About the Author

Rick Hanson

Rick Hanson, Ph.D., is a neuropsychologist and New York Times best-selling author. His books include Hardwiring Happiness, Buddha's Brain, Just One Thing, and Mother Nurture. Founder of the Wellspring Institute for Neuroscience and...

Customer Reviews for Meditations for Happiness

By john l
Date Added: Wednesday 16 April 2014
Awesome !!
Rating:
 
By Jacqueline C
Date Added: Wednesday 19 March 2014
This is brilliant--intellectually, emotionally, spiritually.
I believe everyone would benefit by just listening to the first session. It was an amazing experience forme. I learned a lot and felt a transformative energycoming through. Thank you, Dr. Hanson. I highly recommend it to psychotherapists as well as all who
seek to transform their relationship to self and others.
Rating:
 
By Alicia D
Date Added: Wednesday 10 July 2013
Very informative, combining science facts with Buddhist ideas for interesting hands-on activities and meditations. Highly recommend.
Rating:
 
By Lynn Ng
Date Added: Sunday 28 April 2013
This meditation programme has been really effective in helping me to understand how I can be happy without even having favorable external conditions. Rick Hanson has been both professional and effective in helping me to understand how my brain works and how happiness can have a lasting effect on me. I would recommend this for anyone who is struggling to be happy.
Rating:
 
By Alynne K
Date Added: Tuesday 26 March 2013
Great little book, perfect for those 5 minute reads
Rating:
 
By Terry L
Date Added: Wednesday 27 February 2013
very informative along with the meditations. Rick Hanson's voice is so calming.
Rating:
 
By Linda Grazier
Date Added: Monday 6 February 2012
Really good explanation of negative bias of the brain with positive examples of how to change those thoughts.
Rating:
 
By sheri zala
Date Added: Sunday 30 October 2011
I really love these meditations and thoughts as expressed by Rick Hanson. Some of the meditations are so moving, inspiring & freeing, as he says, it's as though I can feel the happiness neurons firing! These meditations have already helped me feel more self-compassion & generally more inner peace. I've put a link on my website to his pages/meditations so that my clients can also benefit from Rick's meditations & wisdom. Cheers, sheri
Rating:
 
By Thomas Critchley
Date Added: Thursday 20 October 2011
Wonderful material wonderfully presented!
Rating:
 
By Amy Britton
Date Added: Wednesday 19 October 2011
I've enjoyed listening to this on my daily morning walks. I was mildly depressed when I purchased this download and have steadily increased my mood by listening to this as well as by doing other uplifting activities. I particularly liked the first meditation which reminded me of all that is good and wonderful in the world in general and my life in particular. Another meditation/exercise towards the end of the program on writing down the good things about your life had me in a great mood for the rest of the day! (I was out walking at the time and didn't have pen and paper so I typed my stuff into my notes on my iPhone. Now I can go back to those notes whenever I want and am reminded of how good I have it! Overall a great purchase. Looking forward to exploring more from Rick Hanson.
Rating:
 
By Naseem Rahim
Date Added: Sunday 11 September 2011
Lovely and very peace giving!
Rating:
 
By Louise
Date Added: Saturday 10 September 2011
refreshing, uplifting....
Rating:
 
By Gela de Brugiere
Date Added: Wednesday 17 August 2011
Wonderful!!! thank u Rick Hansen
Rating:
 
By catherine o grady
Date Added: Saturday 13 August 2011
Rick Hanson is excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed his work. His meditations are practiable and life enhancing
Rating:
 
By Paula Traphagen-Bossert
Date Added: Thursday 4 August 2011
Love it!!
Rating:
 
By Sounds True to Esther C
Date Added: Thursday 27 June 2013
Hi Esther,
I saw your question about chapter markers in your product review. When you leave a review, there is an option to ask questions of Customer Service, but it is easy to miss. Please contact them at customerservice@soundstrue.com and they can help you out. There is definitely a way to get chapter markers. I wish I could contact you directly, but I have no way to identify you without a last name - I hope you see this message!
Best wishes,
Shannon at Sounds True
Rating:
 
By esther c
Date Added: Sunday 23 June 2013
excellent.

but as a down load really annoying i can't have separate chapters. my computer / i tunes reads the piece as one very long audio. so i can't jump to chapters that are useful. can you help with this?

i like rick's attitude, compassion and voice. a realy useful program

but do please help with the chapters?

esther

Rating:
 
By Diana E
Date Added: Thursday 21 March 2013
The meditations are very positive and helpful. I didn't need all the instruction, but it would be good for new meditators.
Rating:
 
By Had Walmer
Date Added: Thursday 9 June 2011
Just referred to this wonderful set of recordings by Rick on Facebook.

Haven't listened yet; this will be a perfect resource for my 'Gold Mind Meditation Project' here in Portland.
Here in the Mind!
Rating:
 
By rachel gaspers
Date Added: Saturday 22 October 2011
Sincere but simplistic. He seems like a very nice fellow ..a bit like Mr.Rogers...all lovely but it made it hard for me to take it on the deepest levels. There is no doubt he is very learned and competent.
Rating:
 
By Ann D
Date Added: Wednesday 9 April 2014
As a counselor, I feel uncomfortable with some of the guided sessions with no one to talk with afterwards.
Rating:
 
By Anna
Date Added: Sunday 13 November 2011
Hate to be negative, really wanted to like this, but I found this cd, in fact, to increase my depression significantly rather than relieve it. For one thing, he counsels the listener to rely upon mainstays many of us do not have. "Be happy for your family, your children, &c"? Well what if you don't have that? "Be happy for your health?" Well, what if you don't have that? Another listener stated it correctly: these views are simplistic in the extreme. There are many assumptions about what constitutes happiness in these tapes that, well, are offensive, about externals, and of no use to us who are in fact in quite depressed and in unhappy circumstances, as well. I found myself, listening to this, being forced to enumerate all the things I DID not have on his supposedly cheery list. Quite the opposite of the intended effect: wow, my life is worse than I thought. Left me more depressed than I was to begin with. Makes me depressed even now, thinking about it. Beware.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others