programs, and was surprised to learn something that for me was very new and incredibly valuable. The cycling technique takes the brain to a unique state that cannot readily be achieved by mediation. I've already started using this healing method, and things I put on my "list" are already manifesting.
Rating:
 
By Vicky S
Date Added: Sunday 7 April 2013
Intelligent, articulate, well presented structure for hard to describe material.
Rating:
 
By Moshiur
Date Added: Monday 19 November 2012
Suzanne Clegg, who was mentored extensively by Bill Bengston, helps her clients do his Rapid Image Cycling technique. She uses it as part of her natural cancer care program. visit spiritgate.com.
Rating:
 
By danny crowell
Date Added: Wednesday 1 August 2012
It would be premature for me to rate the Hands on Healing at this time. It's not a quick course. I am, however, intrigued with the content and the teacher's approach so far. And I have always been happy with Sounds True and their service. This is a "To Date" rating.
Rating:
 
By joanne croak
Date Added: Thursday 29 March 2012
I am very satisfied with the product and services I received ...
Thank You
Jacroak
Rating:
 
By Maria
Date Added: Thursday 22 March 2012
Downloaded the audio about 3 weeks ago. I picked real pictures, put them in a software and view them rapidly (almost subliminal viewing). First day, I did that the whole day (maybe six hrs). Observed visual acuity, heat in left hand, muscular contractions in the belly area (one of my goals was to have a thinner waist). The next day I had kind of a headache. So, I reduced practice to 10-15 mins every other day. Pain in arm left, but it has come back. Do not know yet how to do rapid imaging without the software. I love the images I picked; they make me happy. I experience a surge in energy, motivation, happiness, which I assume is related to the technique. It is interesting enough to continue.
Rating:
 
By Samvado
Date Added: Thursday 22 March 2012
Brilliant - I use his technique since one year now and have a better healing rate that any medical doctor including 2 confimed and one still unconfirmed cancer cases. I also works on tonsilitis :-)
Rating:
 
By Jolanka Muratovic
Date Added: Sunday 18 December 2011
Fascinating,researched well,require participation that helps to be in touch with your self,wishes,and desires.Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Jeri Lawson
Date Added: Tuesday 15 November 2011
This course is fantastic. Bengston's ideas and experiences had given me a lot to think about. I have been doing energy work for over 10 years and this material is inspiring and practical. I highly recommend these CDs to all healers.
Rating:
 
By Jeri Lawson
Date Added: Tuesday 15 November 2011
Wonderful. I had a problem with the download, so I bought the CD's. Your customer service was excellent.
Thank you.
Rating:
 
By fiona knox
Date Added: Friday 6 May 2011
I truly cannot understand why people have given this poor reviews. Mind you one star without having listened says it all!
Rating:
 
By fiona knox
Date Added: Friday 6 May 2011
This is the most compelling product that I think I have ever bought. The story of the healing Dr Bengston does is fascinating in itself but the instructions are excellent. This is not at all a quick and easy technique to learn and I do not think I could have managed using just his book. I'm beginning to get what seem to be real results after a month of doing the homework and I am VERY glad I bought it.
Rating:
 
By Gunnar Kossatz
Date Added: Sunday 24 April 2011
Its too easy to be believable, but if tested it prooves to work. Excellent explanantions too.
Rating:
 
By Justin
Date Added: Friday 1 April 2011
I can't believe the negative reviews for this set. Thankfully I never listen to negative reviews unless they're articulate, which these weren't. The one didn't even listen to it. Come on.

Now onto the good news. This is a very interesting set, especially for the hard headed like myself who's belief is strengthened through the science of the unexplainable.

It spends lots of time on the science then even more time on the practical how-to's. It teaches more how to do it on others than on yourself because of the fact that we get in our own way when we do it on ourselves. However it still works on yourself. I've tried it and it seems to work just fine. His cycling gets you out of the way just fine.

All in all this is great work that shows scientifically that simple touch healing heals cancer and all kinds of other things.

The technique (that he makes seem hard) is actually easier to get than he says.

