About the Author

Clarissa Pinkola Estés

Clarissa Pinkola Estés, PhD, is an internationally recognized scholar, award-winning poet, diplomate senior Jungian psychoanalyst, and cantadora (keeper of the old stories in the Latina tradition). In addition to her international bestseller Women Who Run With the...

Customer Reviews for The Dangerous Old Woman

By Lynn W
Date Added: Tuesday 3 June 2014
Outstanding! I am savoring ever word from Estes, for her beautiful storytelling and her powerful wisdom.
Rating:
 
By Susan U
Date Added: Wednesday 30 April 2014
Clarissa Pinkola Estes is such a great story-teller, with such a wonderful voice, that I could listen to her read her grocery list. Lucky for us, this audio book is much more that that, with myths about fierce, strong women elders and their place in society. A great listen for anyone, but especially for women entering their 'crone years' and struggling to find their path and purpose.
Rating:
 
By Touta A
Date Added: Tuesday 22 April 2014
It's more, way more then I expected and yet exactly what I needed. The sale made a no-excuse. back in the mid 90ies I had bought "the theater of your imagination" and some other titles and have been working with it ever since.
Rating:
 
By Margaret R
Date Added: Monday 10 March 2014
I am absolutely thrilled with this CD collection. Dr. Estes is brilliant and her stories and commentary are full of insight and compassion. I love her stories about her family and where she grew up. I have listened to them 3 times now and every time I hear something new that I did not catch the first time. I recommend these to everyone.
Rating:
 
By Alexander K
Date Added: Thursday 13 February 2014
Epic. I bow deeply to Dr. Clarissa. Her medicine is profound... even for a dude :)
Rating:
 
By Maureen M
Date Added: Wednesday 5 February 2014
Wonderful!
Rating:
 
By Catherine W
Date Added: Monday 20 January 2014
I love her stories! She has such an interesting perspective and a soothing way of telling them.
Rating:
 
By Gwen Hartland
Date Added: Thursday 3 October 2013
So much depth in this series. Love it.
Rating:
 
By Laura C
Date Added: Monday 30 September 2013
I love the seamless way Clarissa Pinkola Estes weaves the context for her stories, her amazing storytelling ability (which makes me feel like I am right there in the story as it is happening), and her many insightful and wise reflections.
Rating:
 
By Thea v
Date Added: Monday 27 May 2013
EXCELLENT
Rating:
 
By jean c
Date Added: Wednesday 2 January 2013
As with The Power of the Crone the power of these recordings was so strong that I could only listen them one at a time letting each one settle imparting a power of it`s own before going on to the next
Rating:
 
By Dawn A
Date Added: Wednesday 2 January 2013
I just loved this. I highly recomend!
Rating:
 
By Crista D
Date Added: Tuesday 1 January 2013
An excellent way to connect with ancient wisdom and to understand what it feels like and what it looks like. This CD is full of wisdom that our modern society would prefer you didn't have.
Rating:
 
By Ann H
Date Added: Sunday 30 December 2012
Very nice set of talks by Dr. Estes. These work well in the car as the meditative sections, called blessings, are not sleep inducing and the instructions include keeping your eyes open if desired. I affirm staying alert to driving needs every time anyway. Models of healthy adult and very mature aged women are so welcome in my collection of media. I have volume two, The Power of the Crone, also. These comments apply to that set as well. If you have ever enjoyed Dr. Estes' other works you will really like these talks.
Rating:
 
By Danna P
Date Added: Thursday 27 December 2012
This subject is so important in my life and Dr. Pinkola Estes is a master at presenting it! I am finding my own experience to be validated and enhanced by her work! This CD is a vibrant guiding light for those of us who are becoming true elders!
Rating:
 
