About the Author

Brené Brown

Brené Brown, PhD, LMSW is a research professor at the University of Houston’s Graduate College of Social Work who has spent the past 10 years studying vulnerability, courage, authenticity, and shame. She is a nationally renowned speaker and has won numerous teaching awards,...

Customer Reviews for The Power of Vulnerability

By fran b
Date Added: Thursday 2 October 2014
Very appreciative of all of Brene's work. I have listened repetitively to her descriptions of shame resilience and the guideposts of the wholehearted. So helpful.
Rating:
 
By Marlene C
Date Added: Friday 26 September 2014
This is brilliant, life changing information, taught in an incredible way that anyone can receive. The quality of the recording is excellent!
Rating:
 
By Benjamin E
Date Added: Sunday 14 September 2014
Brown's CD set on the Power of Vulnerability is uncomfortable, sometimes funny, sometimes annoying because it means I have a lot of work to do, and absolutely spot on. I've learned a lot about myself listening to these CDs. Highly recommended.
Rating:
 
By joelle
Date Added: Sunday 24 August 2014
Educational, entertaining, insightful, real. It's Brene Brown !! Listen….
Rating:
 
By Madeleine G
Date Added: Wednesday 20 August 2014
Brene Brown's presentation on this CD set is outstanding. She makes me laugh & cry, she touches me deeply with her understanding & compassion, born so obviously of her own experiences. Her research is cutting edge. I just keep playing it over and over because there's so much to learn & to know. It's making a very real difference to my life. Wish I'd known it 40yrs ago, but then, it's never too late. Thankyou so much Brene. No-one better to bring this information into the global consciousness than you!
Rating:
 
By Isabelle
Date Added: Wednesday 6 August 2014
This compliments mindfulness teachings in an awesome way. She really gets stuck into the gritty content of our lives, and has her own unique spin on things. While listening to it you will laugh and cry. This has been really helpful for me.
Rating:
 
By PC L
Date Added: Saturday 21 June 2014
This is an excellent and insightful program. Brene Brown's authenticity as a person, her passion for her subject, and dedication to her craft, come through loud and clear. Highly recommended.
Rating:
 
By annette b
Date Added: Friday 13 June 2014
Excellent!!! I am so happy that I was told about this great CD set. It has and is changing my life.
Rating:
 
By Rick F
Date Added: Wednesday 4 June 2014
This is an amazing recording I am already listening to it for a second time, and taking notes. It is clear and well produced. Content is of extraordinarily high quality. Brene Brown is so clear and strong in her messages. Her personal stories so clearly highlight what she is teaching.
Rating:
 
By Judith B
Date Added: Friday 16 May 2014
I have been listening to Sounds True tapes and CDs for many years, beginning with Carolyn Myss's "Energy Anatomy". The quality and scope of the material available on recordings is wonderful.
I first discovered Brene Brown when she narrated the little animated short on the difference between Empathy and Sympathy. I have listened to her Ted talks and to Power of Vulnerability three times and cannot thank her enough for this material. Three days ago I had one of the most shaming experiences of my life and Brene Brown and three of my friends, worthy of hearing my story, got me out of it. I was able to keep my perspective even from the bottom of the hole in the sidewalk and respond as an adult without running away, people pleasing or fighting shame with shame. Thank you Brene Brown, and Sounds True, for making her available to me, so that I could hear the message enough times to pull it in and use it.
Rating:
 
By Fred P
Date Added: Wednesday 23 April 2014
This is a fine self help tool which presents Dr. Browns "guide posts" from the book .... "The gift of Imperfections"... I use it personally while driving and I have recommended it to countless patients. This material is relevant, entertaining... and I believe that Dr. Brown's work will be fresh and meaningful for many decades.... I can hardly wait for what her next 20 years of work will bring to all of us in the mental heath field.
Rating:
 
By Hochima T
Date Added: Friday 21 March 2014
I am listening to it, up to disk 4 and Love It. Fantastic views in it, I knowI will use for myself and with clients.

