About the Author

Brené Brown

Brené Brown, PhD, LMSW is a research professor at the University of Houston’s Graduate College of Social Work who has spent the past 10 years studying vulnerability, courage, authenticity, and shame. She is a nationally renowned speaker and has won numerous teaching awards,...

Customer Reviews for Men, Women, and Worthiness

By Dennis OConnor
Date Added: Friday 25 April 2014
Although I've seen Brene Brown's interviews with Oprah Winfrey, this CD set provided a more detailed discussion of Brene's ideas, especially about the ways that achieving worthiness differs between men and women. Very instructive and engaging.
Rating:
 
By Dr Need A Nap
Date Added: Thursday 24 April 2014
I found this CD to be very wonderfully informative, accessible, and useful - both personally and professionally. While listening to the CD, I found myself thinking of many patients who I thought would benefit from having new ways to think and talk about the influences of gender on feelings of shame, humiliation, embarrassment, etc. Several patients have already responded to my recommendation and I have received great feedback from them as well. I highly recommend this work by Brene` Brown!
Rating:
 
By Diane S
Date Added: Tuesday 22 April 2014
Very interesting, but most importantly, so very helpful. Thank you Brené.
Rating:
 
By Kathy B
Date Added: Monday 21 April 2014
Brene Brown is so easy to listen to, so easy to understand. She takes difficult subjects and breaks them down in a way that makes them accessible.
Rating:
 
By Lynne J
Date Added: Saturday 19 April 2014
Loved it. Very helpful for me, my family and my friends.
Rating:
 
By Helen J
Date Added: Tuesday 15 April 2014
My husband and I have listened to this recording twice already! Brené is so articulate in talking about shame,guilt and more. I am so grateful that she shares her own struggles around vulnerability and "being enough".
Speaking out about shame is very freeing when shared with your " move a body friend". Get the CD and you'll find out what is meant by this!
Rating:
 
By P. Cruickshank-Schott
Date Added: Sunday 13 April 2014
I love very word that comes out fo Brene's mouth… this tape is clear and concise and even though I've read her books and listened to her TEDTalks, I definitely learned things by listening to this presentation… I definitely plan to listen to it again.
Rating:
 
By Kaye W
Date Added: Sunday 13 April 2014
No technical problems with this purchase, and very pleased with the thought provoking content, I will definitely listen to this more than once to digest more of the material. Very happy!
Rating:
 
By carl g
Date Added: Wednesday 9 April 2014
The material here has had me back on my heels saying "ooooh, now I get it" a dozen times. I come from a family which kept a lot of old world ideas about shame and shunning, and these talks suggest a lot of work to be done to change old mindsets.
Thanks, Brené!
Rating:
 
By jennifer o
Date Added: Wednesday 9 April 2014
I listen a bunch of times. I was hit with some profound truths about my expectations of men and feel so glad to have this revealed. It also open up some discussion with my children .
Thank you Brene
Rating:
 
By Frances H
Date Added: Monday 24 February 2014
As always Brene delivers top quality content. This is something I would recommend every couple sit down and listen to and, every parent. Not only does it deepen our understanding of our own journey, but also that of our partners and kids. There is an opportunity for connection at a deeper level. Thank you Ms. Brown for such a great piece of work.
Rating:
 
By William Dancer
Date Added: Saturday 15 February 2014
This CD provides new information, at least to me" about how shame the common triggers in men and reviews early work by Brene' Brown's work from her extensive intervies about shame in women.
Rating:
 
By barbara d
Date Added: Saturday 1 February 2014
So far, everything I have listened to/read by Brene Brown has been excellent, this one included. As the mother of three sons, I found it very enlightening to know the gender-based behaviours about shame.
Rating:
 
By Judith S
Date Added: Saturday 1 February 2014
very good
Rating:
 
By Carmi B
Date Added: Thursday 23 January 2014
My husband and I listened to this while going on vacation and it was so enlightening. I want to hear more on this topic because it is very important to help with my relationship with my husband.
Rating:
 
By Sharon J
Date Added: Tuesday 7 January 2014
LOVE IT! I've heard Brené in other venues and appreciated her down-to-earth manner and approach to hard topics like shame, guilt, feeling like a fraud, and the battle with perfectionism. These are all part of being human, but we're afraid to admit them. It's refreshing to hear someone of her caliber admit her own "gremlins" (her term) freely so those of us who have tried to camouflage our not-so-admirable feelings and behaviors can understand their universality and thus, admit them and begin work to use them as stepping stones to self-acceptance and compassion for others. Plus, she's plain hilarious.
Rating:
 
By MJK
Date Added: Friday 27 December 2013
Brene is amazing - this audiobook is awesome.
Rating:
 
