About the Author

Kelly McGonigal

Kelly McGonigal, PhD, is a health psychologist and award-winning lecturer at Stanford University. A leading expert on the mind-body relationship, her work integrates the latest findings...

Customer Reviews for The Neuroscience of Change

By Kathleen S
Date Added: Sunday 14 September 2014
Very thoughtful weaving of science and wisdom traditions. Clearly presented and most helpful.Well worth the investment.
Rating:
 
By Eric Hansen
Date Added: Wednesday 7 May 2014
I have listened up through program three.

What I really like is the blend of science with the wisdom traditions. I find that inspires to stick with it.
Rating:
 
By Vinny
Date Added: Friday 28 March 2014
This is by far the best course you can buy. Kelly McGonigal beautifully combines the eastern teachings with learnings from western science and delivers something that has immense value. I find myself listening to it over and over again and practicing the techniques. Don't think twice, just get this program :)
Rating:
 
By homa askari
Date Added: Tuesday 18 February 2014
great. knowing kelly and reading and following her wonderful, practical books, articles and programs is one of the best thing happend to me. Rick you are amazing as well. I am grateful.
Rating:
 
By Paul G
Date Added: Thursday 13 February 2014
Kelly McGonigal's work is wonderful.
Can't say the same for Sounds True anymore.
I do think I've been a reasonable customer over the last twenty or so years, but I've spammed the 'news' e's and really have no further interest after a bit of technical difficulty with NO responses from 'support'.
Bummer.
Rating:
 
By Joseph G
Date Added: Tuesday 1 October 2013
I was pleasantly surprise at Kelly's well thought out approach on how to make meaningful and lasting changes to one's outlook on life. The meditation practices are ones that I can do daily.
Rating:
 
By Steve B
Date Added: Saturday 28 September 2013
This is an excellent program. Thank you for making available. It underscores the key role that mindfulness can play in our lives. Kelly does a good job of keeping it interesting and meaningful: not something easily done on an on-line course. I also cannot say enough kind words about Sounds True. You are my connection, my source for meaningful learning material in the world of mindfulness meets neuroscience. Thank you and Thanks Kelly
Rating:
 
By gilad s
Date Added: Tuesday 18 June 2013
In this course, Kelly McGonigal, explains very
clearly the brain mechanisms of suffering, and negative habits.
She goes through some important highlights which I found helpful, to change and address negative habits and internal experience.
It helped me listening, also to some of her talks in youtube to get some, before I took this course.
The approach here is different then the stiff and rigid approach I am used to use for change, and I find very helpful for dealing with my own issues.
Rating:
 
By Lia A
Date Added: Thursday 9 May 2013
This audio book is great. The combination of research, reflection, and concrete meditative exercises is very effective. But the audiobook needs a more detailed textual accompaniment than the short outline it comes with. The listener has no way to get back to any particular material or instructions.
I highly recommend this product.
Rating:
 
By Morwenna K
Date Added: Saturday 19 January 2013
Kelly is amazing - this program changed my life for the better. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By MelissaT
Date Added: Monday 29 October 2012
Using your work to support my action research involving math education reform. Action research question: Students FEEL bad at math if and only if they are provided with bad mathematics learning environments and experiences. Is the converse true? If students are provided with positive mathematics learning experiences to FEEL successful in mathematics, will they perform successfully in mathematics? Do feelings matter in mathematics? Should mathematics be fun?
Rating:
 
By Cathy T
Date Added: Monday 22 October 2012
This is excellent! I would highly recommend this program. The guided meditations are great, and I have been revisiting them frequently.
Rating:
 
By Richard K
Date Added: Tuesday 16 October 2012
The sessions were very insightful and helpful to me. I've swung between depression and anxiety, and Kelly's observations about each state helped me see how they are playing me against myself. I've made definite progress in isolating my default state and moving into a more present state with compassion for myself.
Rating:
 
By Lauren
Date Added: Thursday 6 September 2012
Excellent. I highly recommend this audiobook.
Rating:
 
