About the Author

Neil Douglas-Klotz

Neil Douglas-Klotz, PhD, (Saadi Shakur Chishti) is a world-renowned scholar in religious studies, spirituality, and psychology. Living in Edinburgh, Scotland, he directs the Edinburgh Institute for Advanced Learning, and for...

Customer Reviews for Original Prayer

By Roland W
Date Added: Wednesday 8 October 2014
I think that anything that Neil Douglas-Klotz says or writes is worth attending to. This set was apparently made a few years ago earlier in his career and has more introductory remarks and explanations than do later works. Later works are more succinct. If you want to understand what the prayer that Jesus taught (aka The Lord's Prayer) is about and what it calls us to, this CD set is for you.
Rating:
 
By Monica
Date Added: Thursday 14 August 2014
This set of CDs with Neil Douglas-Klotz has changed my life! It has opened up the Lord's Prayer in ways that I could not even have imagined, and every word rings with truth. I have used years of my life studying the different Religions of the world, and even have a degree in the Science of Religion, but I could happily exchange all of that for what I have learned from Douglas-Klotz. I would have been better off putting my time and effort into just studying my Christian roots in Aramaic, and I dare say I would even have been a happier person if I had done that, since the Aramaic clarifies and expands so many of the things that in my mind have seemed limiting in our mainstream Christian traditions. I can highly recommend this set of CDs to anyone interested in what Jesus - Yeshua - actually said. It will expand your world and open wide the doors to a deeper spirituality and connection with the Divine, with Sacred Unity, with God.
Rating:
 
By Diane M
Date Added: Friday 11 April 2014
Love this 8 cd set. It brings to focus the true meanings of the words of Jesus. Neil Douglas Klotz makes it easy to learn and in body the seed sounds of the original words spoken by Jesus. This is a best buy.
Rating:
 
By Jasmine W
Date Added: Friday 27 December 2013
I just bought the CD set of this program because I have had and loved the cassette version for a long time. This program has just begun to answer my questions about what Jesus said before all the changes in all the translations from language to language and century to century. Aramaic, Jesus' native language, was a symbolic language, which means he never intended for his words to have one literal meaning. Neil Douglas-Klotz deliberately has several translations for the lines of the Lord's Prayer. This program continues to deepen my spiritual practice because each line of the prayer continues to grow. Douglas-Klotz has us chant the words of the prayer and by the time I was done with the tapes I could recite the prayer in Aramaic. Hearing or chanting the sacred sounds help us spiritually whether we know their meaning or not. Neil Douglas-Klotz makes studying the sacred texts a creative process and includes the feminine in the most sacred parts of Jesus' teachings. It is time for me to re-listen to this program.
Rating:
 
By Joan L
Date Added: Monday 1 April 2013
Outstanding! Neil Douglas-Klotz illuminates the true meaning in the Lord's Prayer with his eloquent explanations of Jesus' original sayings in his native Aramaic language, and provides the listener with a way to experience the deep mysticism the prayer contains through guided meditations and body prayers.
Rating:
 
By Angele
Date Added: Tuesday 13 December 2011
I have many CDs from Sounds true but my favorite is listening to the body prayers signing with Neale and coming to understand what was really said by Jesus not someone else translation from long ago.
Rating:
 
By Lawrence Greywolf
Date Added: Saturday 5 November 2011
Wonderful program.
Rating:
 
By Margaret Bryan
Date Added: Thursday 27 October 2011
Fantastic! I treasure this download. Good teaching with clear explanations and a great spiritual experience. Can nearly say the Our Father in Aramaic!
Rating:
 
By Cynthia Courtney
Date Added: Saturday 27 February 2010
I have this course and I love it. I used it to prepare for a trip to Israel. It was and is very meaningful to me.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others