I recommend this set. I also suggest you ignore bad reviews that aren't based on any reasoning or fact.
Rating:
 
By Joanne
Date Added: Monday 4 October 2010
wow.... I started to listen to cd one and two , wanted to practice , knew I should be practicing but could not wait , it felt so right ,so I continued listening all the way to cd 6 and while feeling I have the cycling only partially under control I could not resist trying it on my partner who told me HE feels this is working even though he does not know what I am doing,,,,,validation or what....??? I am now going back to cd one and will practice " my brain out" like I was told to do ..... thank you ,thank you for sharing this with us.
Rating:
 
By Said Osio
Date Added: Tuesday 16 November 2010


The premise of this audio course is built upon one fundamental issue, an issue that has deep ramifications for the healing community! Does hands-on healing work and can it be taught?

Be skeptical because its proponent and its healer Bengston are as well.This already separates it from any course I've heard of. What you have in this training course is a lifelong interest by scientists who has a quest for knowledge and sets out using evidence-based research skills to validate his discoveries in hands-on-healing and then some. If you haven't already read Bengston's complementary book Energy Healing as an introduction to this work or listened to one of the podcasts offered through his website (www.bengstonresearch.com) or SoundsTrue (http://www.soundstrue.com/) I suggest you do so.The reason is simple, Hands-On-Healing is an investment into time and is a path requiring commitment and altering thinking regarding how healing works. Find out why and read on!

What makes Hands-On-Healing remarkable is its unorthodox manner of radically shifting concepts that we generally find in the current healing community. In fact in these materials there is a discussion regarding one form of hands-on healing Reiki where Bengston contrasts his energy healing to that of the work of Reiki and its approach. He goes on to respectfully compare both allowing his skepticism to play into the energy of his Hand-On-Healing and contrasting it to how it plays out in the Reiki work. In fact he even goes as far as to play down hands-on-healing nor gets caught in over intellectualizing and posturing or word-smithing by acknowledging he doesn't know much of what is behind the results of healing and simply states "it's a kind of energy"! Ritual in the form of formalizing behavior or symbols of healing gets the same bad marks from Bengston and he is bent on deconstructing how the establishment holds to beliefs regarding how healing works. Impishly, he takes it one step further and invites us to play at healing or manifesting objects of desire, to engage honestly and not take oneself too serious! He has empowered himself in his radical skepticism by knowing his healing works, not how it works, but works just the same and has a large body of evidence-based supportive research to back it up - No argument here!

The skeptic with a capital S

Bengston's refrain on where this healing comes from is "I don't know" and therefore he becomes the embodied skeptic and his mantra is: I don't know, I don't know, I don't know leaving me asking what do I believe and wrestling with my own interpretations of what is known and unknown regarding energy healing or for that matter any healing. I found this koan like effect disconcerting, most likely because I need to know and the conflict of uncertainty although perplexing is challenging and healthy. His "I don't know" stance surprisingly offers a degree of integrity in the fact that it doesn't pretend to offer a panacea, it isn't teaching knowing hands-on-healing but working at a rigorous process to reform reactive thinking. This ground breaking of beliefs moves us into new ground plus new visual landscapes. At the end of the series of trainings we are given a number of instructions which if one is to accept them then one is to accept the fact that there are things that we take as gospel and here Bengston abandons his mantra of "I don't know why " and his modified skepticism is as a vapor trail simply asking that we believe, regarding issues of ethical behaviors. Bengston offers a clear cardinal rule - in order to successfully do this work with integrity YOU MUST ASK for permission to heal from the recipient, ASK for permission to touch. We are also advised on issues of integrity regarding transmission of where healing energy comes from, the identification of calling ourselves healers, and the virtues of being part of a healing energy. These are beliefs so Bengston the skeptic is grounded in integrity but based on what beliefs? It's my turn, I don't know. As I said, Hands-On-Healing is challenging and sometimes paradoxical which keeps us all in the wonderful mystery that healing invites us into.