Well worth getting!
Rating:
 
By Dr. Jeanne C. Folks
Date Added: Sunday 9 March 2014
Absolutely the best, comprehensive discussion of vulnerability and courage by anyone, anywhere. A "must listen" again and again. Thanks Brene!
Rating:
 
By Teresa E
Date Added: Sunday 9 February 2014
This CD set was /is so helpful and the information is new to me. I am grateful that I acted on my guidance and have listened to it a couple of times and expect to play it many many more. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Maggie M
Date Added: Sunday 2 February 2014
The Power of Vulnerability by Brené Brown was such a find! I enjoy her sense of humour with a background of sincere study, whether about herself or others, she is very open in her professional approach to the subject. It is often that the 'being professional' makes it hard to be involved with the speaker as the subject can be removed from the heart at a distance from the real feeling. Brené has helped so much to touch those areas of really seeing and feeling that I am not alone, I have a real connection out there with so many others who experience vulnerability at a deep level. Thank you for keeping us well informed and up to date Sounds True!
Rating:
 
By Brigid W
Date Added: Saturday 1 February 2014
Interesting stuff.
Rating:
 
By Paul B
Date Added: Thursday 30 January 2014
I didn't quite know what to expect when I ordered this series, but I found it to be a tremendous help since I just divorced and am entering into new relationships. Brene' is an excellent speaker injecting humor and personal anecdotes to hold her audience's attention. I've listened to them twice already and look forward to listening again.
Rating:
 
By Nancy H
Date Added: Wednesday 15 January 2014
Brene Brown is an exquisite presenter, thoughtful, powerful, humorous, and spot on with the latest research in her field.
Rating:
 
By Nancy H
Date Added: Sunday 12 January 2014
This is an amazing program. I laughed and cried and ultimately healed some of my issues.
Rating:
 
By Barbara JDaley
Date Added: Thursday 26 December 2013
This download is the BEST Christmas gift I have received! The insights I have gained will keep on giving, to myself AND everyone I know. Humorous, approachable, learner-friendly AND research-based, for what more could I ask? Thank you, once again, Sounds True AND Dr Brene Brown, for helping us to step out of scarcity, and into the practice of living whole-heartedly!
Rating:
 
By Sheila B
Date Added: Friday 20 December 2013
I loved the class and so appreciate the storytelling style.
Rating:
 
By Carroll S
Date Added: Friday 20 December 2013
FABULOUS!! I can't get enough of Brene. I could listen to her all day. Her stories are so on point and relateable. I finished the program and am buying copies for my adult children. I will set the program aside, for now, but will come back to it again. I'm already looking forward to it.
Rating:
 
By Heather W
Date Added: Thursday 12 December 2013
Great prompt service and the quality and content are divine. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Connie P
Date Added: Monday 9 December 2013
Excellent!
Rating:
 
By Joan B
Date Added: Tuesday 15 October 2013
I love listening to Brene ( and reading her books) and the raw truth she reveals. She will make you laugh and make you cry. She has inspired me to commit to my path of authenticity. Thank you Brene!
Rating:
 
By Laura A P
Date Added: Tuesday 15 October 2013
worth it!
Rating:
 
By Christy W
Date Added: Wednesday 2 October 2013
Brene Brown is awesome. She goes right to the core of vulnearbility.
Rating:
 
By Maryanne R
Date Added: Wednesday 2 October 2013
Second best to being at a workshop with the delightful and inspiring Dr. Brene Brown.
Rating:
 
By michelle h
Date Added: Monday 30 September 2013
This is an awesome program. I had read two of her books and watched all of her TED talks so I was a little worried it would be material I had heard before. It exceeded my expectations! I encourage all seekers to buy this program. Full of practical wisdom, humor and strategies to incorporate into your life.
Rating:
 
By Angela B
Date Added: Friday 27 September 2013
Well done and thought provoking.
Rating:
 
By Richard F
Date Added: Saturday 14 September 2013
Very good program. After I finished it I shared it with my 2 daughters and they loved it too.
Rating:
 
By Charlene T
Date Added: Saturday 17 August 2013
I find Brene' Brown to be heartwarming and yet very profound in her approach. It takes a lot of courage to step into the conversation of shame and vulnerability in a way that is deeply healing. This program has the potential to change lives.
Rating:
 
By Christine Stephan, MA,OTR/L
Date Added: Sunday 4 August 2013
Great on line course. I have learned a lot, loved her sense of humor and her professional credentials. I have one more chapter to go but I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to incorporate her research into their daily lives.
Rating:
 
