About the Author

James Finley

James Finley left home at the age of 18 for the Abbey of Gethsemani in Trappist, Kentucky, where Thomas Merton lived as a contemplative. He later earned degrees from the University of Akron, Saint John College, and the Fuller Theological Seminary. Today James Finley is a...

Customer Reviews for Thomas Merton's Path to the Palace of Nowhere

By Tara
Date Added: Saturday 9 August 2014
I am half way in to this program and I could not wait to share my enjoyment of it thus far. Outstanding and deeply soul satisfying is all I can say. I have been very, very moved, deepened, connected. James's voice is delightful and the insight he shares is so filled with the real-ness and joy of being. Here you'll find the territory where words won't go. (In my opinion.)
Rating:
 
By Abigail G
Date Added: Tuesday 17 December 2013
James Finley is awesome, and the teachings are beautiful. He reminds me of a Christian Jon Kabat-Zin or Jack Kornfield.
Rating:
 
By Maria V
Date Added: Friday 13 December 2013
James Finley does an excellent job interpreting and shedding light on the contemplative teaching of Thomas Merton.
Rating:
 
By Brudge Hopkins
Date Added: Wednesday 10 April 2013
Thank you for this ST!
Rating:
 
By Stefan Albrektsson
Date Added: Tuesday 11 October 2011
I really love the way James Finley teaches. He is clear, he is poetic, he is contemplative, he is common in the deepest way possible, he sometimes makes you laugh, sometimes cry. These mp3's is connected to, but not identical, to his book "Merton's Palace of Nowhere". I read that book at the same time as I was listening through the mp3's - they both deepened the experience of the contemplative way.
I've since the purchase of them listened to them over and over again - and I will return to them.
I've bought all available James Finley mp3's from Sounds True (and highly recomend them also).
Rating:
 
By Greg Gaynor
Date Added: Sunday 8 August 2010
Accent to Truth- One of the 5 best books I have ever read. Powerful experience.
Rating:
 
By Dana Lamm
Date Added: Saturday 14 May 2011
Excellent.
I love listening to James Finley.
Rating:
 
By Anthony Bucci
Date Added: Wednesday 18 August 2010
I haven't read this book. Read Thomas Merton's works and you won't need a book that attempts to explain what has already been written or a book that tries to describe the man who wrote the books.
Read "Contemplative Prayer" (I've read it twice and I'll have to read it many more times to grasp it's full meaning.)
"Mystics and Zen Masters" is also an insightful book as are all of Merton's writings.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others