About the Author

John O'Donohue

John O'Donohue (1956-2008)

In early January 2008, the Sounds True family was deeply saddened by the loss of the Irish poet-philosopher John O'Donohue. John was a one-of-a-kind force of nature: a genius with words, a brilliant thinker, and a...

Customer Reviews for A Celtic Pilgrimage with John O'Donohue

By Maureen O
Date Added: Monday 7 July 2014
This is absolutely beautiful. I use it for personal and group prayer and discussion.
Rating:
 
By Terry S.
Date Added: Sunday 6 April 2014
This video with John O'Donahue is excellent.
Not only can one view the beautiful landscape of west Ireland, but one is given the wonderful opportunity to see and hear John tell of the spiritual grounding that this part of the universe gives, the history of the people who have lived and continue to live here, and how we can tune into nature and connect with the Divine. I have shared this with many and all agree it is "a must" to watch.
Rating:
 
By Barbara B
Date Added: Saturday 7 December 2013
I borrowed this to watch a few time and finally had to buy it. If you love O'Donohue, you will love this DVD--a treasure to have since he passed on.
Rating:
 
By Colleen B
Date Added: Wednesday 13 November 2013
This amazing man touches the deepest part of our true nature in the most real and natural way.
Rating:
 
By Tanda A
Date Added: Monday 30 September 2013
I love all of John O'Donohue's work, and the Celtic Pilgrimage was like being on a pilgrimage with John himself. Very much enjoyed! Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Susan Davis
Date Added: Friday 19 July 2013
Just feeling him by looking into his eyes in the DVD was such a pleasure as was hearing his words and his manner of speaking. What a treat for me and so many others I'm certain. Thank you for introducing so many wonderful Celtic stories through the eyes of the ones who have carried them on through time.
Rating:
 
By Margaret K
Date Added: Wednesday 10 July 2013
Amazing, fantastic, grounding and so filled with love and gratitude! So O'Donahue! Love it.
Rating:
 
By Melissa S
Date Added: Friday 5 July 2013
I love everything about this DVD!
Rating:
 
By Ev B
Date Added: Monday 1 July 2013
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

This DVD is inspiring. It is both a visual feast and a wonderful journey with the most beautiful and wise , John O'Donohue.
Rating:
 
By Susan B
Date Added: Monday 1 July 2013
Saw this film on PBS. Glad to have my own copy.
Rating:
 
By Gregory P
Date Added: Saturday 29 June 2013
Delightful! and..... most gorgeous images of the landscapes of Ireland.
Rating:
 
By Kathryn D
Date Added: Saturday 20 April 2013
excellent..
Rating:
 
By Regine W
Date Added: Sunday 31 March 2013
Thank you. It was just wonderful.
Rating:
 
By George Reading
Date Added: Friday 1 February 2013
John O'Donohue is in my opinion a visionary whose poetry captures the mystery and miracle of life for anyone who can still see the wonder of it all.
Rating:
 
By Kay C
Date Added: Thursday 31 January 2013
I sent it as a gift to my sister. I have read John O'Donohue's Anam Cara and I really find he gets to the heart of life and makes everything speak and act of God's enduring presence.
Rating:
 
By Elaine Hanson-Hysell
Date Added: Thursday 17 January 2013
This is very well done, beautiful and moving. It is such a shame that O'Donohue is no longer with us. He was a genuine inspiration for this troubled world.
Rating:
 
By Mary B
Date Added: Wednesday 12 December 2012
THis is a beautiful DVD .It presents a a very comforting philosophy presented with some wonderful pictures. I have given it as a gift to several friends who I admire very much and was very proud to share it with. John 0'Donohue is a very moving poet and asks you to think about some very important elements of our life and how it can be lived more fruitfully and far less fearfully.

Rating:
 
By Mary Price
Date Added: Tuesday 31 July 2012
I love John's writings so when I spotted this DVD, it was something I had to see. It's lovely seeing him on his own beautiful turf and hearing his wonderful voice. Plus, it was a sneak prevue to our Ireland trip.
Rating:
 
By Marguerite Aberle
Date Added: Tuesday 20 March 2012
Beautiful, uplifting.
Rating:
 
By Marguerite Campbell
Date Added: Monday 16 January 2012
Beautiful picture of the landscape that enriches O'Donahue's wisdom and
poetry
Rating:
 
By Susan Oliver
Date Added: Sunday 1 January 2012
Response time great and the material, obviously, of high quality.
Rating:
 
By Patricia McCormick
Date Added: Tuesday 27 December 2011
Wonderful,delightful Celtic Journey filled with poetry, sacred places, beautiful reflections and the joy of John O'Donohue.
Rating:
 
By ALICE FRIEND
Date Added: Tuesday 29 November 2011
THIS IS SO BEAUTIFUL, SENSITIVE, INSPIRING AND HEART WARMING. I LOVE IT AND RECOMMEND IT 100%.
Rating:
 
By carol teahen
Date Added: Monday 28 November 2011
I had seen this video on PBS so I knew I would love it. I also saw John at a Concern event with Dennis Garvey. I will order books later on God bless you all Carol Teahen
Rating:
 
By Andrew Greenland
Date Added: Saturday 26 November 2011
Excellent short film.
Rating:
 
By margaret harvey
Date Added: Thursday 17 November 2011
Inspiring. A real gift thank you.
Rating:
 
By Marion Foot
Date Added: Thursday 3 November 2011
It was absolutely wonderful.
Rating:
 
By Betty Prisendorf
Date Added: Sunday 23 October 2011
I have been a John O' Donohue fan for many years---read his books and listen to his tapes often---so was thrilled by "A Celtic Pilgrimage!" What gifts this man gave to me cannot be expressed in words. God bless his memory.
Rating:
 
By MaryJane OKeefe
Date Added: Saturday 3 September 2011
Beautiful journey into the Irish soul, via the Irish countryside as seen through the eyes of one of its most soulful poets. This DVD does not disappoint.
Rating:
 
By PATRICIA GRONICK
Date Added: Saturday 3 September 2011
Beautiful, I still grieve his passing and the loss of him in the world.