By Sharon
Date Added: Wednesday 19 December 2012
Dr. Estes is just simply amazing. I am enjoying this work so much. I love listening to her stories and then when she pulls it all together for the aha! moment it reveals so much. I have several of her other works, The Red Shoes, etc., and what I am enjoying on this work is that she seems to be so relaxed. She laughs a lot and it's like having a face to face conversation. I can't recommend this highly enough.
Rating:
 
By Jeanne T
Date Added: Wednesday 19 December 2012
This collection of stories and deep wisdom regarding the Crone and wild woman archetypes is absolutely mesmerizing. I was on an 8 hour car trip listening to these CD's and I didn't want to get to my destination before I was done listening! Estes voice is so soothing and rich and wise and her wisdom so full I highly recommend this to every woman. I am in my sixties so I am the dangerous old woman and I wholly relate!
Rating:
 
By Roberta R
Date Added: Wednesday 12 December 2012
I love this CD set and will, in time, buy the whole program. Dr Estes is a wonderful story teller and reminds women, through story, to follow their intuition rather than cave to society's expectations.
Rating:
 
By RT
Date Added: Saturday 22 September 2012
Love the story telling and wisdom of Clarissa Pinkola Estes and this series continued that love. She makes long car trips breeze by enjoyably.
Rating:
 
By Michele Wilson
Date Added: Saturday 28 July 2012
Love, Love, Love Dr Estes. A voice for deep healing in a crazy world. I loved this so much, I just ordered all the others in the series of Wise Woman. It is true there is much to be gained as we age. I am so glad to have found this woman's work almost 20 years ago to guide me!
Rating:
 
By Meredith Narissi
Date Added: Sunday 1 July 2012
amazing and mesmerizing as always, and filled with the most poignant wisdom....thank you Clarissa and Sounds True xoxoxo
Rating:
 
By rosemary griggs
Date Added: Tuesday 5 June 2012
Wonderful tape, she is the best teacher as always a winner.
Rating:
 
By Nancy Davis
Date Added: Saturday 19 May 2012
Excellent and entertaining.
Rating:
 
By Michelle E.
Date Added: Tuesday 24 April 2012
"My soul and all aspects of my life continues to get empowered everytime I listen to her work over and over and over again." Ten Stars!
Rating:
 
By Virginia Herndon
Date Added: Wednesday 11 April 2012
CPE voice is as heart-warming as her writings. I love her work. It has been a guiding force in my life since the early ninties.
Rating:
 
By Cynthia Hill
Date Added: Friday 2 March 2012
I am becoming a Dangerous Old Woman. I treasure the HealthRHYTHMS (tm) women drummers that I teach in Southport, NC, who are Dangerous Old Women, mostly in their 70s & 80s. We are the first, the last, the best and the only ones of our kind! Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes myths and stories encourage us to open to our passions and be heard!!!!! Drum Roll for Dr. Estes!!!!!
Rating:
 
By Hathor Woods
Date Added: Wednesday 15 February 2012
Speaks deeply to my soul.
Rating:
 
By Danica Zedan
Date Added: Tuesday 13 December 2011
See stars!
Rating:
 
By Linda Bailey
Date Added: Wednesday 9 November 2011
It has been so wonderful to hear Clarissa Pinkola Estes' voice once again. Absolutely no one does what she does! I'm going to order the next 2 recent cd sets of hers. Thank you for this offering!
Rating:
 
By Janice Lawry
Date Added: Wednesday 26 October 2011
An amazing collections of talks and stories. It felt like listening to to a live talk.
Rating:
 
By Dora Schmidt Stendal
Date Added: Tuesday 27 September 2011
I just love it :)
Rating:
 
By Deborah Foster
Date Added: Monday 12 September 2011
This is quite wonderful. Beautiful story telling and much wisdom.
Rating:
 
By Norma Grady
Date Added: Saturday 10 September 2011
After listening to Tami's interview/excert I ordered both volumes and have greatly enjoyed them. At 70 years it is inspiring to know that the "old woman" has purpose and joy is possible. I recommend this series to women of all ages.
Rating:
 