Cycling, revolutionary

The radical premise that is the cornerstone of Hands-On Healing is that it attempts to reformulate brain mind activity through a method called cycling. To be objective, know that I did not attempt to master this technique. I simply am interested in this material from the standpoint of making it available and reporting on Bengston's work around awakening consciousness for the purpose of healing. What I can say from an objective point of view regarding cycling is that any practice that requires mind altering shifts in re-patterning thinking or reframing visualizations rarely are successful unless one is totally committed to the outcome, not the outcome of healing per se but the outcome of mastering the process. Here hands-on healing is singularly a process driven methodology. Its foundation of cycling structurally is a mental construct of a higher form of undetermined energy, a consciousness of undetermined source as compared to an assumption that most other healing modalities are integrated / grounded with spirit mind body. Because Bengston favors what he calls suspended beliefs system he doesn't prejudice his approach by defining what in fact the "it" is in energy healing - it doesn't concern him as a scientist. What concerns him is the fact that the results are measurable, that the techniques are replicable and that the techniques work and most importantly HEALING OCCURS and the process teachable and learnable. I won't downplay Bengston's idea of works. We learn that he is talking about healings working across fields of space and time, be it one mile or thousands, it matters not , does work and is supported statistically (Remote viewing and distant healing aren't new but this is taking it to a new level that supports field theory). Another aspect of the radical process is his preference for creating an ambience for healing that I personally find very nontraditional. Here he favors listening to Led Zeppelin versus some soft ambient music while performing a healing. If you can accept this premise (I'm still out on that one) then you are a great candidate for his other radical challenges regarding hands-on healing.

Is There a relevance here in being challenged in our everyday point of view regarding healing and energy. Can and should it be extended to states of wellness and wholeness. If taken seriously and worked at I believe (sorry Bengston the skeptic) that we can grow and expand our consciousness and for that I thank Bengston as well as for his courage in bringing forth his teachings. Clearly his approach is not for everyone, as no technique is, not in energy healing or any other form of hands on healing. Bengston knows better than anyone that he needs to walk a fine line on bringing forth this material and has adapted a playful elegance. In his own words he offers up the position of still being the student requesting that those interested in this work just try it, play with it and let him know. I think that's honorable and let me know what you think as well.

Finally! what's this got to do with guided imagery anyway?

Simply, at the core of this cycling revolutionary instruction is having and holding images that stem from one's own desire for wanting and clarifying that wanting so one can hold impressions that are personal and relevant versus scripted and prescribed.These then are tools for deconstructing obstructions allowing for flow to activate healing. I find that compelling and understand its value and potential power. As has been said many times in my guided imagery collective web site - the entire premise for the guided imagery collective is to explore advancements in the field of guided imagery and healing and this clearly is an advancement into guided imagery. It opens a new window into the healing space, opens my consciousness to reframe how I see and feel and heal! Good cycling and thanks Sounds True !
Rating:
 
By Annette
Date Added: Wednesday 3 November 2010
When I first looked at the reviews on this course before buying it, there were only three. The first two were negative and I almost didn't purchase the course based on those two reviews. What a mistake that would have been!
I have now worked my way slowly, with lots of practice, to the end of the course and I found that the technique is a "fit" for me. I'm glad to have it and am looking forward to trying it out on people after I practice on my dog for a bit.
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I don't yet know if the technique will work in my hands.
Rating:
 
By Jarod
Date Added: Monday 1 November 2010
A 3-D guy trying to make sense of a 4-D experience. It's like Luke Skywalker taking apart his light saber to see how it works. Is it useful? Depends on where you are coming from. Great anecdotes. When he loosens up, he is fun to listen to.
Rating:
 
By Paul Reynolds
Date Added: Tuesday 19 October 2010
This is important work. To understand the context for what Bengstron is teaching I think the listener will benefit from first reading his book "chasing the cure". This "technique" stretches the model of western medicine AND also reverses much accepted "new age" philosophy on hands on healing. This program is based on years of experience in healing and teaching healing and is an approach that I've not come across in 20 years in the field. At last - something new and different.
Rating:
 
By Alice VanHuss
Date Added: Sunday 13 November 2011
Maybe one paragraph of useful information. I discarded it once I waded through it. Well, to be honest, it wasn't worth listening to all of it. Alice, BSN, RN
Rating:
 
By sherri gross
Date Added: Wednesday 4 May 2011
waste of money

i wish i could get a refund. won't make any more purchases this expensive again, unless I know beforehand that I won't get burned.
Rating:
 
By Cathy
Date Added: Sunday 3 October 2010
I also was very disappointed with this OVERLY EXPENSIVE course. Was nothing on it but a lot of talking that says a lot of nothing. Refund should be given.
Rating:
 
By Diana Santiago
Date Added: Wednesday 29 September 2010
Very dissapointed with the material. As a Massage Therapist/Energy Healer, I listened to all six sessions thinking that there would be something of value for me to learn. That moment never came.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others