About the Author

Kristin Neff

Kristin Neff, PhD, is an associate professor at the University of Texas, Austin, and is the author of Self-Compassion (Morrow, 2011). She has been practicing Buddhist meditation since 1997, and has co-created a program on Mindful Self-Compassion with her...

Customer Reviews for Self-Compassion Step by Step

By Terri Mudge
Date Added: Wednesday 9 July 2014
Great, very nurturing and healing words. This is a wonderful program.
Rating:
 
By Anthony B
Date Added: Monday 7 July 2014
Good program. The most convincing part is Kristin Neff's own story. She has a tragedy to deal with and needed (and still needs) an effective way to deal with it. Very helpful program.
Rating:
 
By Yvonne R
Date Added: Wednesday 25 June 2014
Deceptively simple and life affecting. Kristen's guided exercises are great! Lovely program.
Rating:
 
By Kate D
Date Added: Wednesday 25 June 2014
Very thorough grounding in self-compassion.Loved Kristin's insightful explanations, calm , soothing voice and her guided practices.
Rating:
 
By Anne P
Date Added: Friday 6 June 2014
So much good information.
Rating:
 
By Pat D
Date Added: Wednesday 14 May 2014
V. good. Good insights, and useful, enjoyable meditations.
Rating:
 
By Susan U
Date Added: Wednesday 30 April 2014
A great audio book, well presented, with seemingly simple exercises that really made it clear just how little compassion I give myself. I'd never treat others that way! Yet, what Dr. Neff says is so true - being compassionate with ourselves can open us up to a greater depth of compassion for others. Highly recommended.
Rating:
 
By Michael L
Date Added: Saturday 12 April 2014
Kristin Neff is reliably rich in the skills and resources she has developed and offers in this work as well as varied and expansive in the offerings she makes available. With a vast selection of tools and skills from which to develop and practice self-compassion, I have found many valuable and useful suggestions I have incorporated into my own practice.
Rating:
 
By Maria O
Date Added: Saturday 5 April 2014
Im working my way through this very thoroughly. Im on my second time through it's proving extremely helpful, particularly in dealing with painful emotions. Due to previous injuries I usually listen lying down rather than sitting as I can only sit for limited periods. Duento this, I find I'm going over the sessions following the guided meditations a few times as the latter are very effective at putting me in a trance. Between that and the improved management of emotions I am noticeably better in both physical and mental health. I thought this would be helpful; now I believe it could prove life-changing. Childhood abuse has left scars; this is providing a means of healing from within. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By barbara d
Date Added: Tuesday 4 February 2014
Very enlightening information on practicing self-care...love it
Rating:
 
By SJS
Date Added: Tuesday 1 October 2013
Excellent program on a subject that is at the heart of any healing journey. I really valued seeing the relationship between perfectionism and self-criticism and how self-compassion and kindness are the processes that lead toward gently accepting ourselves as we are, in all our humanness. It is from acceptance, at that level, that we grow as spiritual beings.
Rating:
 
By Joy R
Date Added: Sunday 8 September 2013
The self compassion cd's encompassed all facets of self compassion. They were informative, inspirational, and above all soothing! Kristin Neff covered so many topics in this 6 set cd. I would highly recommend it to others (in fact, I have already recommended it to 10 of my friends!).
Rating:
 
By C L
Date Added: Saturday 10 August 2013
Very practical
Rating:
 
By Joan B
Date Added: Wednesday 17 July 2013
Kristen Neff's Self-Compassion Step by Step was a life changing audio book. The authors style of teaching was excellent. She is able to present concepts and uses multiple examples, her personal stories enriched the experience.

I was introduced to this author's work by interview with Tami Simon.
Thank you thank you
Rating:
 
By Robin B
Date Added: Monday 15 July 2013
I will continue to listen to he helpful wisdom of Kristin Neff. I am a regular Sounds True subscriber but I followed Kristen Neff's name to your website through the recommendation of Brene Brown. I trust you will continue to publish their work because they are invaluable sources for those of us who are searching. Thank You!
Rating:
 
By Cindy W
Date Added: Tuesday 8 July 2014
Very good tape, with some narrative and also examples of meditations and contemplative exercises. Appreciate that this author did a tape on this subject, esp. since I "got it" immediately what she was talking about regarding the difference between self-esteem and self-compassion.
Rating:
 
By Micheline M
Date Added: Friday 21 March 2014
Yes, my expectations were met with the order.
Looking forward to having some free time to start listening to your wonderful research.

Thanks for the availability of such important information.
Rating:
 
By Cindy H
Date Added: Monday 17 February 2014
Hi

Once I called to find where my product was, things were delivered the next day. I'm well pleased with it all. Thnx Cindy
Rating:
 
By james c
Date Added: Monday 17 March 2014
I listen to books on cd while I drive to and from work, so I was a little surprised when the book dealt more with meditation than with a therapeutic speaking session. I'll have to try to learn meditation. I'm not saying it's a bad book, just not what I was expecting.
Rating:
 
By FG
Date Added: Monday 14 October 2013
I have mixed feelings about Kristin Neff's teaching style in Self Compassion. The message is good although not original. The meditations are good but again not original. Almost 1/3 of the time is spent in absolute silence. I like silence and reflection time, but don't appreciate paying for 6 CDs and getting 3 CDs worth of instructions out of it.
Rating:
 
By soundstruelover
Date Added: Wednesday 24 April 2013
I like Kristin Neff a lot and I would buy this program if it weren't so expensive. I wonder why this costs more than all the other full-length audio learning programs from Soundstrue. Almost $50 for a 6 hour program?
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others