About the Author

Robert Augustus Masters

Robert Augustus Masters, PhD, is an integral psychotherapist, relationship expert, and spiritual teacher whose work blends the psychological and physical with the spiritual, emphasizing embodiment, emotional literacy, and the development of relational maturity....

Customer Reviews for Knowing Your Shadow

By Laura J
Date Added: Wednesday 9 April 2014
Even better than expected. A complex concept made easily understandable as well as enjoyable.
Rating:
 
By Lorraine Daly
Date Added: Friday 4 April 2014
The service and product was great.I would recomend the CDs Knowing Your Shadow to anyone who wants to handle their shadows.
Rating:
 
By Jakob W
Date Added: Saturday 22 February 2014
This should be part of any high school program. To deal with our own emotions in an intimate way makes so much sense. This is a lot confusion out there about this, so much unnecessary pain and frustration.
Robert cleans up in this and makes it simple to navigate, take action and reclaim lost parts of our selves. Great work.
Jakob Wagner
Rating:
 
By David M
Date Added: Saturday 25 January 2014
This is by far the most useful practical program I've listen to here on Sounds True. It took me some time to go through it because it can be very emotionally demanding by places.

I highly recommend it to whoever feels disconnected from part of themselves.
Rating:
 
By Richard K
Date Added: Tuesday 17 December 2013
Expectation met.
Rating:
 
By ShadowKnower
Date Added: Thursday 12 December 2013
Very helpful
Rating:
 
By Frances O
Date Added: Wednesday 11 December 2013
Sorry I haven't had time as yet, to listen to this will be doing it in the New Year. i feel certain it will be wonderful, manny thanks, and holiday greeting, Fran
Rating:
 
By James Koewler, MFT, CAS
Date Added: Tuesday 1 October 2013
Please BEWARE: Do not play this audio if you are getting ready for any vacation as you run the risk of using your vacation for a recovery......from an Emotional Surgery.
Rating:
 
By Kathleen N
Date Added: Wednesday 24 July 2013
The is most helpful both personally and professionally. Thanks Soundstrue for making this available
Rating:
 
By Dr. Laura Calderon de la Barca
Date Added: Monday 20 May 2013
This is extremely useful and valuable material. I have used it myself and recommended it to my clients, and the results are truly amazing. I have seen people be able to first distinguish, and then own and take responsibility for ways of being and behaviours that were coming from fear, shame, abandonment, abuse, trauma, that in conjunction with the work we were doing, catapulted the effectiveness of the therapeutic work to a different level. The way the work is presented also has allowed people to use the cd set for working with different events where the same emotion or issue was present and get a lot out of it time and time again. Robert Masters' voice is appropriately stable and containing, so I found it easy to go to difficult places in my own work. The level of skill that he has in guiding one is fitting with his name: truly masterful. I highly recommend it if you are serious about dealing with your shadow.
Rating:
 
By Laura Loescher
Date Added: Monday 20 May 2013
This audio program is excellent -- I thought it was accessible for people new to deep inner work, but also very supportive for those of us who have been exploring our conditioning and shadow for a while. I've had the privilege of working in person with Robert Masters as a client and student, and I think this audio program offers a really good taste of what his work is all about. While it can be uncomfortable to face the parts of us that we most want to hide away, the rewards of doing so are huge -- more freedom, less self-judgment, healthier relationships, and more. Highly recommended!
Rating:
 
By Great resource for deep inner work
Date Added: Monday 20 May 2013
This audio program is excellent -- I thought it was accessible for people new to deep inner work, but also very supportive for those of us who have been exploring our conditioning and shadow for a while. I've had the privilege of working in person with Robert Masters as a client and student, and I think this audio program offers a really good taste of what his work is all about. While it can be uncomfortable to face the parts of us that we most want to hide away, the rewards of doing so are huge -- more freedom, less self-judgment, healthier relationships, and more. Highly recommended!
Rating:
 
By Louise R
Date Added: Sunday 7 April 2013
I liked it a lot.
Rating:
 
