About the Author

Tom Colletti

Tom Colletti is a multi-faceted music producer, percussionist and the founder of Fire Productionz, LLC in New York City. He earned a degree in the field of Audio Engineering from the Institute of Audio Research (IAR) in New York City, and has placed numerous...

Customer Reviews for Yoga Is Union

By Mari
Date Added: Monday 24 February 2014
Love the Yoga is Union CD by Tom Colletti. I would also love to get the Yoga is Love CD the next time.
Rating:
 
By Chuck Landes
Date Added: Thursday 7 November 2013
Very good for putting me in a happy mood. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Acht
Date Added: Tuesday 6 August 2013
Amazing good yoga cd
Rating:
 
By Daily Om
Date Added: Saturday 25 May 2013
Not quite trance music, ambient soundscapes, nor a survey or collage of ethnic musics married to electronica or found sounds, this album by audio engineer, producer, and percussionist Tom Colletti is more of a subtle, unobtrusive soundtrack to your meditative practice. It is synthesized sounds with hints of melody and even some tastefully placed birdsong, but it’s not the kind of album that leads you by the hand and takes you on a curated journey through dramatic lands of sound. Instead it will quietly adjust your mood and offer you colors and textures to shape as you please.

“Yama,” the opening track, sustains a shimmering hum from which the sounds of flute or strings occasionally rise. “Niyama” offers a trace of a melody that could well have evolved from the sounds of rising bubbles, driven by light percussion, predominately cymbals and chimes. On “Asana” a flute voice sings the melody and some downright funky percussion layered underneath creates a groove. A more mystical creation, “Pranayama” plays with sounds of respiration over a centering hum, which kicks out at intervals to avoid becoming too pervasive or oppressive. Rhythmic hand drums lead the way on “Pratyahara,” and “Bodhi” lays the groundwork for playful flute harmonies and runs of synthesized harp.

A bolt of electric current is added to the mix in “Abhyasa,” over which deep chime tones resound and sitarlike strings twang. Below this, reedy, clapping percussion produces a jaunty rhythm that lasts all the way through to “Dharana,” a track on which bouncing organ vamps interplay with the sounds of light chanting. Things go misty again on “Dhyana.” The percussion is cut back to gentle maracas and castanets. Piano dances over an angelic hum that carries over to the next track, “Samadi,” a respiratory ebb and flow of human voices over which marimba and guitar sounds dance lightly. “Mouna” begins a breezy cool down, which ends in “Savasana” in a windy whisper.
Rating:
 
By An Angel's Kiss Review
Date Added: Tuesday 2 April 2013
I really enjoy this listening to this album and find it great for relaxation and to put on when having company over. I have noticed that it calms the children down too ...

http://angelskiss777.blogspot.com/2013/02/review-yoga-is-union-music-for-yoga-and.html
Rating:
 
By The RajMan Review
Date Added: Wednesday 16 January 2013
In keeping with the title of his latest album, Tom Colletti showcases several tracks that promote union with yoga practice.

Colletti uses his keyboards and synthesizers to generate ethereal, atmospheric textures consisting of entrancing bass lines and hypnotic percussion that help attune body, mind, and soul in preparation for and during yoga exercises.

Even if you're not into yoga, the music is perfect for calmness and relaxation and is a great soundtrack for commuting or traveling.
Rating:
 
By Todd A. Mayfield
Date Added: Sunday 16 December 2012
This is hands-down the best music for an uplifting yoga session. I heard Pranayama on a digital cable music station over the Thanksgiving holiday and searched on Pandora to no avail. Low and behold Amazon came through for me. Now I have to have the whole album!
Rating:
 
By Ann Landes
Date Added: Sunday 25 November 2012
Sensational and ever-giving music. I feel so renewed and present after listening. Wonderful!
Rating:
 
By Betsy Muick
Date Added: Friday 9 November 2012
Absolutely perfect for my yoga practice. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Erin G
Date Added: Sunday 9 June 2013
This CD had good reviews and I like what I heard from the samples, so I purchased it for relaxation. Big mistake. Even though the description says it is good for relaxation, I must disagree. Every single song features loud, prominent percussion at the forefront. How the heck am I supposed to relax to that? It's stimulating, if anything, and for me, irritating. Even my husband, who usually enjoys whatever relaxation music I happen to be playing, got annoyed with it right away and asked me to turn it off. Maybe it's good for a power or hatha yoga class, in other words something fast-paced, but even then that's if you like percussion-heavy music. Not for me!!
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others