About the Author

Jack Kornfield

Jack Kornfield, PhD, trained as a Buddhist monk in Thailand, Burma, and India and has taught worldwide since 1974. He is one of the key teachers to introduce Buddhist mindfulness...

Customer Reviews for A Lamp in the Darkness

By Patti B
Date Added: Monday 17 March 2014

The written material and the audio are exceptionally well written and recorded. I feel met and I am able to make connections in myself that are liberating, empowering, and expressive of wholeness; a true lamp in the darkness.
Rating:
 
By Julia D
Date Added: Monday 13 January 2014
this is the second copy I purchase. this one was a gift as I so enjoyed mine
Rating:
 
By ROSALIE F
Date Added: Friday 24 August 2012
Jack Kornfield has delivered another beautiful & practical book.I haven't had time to finish or work with the CD yet but will.This is a very needed work and contains great tools and wisdom within one small book & CD. //...P.S. Sounds True's service and response here was excellent! Thank you very much...Rob
Rating:
 
By Nancy J Farrell
Date Added: Tuesday 3 July 2012
Great for gifts and good introduction to Kornfield for the uninitiated.
Rating:
 
By Nimal Sedera
Date Added: Sunday 20 May 2012
Deep material discussed in effective simple language.
As a practicing Buddhist I value this book so much. Everything here is practical and explained in detail
Rating:
 
By Fran McDonald
Date Added: Sunday 11 March 2012
I love this amazing mans wee book plus cd of guided meditations. He teaches with simplicity and with art. Surprised it took 3 weeks to arrive. I think regular post would have been fastr & cheaper.
Rating:
 
By Linda Stobin
Date Added: Wednesday 4 January 2012
I finally received the book. I must have waited three weeks, but it did come in the mail and I'm so happy! Thank you. The book is great.
Rating:
 
By Elisabeth Torra
Date Added: Wednesday 14 December 2011
As good as ever.
Rating:
 
By Toni Rey
Date Added: Thursday 10 November 2011
Excellent book and CD. Bought two for gifts soon after I read it.
Rating:
 
By Robyn Treen
Date Added: Saturday 5 November 2011
This book will be a constant companion for me. It has helped through a very difficult time of my life.
I appreciate the simplistic way that Jack kornfield writes and I feel the compassion through his books. I have also read a path with heart and I would fully reccommend this also. Thankyou.
Rating:
 
By Christopher Clark
Date Added: Tuesday 18 October 2011
I happened to receive this book a couple of days prior to being hospitalized for PTSD and Depression. This book could not have come at a better time. As I took it to the hospital with me it provided hope, wisdom and a sense of comfort that I really needed during this most difficult time in my life. I have several other books by Jack Kornfild and though, they are all good, this one boiled several issues down to where it made for a fast and infomrative read. Love the CD also.
I shared the book with several people in the hospital and it was so well liked that I almost did not get it back prior to leaving. Everybody wanted to keep it.
Rating:
 
By Bhante Sila - Chicago
Date Added: Saturday 1 October 2011
I read the book twice and it is an excellent Dhamma work. Very helpfult o rejuvenate the deppressed, stressed and the anxious people. Friendly and wise and worthy gift to everybody you love.
Rating:
 
By Katherine Andersen
Date Added: Saturday 24 September 2011
This is a wonderfully insightful book. I loved it.
Rating:
 
By Irene Conlan
Date Added: Sunday 4 September 2011
With this book and the meditations Jack Kornfield has, indeed illuminated the tortuous path through the hard times that are impacting people across the planet.
Each chapter is a rich balm for the wounds inflicted by the declining economy, the political turmoil, the stressful lifestyles and all the other influences that create fear, negativity and imbalance in our lives. He has kept the chapters short but powerful in content so that, no matter how busy you are, there is time to read a chapter. Each sentence serves a purpose and offers its own rich nugget of wisdom. The meditations are like power vacations – brief but filled with nourishment for the soul. With his keen insight and understanding of the human condition, Kornfield has given us a perfect tool to restore us to emotional and spiritual equilibrium in these challenging times.
The book is small, easy to read and packed with gems of wisdom – it is “super food for the soul.” The CD is masterfully executed and can reach anyone regardless of age or condition. As I was doing the first meditation, my seven year old grandson came in, sat down beside me and joined in. When we finished he was beaming and wants to do it again. How great is that?
I would recommend this book to anyone who, regardless of their belief system, is looking for help dealing with these difficult times.
Rating:
 
By Jill Ebsworth
Date Added: Wednesday 26 February 2014
As is usual with his teaching, what Jack Kornfield presents in this book is wisdom, tempered with humour and great compassion--in practical, do-able meditations. A wonderful aid to growth in cultivating compassion. However, I bought the book in Kindle format (from Sounds True), which is very badly done--unedited errors, the occasional intrusion of words in italics that do not belong to the passage being read, and everything is run-on with no spaces except at chapter ends. Thus I highly recommend the book, but definitely not in kindle format--very disappointing.
Rating:
 
By Barbara Barron
Date Added: Saturday 7 July 2012
At first I was upset that I could not put it on my kindle. However, with help from customer service I was able to put it on my iphone.
I was delighted that I was able to listen to meditations in this enhanced ebook.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others