By Jose (Australia)
Date Added: Friday 29 March 2013
This set of CD's is a real gift to those of us who are serious about working on, understanding and accepting ourselves.
Robert Masters speaks with clarity and great depth about many emotional challenges that we ALL encounter: fear, anger, shame, guilt, obstacles to real intimacy, our inner critic, to name but a few.
The guided practices and meditations are also perfect tools to enhance emotional integration into who we truly are.
The last two CD's (bringing sex and spirituality out of the shadows) carry a very profound message for all of us.
I highly recommend these Cd's.
Rating:
 
By Ryan M
Date Added: Wednesday 27 March 2013
The best audio program I've listened to! The author skillfully guides you into thinking, then feeling and there are so many valuable exercises that keep it fun and interesting. It's like downloading an entire year of therapy -- therapy that actually works. The program is simple, no fancy words or technical jargon, yet it's comprehensive and encompasses a wide range of practical education, training, meditations, real-world examples and so much more. Recommended to all!
Rating:
 
By Chiyoung
Date Added: Saturday 23 March 2013
"Knowing Your Shadow" is an invaluable resource for anyone who is interested in living a more deeply embodied and grounded life. I found the guided practices and meditations incredibly helpful in identifying the ways in which my core wounds and conditioning have been playing out in my life while developing a deeper compassion for myself. I highly recommend this audio program.
Rating:
 
By Courtney
Date Added: Monday 18 March 2013
Knowing Your Shadow Audios is an amazing offering. I found each CD to be truly helpful, offering incredibly valuable insights into the nature of our shadow and emotions. The guided experiential exercises were profoundly useful in meeting my shadow in a healing way and experiencing deeper intimacy with all of who I am. I would recommend this CD set to anyone who is interested in living a life from a deeper ground of authenticity, intimacy and empowerment.
Rating:
 
By Robin
Date Added: Monday 18 March 2013
“Knowing Your Shadow” opened the door to a way of working with myself that has offered real rewards. The many exercises helped to ground the material in my own experience and led to numerous insights. I highly recommend to anyone looking for support in integrating the dark and the light, and to uncover what may be holding you back from a deeper, more embodied experience of life.

Rating:
 
By Asil
Date Added: Saturday 16 March 2013
I loved this audio program...lots of great insights and exercises. Working with my shadow has changed my relationship with myself. Thanks Robert Masters and sounds true for bringing this work into the world!
Rating:
 
By Kim W
Date Added: Friday 2 August 2013
I liked the program very much. However, the product itself was difficult to use. I wanted to listen to it on my ipad, but there are no chapter or section breaks. On my computer, under windows explorer, I could see section/chapter breaks, but I didn't want to take my lap top with me everywhere.
Rating:
 
By Thomas I
Date Added: Wednesday 29 May 2013
Succinct and direct in its goal of helping one face what is denied. That which is denied in oneself can gain power and manifest itself in unpredictable and troublesome ways. This is a means to face that and help turn its energies into a positive force!
Rating:
 
By Kathy H
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
The content is pretty good. The narrator races through some very probing and emotional exercises that do not give time for proper reflection. Also, his voice tone is not compatible with some of the content.
Rating:
 
By Kaye A
Date Added: Sunday 2 June 2013
I purchased this program because I heard Masters speak in the Sounds True "Self-Acceptance" series. I listened to this "Knowing Your Shadow" program and, unfortunately, I could not relate to most of the examples, I did not like his style of meditation, and he purposely brings up the uncomfortable for you to work on in the meditations but does not take care to bring you back to a positive state. Although I appreciate what I gained from the Self-Acceptance talk, in my opinion, this CD set has little to offer for the time (6 hours) and expense.
Rating:
 
By Andy T
Date Added: Saturday 18 May 2013
Meh. Fair. The narrator is boring- no prosity, flat monotonous voice that puts me to sleep. The set has some promise, but the delivery and flow of this set is below professional grade. Not too inspired.

Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others