About the Author

Barbara Ganim

Barbara Ganim is an expressive arts educator and certified holistic health counselor, a published writer, and artist. She is an assistant professor of holistic counseling and expressive arts at Salve Regina University in Newport, Rhode Island. She is also program coordinator...

Customer Reviews for The Healing Power of Art

By Patricia Jean J
Date Added: Friday 17 October 2014
After listening to all the CD's, I found myself going back several times and taking notes. This is truly inspired material based on much experience! I will be drawing on these ideas when I plan new art classes for my groups.
Rating:
 
By Kathryn B
Date Added: Tuesday 7 October 2014
Great program. The exercises are very helpful in exploring issues and finding inner wisdom.
Rating:
 
By Laurence
Date Added: Friday 4 February 2011
Barbara Ganim's books and self-guided expressive art workshop / cassettes have been a strong inspiration in my journey as a therapist. They are based on sound scientific information and at the same time, guide you in a practical way. I am grateful to Barbara Ganim for her contribution to the field of art and expressive therapies.
Rating:
 
By Marlyn F
Date Added: Thursday 16 October 2014
I was disappointed that I could not get the video as I moved on to the next portion, only voice. It is easier for me when I can see as well as hear.

Not sure if there is a way to make this possible.
Marlyn
Rating:
 
By MariaM
Date Added: Saturday 7 June 2014
The Healing Power of Art is also an excellent audio companion program to Barbara Ganim and Susan Fox's book Visual Journaling: Going Deeper than Words. I first discovered Ganim's work after being diagnosed with a genetic autoimmune disease that suddenly turned my life upside down. Words were totally inadequate to express my body-mind experience, as well as my frustrations interacting with western medicine practitioners. I realized that my body's innate wisdom was my best ally, but I didn't know how to untangle from the mind's anxieties to inhabit a body that had become an unreliable stranger. Ganim's work helped show me an intuitive way to feel my emotions rather than be stuck in them, and through accessing my personal images I began to find my way forward. Ganim's practices have helped me find meaning in "being" after excelling in "doing;" and paradoxically, I've been able to expand my "doing" over time. Many years later, I'm still grateful that I found Ganim's work to help me along my journey.
Rating:
 
By Sounds True
Date Added: Thursday 9 October 2014
Lanette B -

Sorry about the miscommunication, but this product is a digital download only. Upon purchase, the title and content will be available for download from your Sounds True account, accessible through www.soundstrue.com

To access your Sounds True digital library, please visit www.soundstrue.com and select the "my account" link on the top right menu. Enter the email address associated with your account and your password, press the "login to your account" button.

The following page will provide you with all the titles currently populated on your account. Next to each title, on the right side, is a drop down menu that allows you to select the format that you would like to download.
Rating:
 
By Lanette B
Date Added: Monday 6 October 2014
I have not received this CD yet. I was told it was back ordered and it ha been several weeks.
Rating:
 
By NEO P
Date Added: Wednesday 22 January 2014
DO NOT BUY THIS AUDIO book is my very strong advise.

I am on part 3 right now and cannot bear to hear it--and yet am continuing.

1. The exercises are helpful--I have done the first one so far..and it has helped, no doubt.

2. Is this BG doing the audio, reading the book? she does not pause to breathe--she breathes as she speaks--so it is NON-STOP..without pause..goes on and on and on..unbelievable how anyone can speak so much and so continuously.

It's extremely irritating..She uses 15 sentences and words when 3 will do..and NO it's not repeating to emphasise a point--she just speaks toooo much. I am having to tap my irritation out as I am trying to just reach the exercise.

3. if there is a book you can read, which I believe there is, better you buy that--then you can skim and skip..

Here, I have no choice but to listen to the whole thing as there is no way to know when the exercises occur and when it's just her endless chatter.

Such a shame really..the audio books needed to be edited severely and then would be really useful. Just keep some information and the exercises..

Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others