About the Author

David Whyte

David Whyte grew up among the hills and valleys of Yorkshire, England. A captivating speaker with a compelling blend of poetry and insightful commentary, David Whyte is one of the few...

Customer Reviews for When the Heart Breaks

By SANDRA S
Date Added: Friday 17 October 2014
A poetic exploration of human experience in the 21st century; if you enjoy David's style of writing, speaking, you will not be disappointed
Rating:
 
By Susan T
Date Added: Saturday 11 October 2014
I find so much comfort and inspiration in this CD. It is deeply poetic, profoundly insightful, and something I turn to again and again.
Rating:
 
By Martha B
Date Added: Wednesday 8 October 2014
I loved this CD. Wish I had known where the recording was made. I loved the poetry, story telling and laughter. David is one of favorite writers and I always enjoy when I can attend one of his seminars.
Rating:
 
By Jeanne R
Date Added: Wednesday 8 October 2014
David Whyte is full of wisdom. Hearing his voice and his words always gives me a little more insight into my own life.
Rating:
 
By priya
Date Added: Thursday 28 August 2014
i kept waiting for the heavy broken hearted part, but david danced around it in a light-hearted way that never felt like it actually came. i laughed out loud at several of his jokes + found the whole experience delightful.
Rating:
 
By Shelagh C
Date Added: Saturday 3 May 2014
Being introduced to David Whyte's poetry and wisdom has started me on a whole new adventure in my life! I just love this recording, "When the Heart Breaks", and hope to hear many more!
Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Brigette C
Date Added: Saturday 19 April 2014
I love the CD I purchased with David Whyte. I've listened to it several times now.
Rating:
 
By Lisa Steingold
Date Added: Saturday 15 March 2014
Truly incredible! Soul moving and life changing! I strongly recommend to everyone!
Rating:
 
By Norma Hirsch
Date Added: Tuesday 7 January 2014
The poem requested is One Day by David Whyte
One Day

One day I will say
the gift I once had has been taken.

The place I have made for myself
belongs to another.
The words I have sung
are being sung by the ones
I would want.


Then I will be ready
for that voice
and the still silence in which it arrives.

And if my faith is good
then we’ll meet again
on the road,
and we’ll be thirsty,
and stop
and laugh
and drink together again
from the deep well of things as they are.
Rating:
 
By Jane
Date Added: Wednesday 27 November 2013
Great service. And, David Whyte, always welcomed in print, sound and person.
Rating:
 
By Elizabeth
Date Added: Friday 25 October 2013
I heard this amazing one on the radio locally. I am yearning to get a copy of the poem at the end...which I do not think was his, but I don't recall him saying who it was. Does anyone know? It begins, "One Day I will say/the gift I have..."

I thought it was "Things As They Are" but cannot locate such a poem. Appreciate your help! Heart-breaking-open poem...
Rating:
 
By Susan Davis
Date Added: Friday 19 July 2013
Wonderful, beyond wonderful. I am sharing David Whyte with my friends.
Rating:
 
By Heather Sterling
Date Added: Friday 7 June 2013
What a delight! I have listened to this twice in a row. As one who has drank of the beautiful writings and listened to the audios of John O'Donohue, this audio brings it all to life from another point of view, fas if in stereo. I can't really properly portray what this meant to me... but I am enriched for hearing.
Rating:
 
By Thomas Logan Malone
Date Added: Tuesday 7 May 2013
I attended a 3 day health care session in Coronado CA with David in July nineties. He shared his poetry from "The Quartet" and related his beautiful stories, readiong the poetry, encouraging our discussion of professional issues. He also drew from "The Heart Aroused" in defining the true "beast" of our work life. A marvelous experience!
Rating:
 
By anne c
Date Added: Tuesday 22 January 2013
this was my first introduction to david whyte - wow. i am so pleased i stumbled upon this!
there is a beauty in his perspective that makes me think of ralph waldo emerson. whyte's poetry is lovely. he makes you feel like you are hanging out in the living room having a beverage and the best conversation ever.
Rating:
 
By Heidi B
Date Added: Sunday 20 January 2013
To my joy I've recently discovered the work of David Whyte. He so beautifully paints with words compelling and engaging landscapes for exploring meaning in our lives and taking a second look at what's really important. Heartbreak in life is inevitable - fully living requires an openness to loss. David shepherds us through those times of loss and invites us to become more whole as a result of them.
Rating:
 
By alan s
Date Added: Thursday 18 October 2012
David Whyte's definition of "love" is..."forgive, forgive and forgive....."
Rating:
 
By Rachelle B
Date Added: Wednesday 15 August 2012
I have been reading, listening to David Whyte's poetry for years. And I have attended a magical program of he gaveth th through the University that offers a spiritual approach, in Santa Monica. An I would love to attend more of his events.