By Christine S
Date Added: Thursday 1 August 2013
I have two more modules to do but so far it is very insightful, funny and she provides powerful stories, research etc for getting her ideas across. I would highly recommend this audio CE series.
Rating:
 
By Sandra S
Date Added: Tuesday 30 July 2013
This is a longer version of Brene's methods, including pretty much all of her theories and practices. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who hasn't heard any of her CDs.
Rating:
 
By Joanna M
Date Added: Sunday 14 July 2013
Wow, wow, wow.... I have read a couple of her books and also listened to Men, Women, and Worthiness. This seems to tie everything together in a huge bow and it leaves no stones uncovered. Amazing work!!!!
Rating:
 
By Debi S
Date Added: Sunday 14 July 2013
Brene Brown's work is wonderful and so relevant to today's culture. This is a great set of talks with tons of information...one listen is not enough!
Rating:
 
By Ronald R
Date Added: Monday 8 July 2013
after 25 years of recovery, finally someone writes to the greatest demon of wellness. the information Dr. Brene presents has unlocked the final 'gremlin' of serenity and peace.
shame, and perfectionism destoyed my last relationship. the best relationship of my life, that came unravelled due to shame, and perfectionism.
the cds are fun, articulate, and on the money. i have ecommended to my best friends.
Thanks for the gift!
enjoy the day,
r2
Rating:
 
By Teri Neal C
Date Added: Sunday 7 July 2013
Amazing CD's! I listen to them in the car and sometimes at home. I love Brene' Brown and the way she uses humor to get some of the points across is an added benefit! If you are a fan of Dr. Brown's, this CD set is an absolute must have!
Rating:
 
By Dianne G
Date Added: Wednesday 5 June 2013
This is one of those authors that is also a great speaker. This C D set is infused with Brene's humor, logic and pure joy. She shares her own vulnerabilities and how she learned how to embrace them.
Rating:
 
By Corrine M
Date Added: Tuesday 4 June 2013
Very good and related to a lot of issues I've been dealing with in my life!
Rating:
 
By lia
Date Added: Friday 31 May 2013
Beyond awesome !
Rating:
 
By Kristin van Tilburg
Date Added: Sunday 26 May 2013
As a Feminine Power Coach it is my priviledge to support women to let go of false beliefs that serve as barriers to them actualizing their full potential. The Power of Vulnerability is a brilliant support for my work with women. Dr. Brown's personal examples show us poignantly how powerful it is to be real and authentic and to reframe all our notions about vulnerability being a weakness into seeing vulnerability as the source of the intimacy, connection and relatedness we all long for in the challenging environment we live in. Her clear explanations allow us to see how to live empowered lives. The 10 qualities to cultivate to live wholeheartedly are superior guideposts worthy of our full attention. I really loved this program and use it constantly as I work to empower women to actualize their full potential.
Rating:
 
By karen o
Date Added: Friday 24 May 2013
I love all the audiobooks with one exception- I am a huge fan of Brene Brown and was really disappointed that the material repeats itself on the other audiobooks, was hoping I'd hear something new on the one about men and women.
Rating:
 
By Katie Z
Date Added: Tuesday 7 May 2013
If you love Brene Brown then you'll love this audio recording. It's like her TED talk x 1,000. I keep trying to get my family and friends to listen to it as well, it's that live-changing. Thank you to Sounds True and Brene for creating this amazing road map for more meaningful relationships.
Rating:
 
By Beverly G
Date Added: Tuesday 16 April 2013
I loved these cds. I listen to a lot of Sounds True tapes- and thought this was top shelf! I listen on the way to and from work; found myself anxious to begin my commute and listen to Brene's honest and insightful teachings. When I finished the set I was torn between sharing with close friends- and listening again. I highly recommend The Power of Vulnerability for a warm and real way to improve our life- thanks Sounds True!
Rating:
 
By Jan T
Date Added: Sunday 14 April 2013
Excellent and life affirming...the best, most up to date research on topics we haven't had the consciousness to articulate until now. Brene is inspiring, heartwarming and encouraging to go to depths that ultimately result in freedom of the spirit!
Rating:
 