Patt G,
Rating:
 
By Jenny Pearson Rycroft
Date Added: Saturday 27 August 2011
wonderful!
Rating:
 
By JOANNA O'BRIEN
Date Added: Saturday 11 June 2011
I enjoyed this so much. To see John in his own beautiful landscape and hear his inspiring and challenging words was a wonderful experience. I want to share this DVD with the people who matter in my life.
Rating:
 
By Patricia Shields-Maher
Date Added: Thursday 12 May 2011
a wonderful journey into the soul of Ireland
Rating:
 
By judy lynch
Date Added: Friday 6 May 2011
Excellent! Eager to share the poetic spirit of O'Donoghue's beautiful Ireland.
Rating:
 
By William Troy
Date Added: Tuesday 26 April 2011
A Celtic Pilgrimage is Ireland at its best. John O'Donohue's spirituality is such that we lesser mortals can understand it and reach deep within ourselves to experience life as we seldom see it. It is truly food for thought and the sites in Ireland that he visits enhance his musings. I watched this just before a trip to the West of Ireland. I spoke to people who knew him and who attended his funeral and memorial service. I visited his grave and reflected on the much too early loss of this brilliant man. Thank heaven that this was recorded. It is a treasure.
Rating:
 
By Carol Watson
Date Added: Friday 22 April 2011
Just like we saw on PBS on St. Patty's Day and that's why I bought it. 5 Stars!
Rating:
 
By Krystal Dyan
Date Added: Thursday 21 April 2011
John O'Donohue has such a lovely and beautiful spirit. His gentle sensitivity and appreciative nature of all of lifes' creations and passages is soul touching and comforting.
I deeply enjoyed this video, with all its' magnificent landscapes, and touching words of insightful wisdom, laced with the depth of a bountiful heart.
Such richness! I say an appreciative thank you.

Rating:
 
By Rita King
Date Added: Monday 4 April 2011
I appreciated receiving this DVD for its beautiful quality. With much gratitude!
Rating:
 
By Sherrill Miller
Date Added: Wednesday 23 March 2011
Absolutely fabulous. Everyone I have shared this with is totally entranced by this wonderful man. He is deeply missed.
Rating:
 
By Marilyn
Date Added: Saturday 12 March 2011
I just happened upon A Celtic Pilgrimage with John O'Donohue, and was so impressed with the program and the man, I began searching for it on line, I was so very sorry to see he had passed to the other side so soon.
Rating:
 
By james m SCANLON
Date Added: Tuesday 22 February 2011
A journey of beauty and peace awaits you in the time you'll spend with John in this "Pilgrimage..."
A meditation to play many time.
Rating:
 
By Dianna
Date Added: Wednesday 9 June 2010
John spoke of the Irish landscape in a way that I had imagined it. He just put what I felt into words. I hope someday to experience the spirituality of Ireland myself. The Celtic Pilgrimage was fantastic!
Rating:
 
By Erin Scott
Date Added: Sunday 6 June 2010
I did not know the work and words of John O'Donahue until seeing this film via PBS on June 2, 2010.

It is exquisite, on multiple levels.

The tone, the pace, the words, the silence, and the imagery flow in a meditation which resonates deliciously. A Celtic Pilgrimage is food for the soul.
Rating:
 
By Kendahsi
Date Added: Tuesday 6 April 2010
I saw this program last evening on a PBS station.
It was stunning.
The beauty of Ireland, could not have found a better spokesperson to sing her praises than this deeply aware and articulate poet. I had heard people that knew him speak of him, but I did not know him, or his work.
Today, I understand what I felt when they spoke of the loss his death was to them, to Ireland, and to the family of those of us that live filled by the awe of Nature's beauty.
I highly recommend purchasing this DVD as soon as it is available. I await it, already planning to sit with it, again and again and again.
Rating:
 
By Anne P
Date Added: Wednesday 26 March 2014
Enjoyed it immensely.
Rating:
 
By Nancy J Farrell
Date Added: Tuesday 3 July 2012
Lovely and profound with great photography as well.
Rating:
 
By Susan Grace
Date Added: Thursday 1 December 2011
Very beautiful and soul enriching
Rating:
 
By Sharon MILLER
Date Added: Saturday 3 September 2011
Beautiful
Rating:
 
By CATRIONA DEVLIN
Date Added: Wednesday 3 August 2011
This is a very useful resource which can be used personally and with groups for reflective and retreat purposes.
The photography is very beautiful and extremely evocative.
Rating:
 
By Denise H Kopp
Date Added: Friday 2 September 2011
I enjoyed the scenery and his discussions.
Rating:
 
By Vicki C
Date Added: Thursday 10 October 2013
In looking for the book on my library shelf and reviewing the file of my purchases, I have never received this book. I am contacting customer service.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others