Amything by David Whyte inspires me to ectasy and opens inights within me for my own writing and my self. I am so glad you offer them Thank you.Rachelle Benveiste
Rating:
 
By Jennifer Manlowe, Your Writing Mentor
Date Added: Sunday 22 July 2012
As Whyte says it best, “All of our great contemplative traditions advocate the necessity for silence in an individual life: first, for gaining a sense of discernment amid the noise and haste, second, as a basic building block of individual happiness, and third, to let this other all-seeing identity come to life and find its voice inside us."
To read his work is wonderful, to hear him tell his stories is divine. The next best thing is to hear him over and over on CD until the most poignant poetry is inscribed into our bodies for sustenance. Thank You David Whyte for bringing us to our natural awe.
Rating:
 
By Anita A
Date Added: Wednesday 1 October 2014
A great author and great insights in a clear voice
Rating:
 
By Mary Ruth K
Date Added: Thursday 8 May 2014
Wonderful Poet and Visionary. Thank you for providing this opportunity to hear his work and wisdom. Easy access to digital media. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Colleen G
Date Added: Tuesday 10 September 2013
David Whyte is one of my favorites. Philosopher-poet... he takes poetry to another level. Thank you Sounds True for making his works available
Rating:
 
By private
Date Added: Thursday 10 January 2013
While this is an interesting CD, the title is grossly misleading. There is very minimal discussion of the broken heart -- it comes and goes on 2nd track -- and the other topics do not circle around that theme either. Interesting, yes, but I feel like the fish who swallows the tempting morsel dangling from a hook. Three stars only because I love poetry and almost any discussion that includes it.
Rating:
 
By Kevin F
Date Added: Sunday 7 April 2013
I very much appreciate many of David Whyte's recordings (as well as his poetry and other writings). I have to be honest: I did not enjoy this latest release by David Whyte. For one thing, the title seems misleading--David does not seem to spend much time at all on required or unrequited love. The little bit he does talk about it is insightful, but he does not go into depth about the topic.

Second, I could not discern what exactly this CD was about. There did not seem to be a theme that organized his thoughts. Most of the CD seems to be him telling stories and sharing insights from his life -- many of which I had heard in other recordings.

Overall, I was very disappointed in this CD. In contrast, his "What to Remember When Waking" is chock full of thought-provoking, compelling, heart-quickening insights.
Rating:
 
By Marilyn M
Date Added: Wednesday 30 January 2013
Misleading title "When the Heart Breaks". David does not address this topic specifically. I adore his poetry but if looking for meat on this topic, you will not find it in this set. Poetry is lovely and touches on the topic, but that's about it.
Rating:
 
By Lorraine K
Date Added: Wednesday 23 January 2013
Very a bright, charming man. Some excellent observations and lovely poetry but not my cup of tea. Was disappointed .
Rating:
 
By A. Nicole Ivey
Date Added: Wednesday 28 November 2012
I've only listened to the first two CDs in this offering and haven't had it contemplate issues that the title would lead me to think would be addressed - Heart Break.
Rating:
 
By John
Date Added: Thursday 11 October 2012
While I didn't mind listening to this whole thing, it never got to the part about "when the heart breaks." It either never addressed the topic, or did so in such a roundabout way that I didn't recognize it.
Rating:
 
By bill danaher
Date Added: Sunday 12 October 2014
Regrettably,Sounds True mistakenly shipped me the CD, Your Heart's Prayer by Oriah Mountain Dreamer rather than the David Whyte CD I ordered. Am unable to reach your support@soundstrue dept as am unable to use the App it insists I use to access them.
Please advise/ help me rectify this matter.
With Thx, Bill Danaher
Rating:
 
By bill danaher
Date Added: Sunday 12 October 2014
Regrettably,Sounds True mistakenly shipped me the CD, Your Heart's Prayer by Oriah Mountain Dreamer rather than the David Whyte CD I ordered. Am unable to reach your support@soundstrue dept as am unable to use the App it insists I use to access them.
Please advise/ help me rectify this matter.
With Thx, Bill Danaher
Rating:
 
By The description is merely poetic..
Date Added: Tuesday 23 October 2012
Be warned... There is nothing about breakups in here other than the description. Very disappointing.
Rating:
 
By Linda deJardin
Date Added: Thursday 4 October 2012
I was very disappointed in this CD. The content did not match the title and left me feeling a bit confused. The title would suggest the content might help someone with a broken heart. I can assure you that is not what this CD is about. It is more a platform for Mr. White to expound on himself and his poetry. Did not enjoy this CD at all.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others