By Nina B
Date Added: Saturday 13 April 2013
I had been waiting to hear this, even though I've heard Brene many times! The audio sound quality was excellent, I always love hearing her when presenting to a group as it brings out her strong side. I hope you can get her to work with Sounds True to do her Daring Greatly book. There is an audio for it, but as it is not her voice, it lacks a certain something. Once you've heard the real thing, there's no going back!
Rating:
 
By Shirley V
Date Added: Friday 22 March 2013
This is a fantastic synthesis of Dr. Brene Brown's work. Inspiring, educational and entertaining. The whole world needs to hear her message regarding shame, vulnerability and what it takes to live authentically. So many ah-ha moments!
Rating:
 
By Liesa H
Date Added: Monday 18 March 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed Dr. Brown and her insight!
Rating:
 
By Lee D
Date Added: Thursday 14 March 2013
A great audio series of talks given before a live audience. Brene gives lots of useful information and her great humor makes it all the more enjoyable to go deeper into this important topic. Highly recommended.
Rating:
 
By kim c
Date Added: Friday 8 March 2013
awsome and riviting
Rating:
 
By Linda Hamilton
Date Added: Tuesday 12 February 2013
There are so many things I appreciate about Brene Brown's work... What I am most appreciating and grateful for today is how Brene blends so beautifully the spirit of play mixed with vulnerability. The two bodies of work I am most drawn to right now is on the importance of play in our lives and the equal importance of vulnerability...
Rating:
 
By Camille S
Date Added: Tuesday 12 February 2013
Brene's message speaks loudly to my inner most being. I have carried the message of the power of venerability to all who will listen. Thank you for bringing this important insight to us! Today, I am grateful for our ability to adapt, learn and heal.
Rating:
 
By Claire
Date Added: Tuesday 12 February 2013
Ever since my friend Annie shared Brene's first TED talk, I have worked everyday to change the decisions I make based on my reluctance to be vulnerable and courageous as my true self. I have shared her blogs, videos, and quotes to so many people who have very similar "aha moments" that my family and I had. I consider Mrs. Brown's work an investment in my mental future.
Rating:
 
By Angie A
Date Added: Thursday 7 February 2013
I have enjoyed listening to The Power of Vulnerability. Brené Brown presents this material with a wonderful sense of humour and sense of urgency at the same time. I have listened to this twice already and anticipate listening many more times. Its a wonderful way to start a global conversation. Excellent program I highly recommend it to anyone who has a desire to change their lives.
Rating:
 
By Tara Rodden Robinson
Date Added: Sunday 3 February 2013
I absolutely loved this course! Even though I've listened to practically every Brene' Brown audio I can get my hands on, I learned new things and gained new insight from this series. I was especially grateful to be able to earn continuing ed credit as well. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to deepen their understanding of vulnerability, authenticity, and being wholehearted.
Rating:
 
By steven w
Date Added: Thursday 31 January 2013
I love Brene Browns work and MP3"s .Thank U.
Rating:
 
By mark mercer
Date Added: Sunday 27 January 2013
This with Daring Greatly helps make sense of so much and inspires all of us to courageously step forward with real compassion

A joy to listen to and experience
Rating:
 
By Joanne S
Date Added: Friday 25 January 2013
Brene Brown is such a fresh new voice backed up by research and the daring to share parts of her own story. She is bringing the next wave of "shame psychoeducation" with important practices.
Rating:
 
By Susan H
Date Added: Saturday 19 January 2013
Highly informative with plenty of humor to lighten an otherwise difficult subject.
Rating:
 
By Cheryl
Date Added: Wednesday 16 January 2013
This is a fantastic CD series. It combines the ideas in all 3 of her books. She is such an entertaining speaker despite the seriousness of her topic. After listening to these CD's I purchased her new book and went back to revisit her first two books. She validated and normalized some of the core issues I have been dealing with. I would especially recommend this CD series to parents and teachers to reinforce for them what a powerful influence they are.
Rating:
 
By Walker
Date Added: Wednesday 26 December 2012
This is BRILLIANT because it rings true. I don't think there was one moment of listening to this where I didn't feel like saying: YES YES YES.
Rating:
 
By Brooke
Date Added: Monday 12 November 2012
There is so much packed into the 6 hours. I, too, was at the recording session and savored every minute. I'm so glad that I can now have the recordings to reference and remind myself. Honestly, this will be one of the best investments in yourself that you can make!
Rating:
 
