About the Author

James S. Gordon

James S. Gordon, MD, a Harvard-educated psychiatrist, is a world-renowned expert in using mind-body medicine to heal depression, anxiety, and psychological trauma. He is the founder and director of The Center for Mind-Body Medicine (CMBM), a clinical professor...

Customer Reviews for Freedom from Depression

By Lamees M
Date Added: Saturday 7 June 2014
I am listening to the podcast with this doctor and what he is explaining all makes sense to me. I like his thinking about depression and his explanation. I have two sisters who went through mental issues and I believe that most of it, there are reasons for it but we easily resort for pills. He is not advocating that but rather looking in and doing the work...using the pills if need be but not depending on them. I agree totally with the way he thinks!!

Good for you Dr. Gordon!!
Rating:
 
By Joanne S
Date Added: Monday 4 February 2013
This is a wonderful toolbox for learning and growth. Thank you so much!
Rating:
 
By Katherine Lehre
Date Added: Wednesday 20 June 2012
This is one of the best programs you have ever published. As an RN in California, I wish it were on your CE-credits list. It would certainly fit the bill. He is brilliant and effective. I would recommend it highly to anyone.
Rating:
 
By Gertrude Aksu
Date Added: Friday 6 April 2012
The guidance given here is grounded in Wisdom. Dr. Gordon is setting before us a balanced approach to living a rich and authentic life. I've never been diagnosed with depression, but I'm following this program to regain balance and find my peace.
Rating:
 
By Debra Butler
Date Added: Tuesday 3 April 2012
helpful and hopeful
Rating:
 
By Margaret Meyer
Date Added: Sunday 22 July 2012
I have only listened to the first cd but I found it very good thank you
Rating:
 
By meredith mcarthur
Date Added: Friday 20 July 2012
an exceptional listen by someone who is expert at what he is speaking about. My only criticism, is that I wish that woman would not keep talking at every interval, saying 'this is a sounds true' production etc etc. I am sick of her interjections, and dont need to be told all the time that I am listening to sounds true.
Rating:
 
By Gary M
Date Added: Thursday 29 August 2013
In my previous review I mentioned I would rate this course with a half star, but I stated this after giving my other suggestions. As a result, it appears that am giving my suggestions a half star. I was not referring to my other suggestions which I would rate both of these with 5 stars.
Rating:
 
By Gary
Date Added: Thursday 29 August 2013
I just ordered this product a few days ago and must say that I was very unimpressed by the content. If you are looking for a very basic overview of some of the recent treatments for depression I would recommend it; however, if you are looking for a more in-depth analysis and helpful information/techniques on how to deal with depression I would not recommend this course (and you, like me, may be very disappointed). I found the overall approach to lack depth in each area covered and also found that the material was too simplistic and I wanted him to delve deeper into each area. At times I felt as if I was in a kindergarten class and this may be due to the simplicity and his style, dumbed-down content and his style of wanting to be your friend. I have dealt with depression for many years due to extensive physical and psychological abuse as an infant/child and as a result have done extensive research to help me discover a way to deal with this illness other than SSRI medications. If you are searching for other materials I would definitely recommend The Mindful Way Through Depression and also the Guided Mindfulness Series 1 by Jon Kabat-Zinn. I would rate it a half star.

I ordered this download and after listening to it was extremely unimpressed with the overall content and delivery style and Sounds True was so very kind in giving me a full refund.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others