About the Author

Rick Hanson

Rick Hanson, Ph.D., is a neuropsychologist, Senior Fellow of the Greater Good Science Center at UC Berkeley, and New York Times best-selling author. His books include Hardwiring Happiness: The New Brain Science of Contentment, Calm, and Confidence (in 14 languages),...

Customer Reviews for The Enlightened Brain Online Course

By Sheila S
Date Added: Sunday 1 December 2013
I love Rick Hanson's wisdom and how he melds Buddhism with the science of the brain. I learned a lot from this course and plan to go through it again with my husband.
Rating:
 
By margareta h
Date Added: Tuesday 23 April 2013
Geat!
Rating:
 
By Maggie M
Date Added: Sunday 14 April 2013
I've taken several mindfulness classes. But this class with Rick Hanson has been the absolute best. Have never taken one where I've learned so much academically, personally, and practically for my use as a clinician. He does a very thorough job of explaining the neural effects of mindfulness in very helpful and interesting detail. But then the experiential portion is extremely well done, creative and useful. Great class!
Rating:
 
By -Sounds True Team.
Date Added: Tuesday 19 June 2012
The Sounds True team would like to thank all of our loyal users, but particularly Michael G and George M for helping to point out the necessary improvements for this course. We have made great efforts to improve the quality of user experience for this online course. Please note that all of the issues mentioned in previous reviews have been carefully corrected and resolved. So please enjoy this fascinating online offering and additionally keep your eyes and ears out for more online offerings from Rick Hanson to come soon! Thank you friends...
Rating:
 
By Nicole Williams
Date Added: Monday 7 November 2011
Very Interesting and very helpful...full of content that was insightful and very relevant to what I have been studying. It was a big boost to my meditation practice. A lot of beneficial content that provided a lot of grounded knowledge...very highly recommended.
Rating:
 
By Philip Kenney
Date Added: Saturday 24 September 2011
Extremely clear presentation. Very useful to my clinical practice and my own unenlightened brain.
Rating:
 
By Laura Castor
Date Added: Wednesday 21 September 2011
Many thanks to Rick Hanson for his generous work to introduce so many practical and varied tools for working on ourselves. I looked forward to each of the sessions, and have appreciated being able to return to them for more practice. I also like the way that the course is divided into small bite-size pieces. It makes it easy to navigate, and easy to take small steps toward building long-term more consistently positive states of mind. Finally, thanks to Dr. Hanson for his sense of humor!
Rating:
 
By Charles Alexander
Date Added: Wednesday 21 September 2011
The interface of Science and the Eastern traditions is of particular intrest to me. I believe it is the future. I plan to help this evolution along and am collecting information to do so. Great course, well presented. Thanks Rick!
Rating:
 
By Pat Heisterkamp
Date Added: Tuesday 20 September 2011
I have really enjoyed the course so far and have found it very helpful, however, when trying to watch the tape of the Live Session on Sept 8th, the tape stops about 13 minutes in and I am not able to see the rest of the session. I attempted to contact SoundsTrue, but have yet to get a response on how this can be corrected
Rating:
 
By Suzanne Thorniley
Date Added: Tuesday 20 September 2011
I have been so pleased with the ease and flow of this course. Sounds True and Rick Hansen have created a course that is well organized, easily accessed, and is rich with information and practice opportunities. I found video, audio and written portions provide a range of opportunity to absorb the material. Thank you for your commitment to providing a quality learning opportunity.
Rating:
 
By George Main
Date Added: Friday 16 September 2011
All good except some tracks I can't download. No apparent way to get technical help on this. Can you advise why several tracks are not available for downloading? Or let me know who to contact for technical support.
Rating:
 
By Julie Farmer
Date Added: Saturday 10 September 2011
How the brain functions during meditative states is a fascinating subject. Rick Hansen's knowledge, personal experience and insight comprise a fresh, exciting take on the neuroscience of meditation. His gentle, well-chosen words in the guided practices have enriched my own practice. Highly recommended.
Rating:
 
By michael griffin
Date Added: Tuesday 23 August 2011
Good explaination of neuroplasticity and its implication for meditation and daily life. Unfortunately this online course is not up to the usual Sounds True qualtity standards production wise. Missing course material and the author's references to diagrams not shown in the videos mare what would other wise be highly recommended - The author's book Buddha's Brain is far more informative and helpful.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others