By Carroll S
Date Added: Friday 20 December 2013
What an eye opener! I bought this CD for a family member struggling with relationships, but decided to preview it first. Am I glad I did! I wasn't aware that I've been holding back in relationships for fear of exposing my vulnerable, imperfect self. I'm astonished how by just opening up, my already good relationships with family, friends and colleagues have catapulted to a whole new level of intimacy and connection. Thank you, Brene! I'll buy additional copies to share, but am keeping this CD for myself.
Rating:
 
By Kari K
Date Added: Saturday 30 November 2013
This is a wonderful piece of work by Brene. I had never heard her breakdown of how shame is different for men and women, so it was especially enlightening for that.
Rating:
 
By Sara H
Date Added: Saturday 9 November 2013
I have listened to this several and continue to hear things I missed the time before. It is so powerful and I plan to encourage my friends and family to get copies.
Rating:
 
By Richard F
Date Added: Saturday 14 September 2013
Very good program. After I finished the program I shared it with my two daughters.
Rating:
 
By Courtney B
Date Added: Thursday 8 August 2013
Amazing insight from Brene Brown
Rating:
 
By Sandra S
Date Added: Tuesday 30 July 2013
This is an excellent CD of Brene's methods. I would recommend it to anyone, period.
Rating:
 
By Joanna M
Date Added: Sunday 14 July 2013
Awesome and enlightening! I like that the recordings are Brene Brown herself.... it just gives it a more personal touch and her voice inflection and explanations are very clear and easy to understand. Her work is amazing!
Rating:
 
By Abby
Date Added: Monday 3 June 2013
Outstanding, deeply honest, highly practical, well worth the time and money for women and men alike. 5 stars for Brene Brown and Sounds True on this production. Thank you!!!
Rating:
 
By James E A
Date Added: Tuesday 28 May 2013
Great presentation - stuff I needed to know - will listen again and again
Rating:
 
By David T
Date Added: Wednesday 15 May 2013
A friend shared this with my wife. She shared it with me. It has profoundly changed our relationships with ourselves and each other, and as parents we are grateful to have this awareness so that we can better raise our son to feel good about himself.

Brene explains and teaches about shame, guilt and worthiness in way that is easy to hear, easy to understand, and with a perfect touch of her own humanity that releases the inner tension of such a tough topic. In this case, to understand is enough to allow ourselves to change, to begin the journey of removing the veils of shame so that we can more fully realize and live the full potential of the beauty that lies with us all.

Thanks Brene
Rating:
 
By Carol R
Date Added: Monday 1 April 2013
This CD set definitely exceeded my expectations. Although I purchased it fir myself, but my male friend surprised me and listened to it also.
Quite a worth purcase!
Rating:
 
By Amy Decker LCSW
Date Added: Thursday 28 March 2013
Candid, honest, & from a deep place of compassion and truth. As a therapist in private practice, I have dealt with individuals struggling with the devastating consequences of Shame for over 20 years. Dr. Brene Brown's work is spot on for helping to provide a process to shine the light on a great source of darkness. I highly recommend this CD to my clients.
Rating:
 
By Susan H
Date Added: Saturday 19 January 2013
Powerful insights - very useful with internal work toward healing and wholeness.
Rating:
 
By Dene B
Date Added: Sunday 31 August 2014
Thank you- this was very helpful and I enjoyed it. Brene' is easy to understand, clear in her communications and interesting to read.
Rating:
 
By Phyllis K
Date Added: Monday 2 December 2013
I ordered 3 sets....actually need to return one because it was totally blank (?) Other than that, I was totally satisfied!
Rating:
 
By Charles H. L
Date Added: Saturday 29 June 2013
Brene's work give this one mind 'stuff' to chew on. I appreciate having such insightful materials to stimulate my own inquiries and to utilize as reference later..
Rating:
 
By Nina B
Date Added: Saturday 13 April 2013
Excellent. Loved hearing her voice, always makes a huge difference. Only other thing I enjoy even more is when she is interacting with a group or at a conference.
Rating:
 
By Judith S
Date Added: Wednesday 20 March 2013
helpful
Rating:
 
By Judith B
Date Added: Saturday 23 March 2013
I found this CD a bit too removed from the body and more in the realm of ideas only.
Rating:
 
By Karen
Date Added: Wednesday 16 April 2014
Brene Brown is such a compelling and clear speaker. I've loved her TED talk and her other works. This recording disappoints. The shame and unworthiness Brown is talking about here seems "lite" compared to the soul-killing kind I was hoping she'd address. I bought this CD on sale for $5 and feel like I paid $3 too much.
Rating:
 
By Susan Patrice
Date Added: Tuesday 31 December 2013
Beware of the shame bomb.

I love Brene Brown. But I feel the need to share this warning. If you, like me, are troubled by shame and it centers around feelings of a false sense of responsibility for the men in your life and their emotional well being and happiness, I recommend waiting to listen to this recording until you have gone deeper into your own healing.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others