By Anne Jones
Date Added: Thursday 1 September 2011
wonderful, inspiring, strengthening
Rating:
 
By Linda Carmichael
Date Added: Monday 15 August 2011
This series is fantastic! Clarissa has a wonderful voice and the stories are appropriate to maturing women from all walks of life. I am excited, flourishing and having fun upon entering the "old woman" era of my life, rather than dreading it! The stories are valuable and validating and Clarissa is nothing short of genious with her incredible insight into the ways of The Dangerous Old Woman.
Rating:
 
By Lynette Barravecchia
Date Added: Wednesday 22 June 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this CD. AFter I finished I bought 2 more of her CD's. Sounds True makes it so easy to be able to instantly enjoy these with their downloads. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Colleen Tuxbury-Tripp
Date Added: Saturday 16 April 2011
They are wonderful. I love Clarissa. So insightful and spiritual. I love the way she tells the stories with the lessons imbedded in them .
Rating:
 
By Paula Ross
Date Added: Thursday 24 March 2011
I cannot say enough about Clariissa she inspires everytime I listen to her words. Every second is bliss. Thank you Clarissa!
Rating:
 
By Valeta Bruce
Date Added: Wednesday 23 March 2011
Both Dr. Estes and Jack Kornfield
materials far out-surpassed in quality, integrity, talent and transmission. Keep them all coming!
Rating:
 
By Shelia Rackers
Date Added: Tuesday 1 March 2011
Lifechanging! I now revel in my age, knowing that each day, I become better...not just older!
Rating:
 
By C.L.Wallace
Date Added: Tuesday 30 November 2010
After losing my center and becoming more and more despondent, my sister sent this collection to me for my birthday. The Dangerous Old Woman has rekindled my soul, re-lit the passion of self discovery and pointed me in the direction of becoming, again, as I was when I was born.
Thank you Clarissa Pinkola Estes for this most inspiring work. I am awake.
Rating:
 
By Barbara W
Date Added: Friday 29 August 2014
It's great! I would love for the programs to be presented in more, shorter tracks, which would make it easier to navigate. The long story about the story in the first volume is not so necessary, but the material itself is fabulous, which is what matters most. Thank you for your fine work.
Rating:
 
By Bonnie F
Date Added: Sunday 4 May 2014
Interesting. Good story weaver. Would get it again.
Rating:
 
By Inga Ann-Christine C
Date Added: Monday 30 September 2013
This is the first time I have had the pleasure to buy anything from Clarissa Pinkola Estes. I bought this because I was looking for something for my 8 year old girl to listen to in the evenings before going to bed. I have been in search for something spiritual but when I came across this MP3 I thought it could be fun and educational for my daughter to hear some old folk stories told in more of an original version. We love the stories we have had time to listen to so far... Clarissa is a very skilled story teller and she has such a fantastic insight into the mystic. I can warmly recommend this for all ages to listen to. It will creat a great platform for deeper converstaions inbetween all ages and understandings.
Rating:
 
By Tracy Austin
Date Added: Sunday 27 May 2012
I'm really enjoying the stories. I listen to a lot of spiritually intense CD's -it's nice to just kind of hang with a woman who tells stories and gives very wise insights at the end
right now she's talking about the snow white legend -- very good!
Rating:
 
By JM
Date Added: Sunday 13 January 2013
Unfortunately I did not enjoy this program as I have enjoyed others where I have gained some insight through their teachings. This was more like a rambling one person conversation.
Rating:
 
By Sounds True
Date Added: Thursday 10 April 2014
Lauren H- we are sorry to hear that this product did not meet your needs. If you would rather get a refund for your purchase, please contact customer support at support@soundstrue.zendesk.com or by calling 1.800.333.9185.
Rating:
 
By Lauren H
Date Added: Wednesday 9 April 2014
Did not appreciate the excessive amount of emotive story telling accompanied by very little explanation/analysis. I was about ready to toss, but will donate to the local library instead.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others