About the Author

James S. Gordon

James S. Gordon, MD, a Harvard-educated psychiatrist, is a world-renowned expert in using mind-body medicine to heal depression, anxiety, and psychological trauma. He is the founder and director of The Center for Mind-Body Medicine (CMBM), a clinical professor...

Customer Reviews for Freedom from Depression

By Joanne S
Date Added: Monday 4 February 2013
This is a wonderful toolbox for learning and growth. Thank you so much!
Rating:
 
By Katherine Lehre
Date Added: Wednesday 20 June 2012
This is one of the best programs you have ever published. As an RN in California, I wish it were on your CE-credits list. It would certainly fit the bill. He is brilliant and effective. I would recommend it highly to anyone.
Rating:
 
By Gertrude Aksu
Date Added: Friday 6 April 2012
The guidance given here is grounded in Wisdom. Dr. Gordon is setting before us a balanced approach to living a rich and authentic life. I've never been diagnosed with depression, but I'm following this program to regain balance and find my peace.
Rating:
 
By Debra Butler
Date Added: Tuesday 3 April 2012
helpful and hopeful
Rating:
 
By Margaret Meyer
Date Added: Sunday 22 July 2012
I have only listened to the first cd but I found it very good thank you
Rating:
 
By meredith mcarthur
Date Added: Friday 20 July 2012
an exceptional listen by someone who is expert at what he is speaking about. My only criticism, is that I wish that woman would not keep talking at every interval, saying 'this is a sounds true' production etc etc. I am sick of her interjections, and dont need to be told all the time that I am listening to sounds true.
Rating:
 
By Gary M
Date Added: Thursday 29 August 2013
In my previous review I mentioned I would rate this course with a half star, but I stated this after giving my other suggestions. As a result, it appears that am giving my suggestions a half star. I was not referring to my other suggestions which I would rate both of these with 5 stars.
Rating:
 
By Gary
Date Added: Thursday 29 August 2013
I just ordered this product a few days ago and must say that I was very unimpressed by the content. If you are looking for a very basic overview of some of the recent treatments for depression I would recommend it; however, if you are looking for a more in-depth analysis and helpful information/techniques on how to deal with depression I would not recommend this course (and you, like me, may be very disappointed). I found the overall approach to lack depth in each area covered and also found that the material was too simplistic and I wanted him to delve deeper into each area. At times I felt as if I was in a kindergarten class and this may be due to the simplicity and his style, dumbed-down content and his style of wanting to be your friend. I have dealt with depression for many years due to extensive physical and psychological abuse as an infant/child and as a result have done extensive research to help me discover a way to deal with this illness other than SSRI medications. If you are searching for other materials I would definitely recommend The Mindful Way Through Depression and also the Guided Mindfulness Series 1 by Jon Kabat-Zinn. I would rate it a half star.

I ordered this download and after listening to it was extremely unimpressed with the overall content and delivery style and Sounds True was so very kind in giving me a full refund.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others