By Dan C
Date Added: Sunday 21 October 2012
I was at the recording of this session. Brene is amazing so don't wait to listen to this fabulous presentation!
Rating:
 
By Lyn D
Date Added: Wednesday 4 June 2014
Refreshing, funny and contemplative. I have not yet listened to the entire program but it look forward to continuing with it.
Rating:
 
By Lamees M
Date Added: Tuesday 11 February 2014
I enjoyed it and got value out of this program. But it is not deep and as substantial as some of the other programs that I have heard at Sounds-true. The teachings on vulnerability are valuable and it connects us to each other's humanity. Plus, I value the fact that she deals with how we tend to cover up the vulnerability with our armor. The CD's are energetic and have humor and are fun to listen to. I personally think that people who have families and involvement with family life will even appreciate this more. I live alone, a simple life and am not engaged in life at the family level.
Rating:
 
By DOROTHY A. R
Date Added: Friday 27 September 2013
Brene does a humourous and professional discussion of many items surrounding our vulnerabilites. She stimulates thought and dicernment on the subjects she identifies and clarifies. Jolly good.
Rating:
 
By Amy V
Date Added: Wednesday 25 September 2013
.
Rating:
 
By Erin
Date Added: Thursday 19 September 2013
Loved it! I first heard of her from TED talks. She is very knowledgable and funny, she uses lots of great personal examples.
But the sound quality on the audio download was really bad. I was disappointed because Sounds True usually does a great job w that:(
If the sound quality was better I would have given it 10 stars!
Rating:
 
By Cynthia
Date Added: Sunday 11 August 2013
It was hard to hear "do you know what I mean" SO many times during the lectures. This CD set is really quite repetitive, many of the stories are identical in the men, women and worthiness set.
Rating:
 
By Elizabth Long
Date Added: Sunday 14 July 2013
I thought the content of this CD was excellent but I found Brene Brown's voice very harsh and unpleasant
to listen to which was unfortunate.
Rating:
 
By Matt
Date Added: Wednesday 13 March 2013
Hi Judy, We're really excited to offer a video course with Dr. Brown, which is now available! http://www.soundstrue.com/shop/The-Power-of-Vulnerability-Live-with-Brené-Brown/4223.pd
Rating:
 
By Judy
Date Added: Monday 4 February 2013
Good good stuff. A little disappointed that it wasn't a video as she is a great presenter and there were parts where you just know she was making gestures. The audience's reactions made me feel like I missed out.
Rating:
 
By Geral B
Date Added: Wednesday 23 January 2013
Entertaining. Fun stories. Substantive content was less than expected. Too much fluff for me.
Rating:
 
By Sounds True to Diane C
Date Added: Thursday 11 April 2013
Hi Diane,

Please contact customerservice@soundstrue.com with any questions; they would be happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Sounds True
Rating:
 
By Sounds True
Date Added: Thursday 15 May 2014
Jenny S - It is unfortunate that you were unable to get this product working with your iphone - while our help section is useful, if you still experience technical issues after troubleshooting yourself, please know that we have a very dedicated and helpful customer service staff that would love to help you get this problem fixed. You can contact our customer support either through email, support@soundstrue.zendesk.com, or by calling 1.800.333.9185
Rating:
 
By Jenny S
Date Added: Thursday 8 May 2014
I'm really disappointed as I am yet to listen to my purchase. I need to be a IT expert, or better than I am to work out how to access it. I read your help stuff. I have an iPhone. I did as suggested. I haven't been able to make it happen.

So, I don't think I'll be purchasing anything else again.

I'm sorry about whinging.
Rating:
 
By Sounds True
Date Added: Thursday 24 April 2014
Laura H,

Please contact customer service at 1.800.333.9185 or send an email to support@soundstrue.zendesk.com with any technical issues.

Rating:
 
By Laura H
Date Added: Tuesday 22 April 2014
I was unable to download and open up this order
Rating:
 
By Rhonda R
Date Added: Saturday 28 September 2013
I was informed that this book is on back order, I have been waiting for it, maybe someone forgot that I am still waiting for it. Maybe someone can check on it for me please?
Rating:
 
By Diane C
Date Added: Monday 8 April 2013
I was unable to download the materials. Please help.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others