By Elizabeth A
Date Added: Friday 31 August 2012
This is an incredibly helpful and insightful program. I have practiced the meditations several times already and find them to be really valuable! The info on neuroscience is really useful as well.
Rating:
 
By Heather D
Date Added: Monday 27 August 2012
I found this lecture series excellent and full of useful information and practical techniques. I found the grounding of Ms. McGonigal experiences and recommendations in solid scientific replicated and credible facts very helpful. Not at all a, as my children would call it, a woo woo hippie trippie book, but extremely valuable reasoning for anyone interested in mindfulness and it's affects on the human body and spirit.
Rating:
 
By Andrija Dzonic
Date Added: Tuesday 26 June 2012
Kelly is a great teacher, perfect combination of scientific mind and compassionate heart. It’s very likely you will “click” with her and remember to actually apply what you learned in your everyday life.
Rating:
 
By Anthony Billings
Date Added: Friday 15 June 2012
This program explains some new findings in neuroscience about how to change and how the brain can prevent change. She discusses which parts of the brain create habit and how the brain keeps us locked in those habits. Kelly has a nice clear voice. The default resting state of the brain is NOT where you want to be!
Rating:
 
By Barbara Brown
Date Added: Wednesday 13 June 2012
Kelly's voice is very clear and concise. The information is very thorough. I still have a couple more CD's to listen to from this set but I am enjoying the presentation and information.
Rating:
 
By Carolyn Ruthenberg
Date Added: Thursday 31 May 2012
Fascinating program. I’ve studied the teachings of Buddhism for years and have found in my life following the teachings lead to positive change. They are mostly common sense. This program adds explanation and clarity to why. The experiments make it real, instead of just theory.
Using the information in this program in combination with a mindfulness awareness practice (recommend any of the writings by Thich Nhat Hanh) can change your life.
Rating:
 
By Ann Fuller
Date Added: Tuesday 29 May 2012
Wonderful program. I'm about mid way into my Health Psychology program at the doctoral level and bout this to help me integrate it with my nursing and complementary practices. Thanks what a great speaker Kelly is and as always you all rock! Thank you all for the work you do. I spend Friday evenings with you all doing things like the program that Kelly and Tami did recently. Thanks again. Blessings,
Ann
Rating:
 
By John Jenkins
Date Added: Monday 28 May 2012
Very valuable information that is extremely well presented. I whole heartily recommend it.
Rating:
 
By norah parissi
Date Added: Monday 28 May 2012
As usual, you guys rock. I am very greatful for your existence and try to collaborate with it as much as I can. Thank you, Tami.
Rating:
 
By george a jenkins
Date Added: Saturday 26 May 2012
The author is wise beyond her yeas.she has mastered the connection between Science and Being.I would recomend this program to anyone that wants get into the NOW of comprehending how science is finally going to help explain what has in the past been treated as a knowing of only the mystical.
Rating:
 
By Janice Evans
Date Added: Saturday 26 May 2012
Wonderful ! Thank you
Rating:
 
By Uri G
Date Added: Thursday 13 March 2014
I have listened to Dr. McGonigal's program several times, reflected on the content, and did the meditations. I highly recommend the program for anyone who wishes to pursue and achieve a goal and/or become a better version of themselves.
Uri
Rating:
 
By Donald F.
Date Added: Thursday 17 January 2013
Very good. Only qualm I have is that it took a long time to get through the whole thing. Highly interesting material.
Rating:
 
By gus castellanos
Date Added: Sunday 27 May 2012
Great Neuroscience discussions and introspections. She is articulate and well researched.
Rating:
 
By Alette W
Date Added: Sunday 19 August 2012
This is a great introduction to meditation, mindfulness and compassion. However, the exercises are quite basic and the neuroscience isn't as detailed as I would have liked.
Rating:
 
By Barbara P
Date Added: Saturday 5 October 2013
I HAVEN'T RECEIVED THEM.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others