About the Author

Lewis Mehl-Madrona

Lewis Mehl-Madrona, MD, PhD is certified in family practice, geriatrics, and psychiatry, and has worked for years in rural emergency medicine. He is a core faculty in the clinical psychology program at Union Institute & University. Dr. Mehl-Madrona is author of...

Customer Reviews for The Spirit of Healing

By MK
Date Added: Friday 20 December 2013
Wonderful course! He was very engaging and the information and stories kept me actively listening. I am actually excited to listen to it all over again!
Rating:
 
By Kent M
Date Added: Tuesday 9 April 2013
Wonderful material. The stories alone are incredibly healing. My spouse has a chronic health condition and I gained much hope from Dr. Mehl-Madrona's integrative approach. We had long been looking for an approach that combines Native healing practices with Western medicine. Since the author was raised in Native culture and has deeply absorbed the practices and is also an M.D., he is able to bridge the gap that so many of us encounter between conventional medicine and holistic ways. I was raised in South Dakota and have experienced the power of the ceremonies that "Dr. Lewis" describes. I just didn't see how it was possible to integrate that experience with conventional medicine. Now I'm beginning to glimpse a path. The author uses a tremendously effective combination of telling healing success stories, sharing meditative practices/visualizations, and explaining Native world views. In the end, it is Dr. Mehl-Madrona's consummate internal integration of healing worlds that makes this audio set so powerful. Highly recommended!
Rating:
 
By patsy chador
Date Added: Friday 3 February 2012
really amazing i am still enjoying listening for the 6th time
Rating:
 
By Jan Kristiansson
Date Added: Sunday 22 January 2012
This teaching is deep and true, perhaps the most heart-changing purchase I've made from Sounds True in all these years.
Rating:
 
By Tracey Gamboni
Date Added: Wednesday 14 December 2011
This product is truely lovely because Lewis teachers by explaining healing in story form AND the sceince (psychological) effect of the healing. Just beautiful.
Rating:
 
By Tracey Gamboni
Date Added: Wednesday 14 December 2011
This product is truely lovely because Lewis teachers by explaining healing in story form AND the sceince (psychological) effect of the healing. Just beautiful.
Rating:
 
By florence gray
Date Added: Saturday 21 May 2011

Hi
Want to thank you for the podcasts-
So interesting
Mr Mehl-Madrona's cd set is wonderful and I have been thinking about his message everyday.  I work in one of the "helping professions" and his CDs have helped me to expand the range of service I have been offering.  The piece about stories has been most helpful because in my personal and professional life I've been running some stories that aren't really creating the life I deserve.
I am enjoying them and look forward to the Tuesday podcasts.
Thanks to Tami and your work
Florence

NOTE: Florence's note references Lewis Mehl-Madrona's podcast, which can be found here

Rating:
 
By Paula Costella
Date Added: Wednesday 27 April 2011
Lewis is a captivating storyteller who can easily explain Native American teachings and how they intersect with conventional medicine in a manner that is soothing and instructive to healers and patients alike.
Rating:
 
By Brudge Hopkins
Date Added: Thursday 14 April 2011
Very enjoyable.
Rating:
 
By Robert Vetter
Date Added: Monday 2 May 2011
Excellent. Provides a solid understanding of the underpinnings of the subject in cultural context, along with practical means of experiencing what the teachings are all about.
Rating:
 
By Paula H
Date Added: Monday 1 April 2013
Very informative and entertaining. Enjoyed most of the content very much and really made me want to learn more about Native american healing.
Rating:
 
By Bill T
Date Added: Thursday 28 March 2013
This audiobook is filled with long magical and pre-rational mythical stories as well as some of Lewis' personal stories. The information was somewhat interesting at times but in the end I could have done without it and not missed anything.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others