About the Author

Sera Beak

Sera Beak is a Harvard-trained scholar of comparative world religions who spent years traveling the world studying spirituality with Sufi dervishes, Tibetan monks, Croatian mystics,...

Customer Reviews for Red Hot and Holy

By Anne O'Sullivan
Date Added: Thursday 20 March 2014
Terrifically interesting and honest book of a born mystic's journey that can resonate for many women, certainly, it did for me and I'm no mystic!
Rating:
 
By Les
Date Added: Wednesday 19 March 2014
Excellent, problem free interaction. There are many vendors I have dealt with in this current on-line world of book and music vending that could benefit from your style. Thank You.
Rating:
 
By Dee B
Date Added: Sunday 9 March 2014
What an incredible book! Sera you just spoke to every cell in my body and I'm starting at Page 1 again. Thank you Sera and Sounds True. Definitely rated 5 stars plus another 5 from me.
Rating:
 
By kathleen s
Date Added: Wednesday 25 December 2013
Wow! Girls Rule! I'm already in the process of changing all the "He" pronouns in the "Course of MIracles" to: Her, Child of God, Divine Mother/Father, etc...... You get the idea; it's an all inclusive Universe & it's time to put the power of SHE back into all Spiritual Studies. And Ms. Sera Beak puts a fire in our hearts, souls & determination to never let Her go ever again!!! No more 2nd class gender based Spirituality for this Universe; it's time to speak up, study & practice the Truth about the great Creatress/Manifester of Life! I LOVE HER!
Rating:
 
By Holly T
Date Added: Sunday 8 December 2013
AMAZING! I feel all red hot n holy now. Thank you Sera Beak and Soundstrue!
Rating:
 
By Marjolein D
Date Added: Saturday 30 November 2013
Very impressed by thé Red lady
Page turner
Rating:
 
By Ariel
Date Added: Monday 4 November 2013
This book was absolutely delightful and turned me into an avid Beak fan. It came at a time in my life when I was looking for a little bit more connection in my own spiritual path, and this book pointed the way.
Rating:
 
By Grace O
Date Added: Tuesday 15 October 2013
We sold out of Red, Hot and Holy in a flash at the event I put on for Sera Beak in Washington, DC. It is an important contemporary account of genuine spiritual awakening.
Rating:
 
By Tara B
Date Added: Thursday 15 August 2013
I cannot even begin to share how moved I am by this incredible piece of art/writing/expression. I have read and explored through many, many avenues. Sera's book cuts right through to the heart of my soul. YES.
Rating:
 
By Mandy
Date Added: Sunday 28 July 2013
The words I had been waiting for, I just didn't realize it. Thankful for the brave soul work Sera has done out loud. This will forever mark a milestone in my faith.
Rating:
 
By Traci C
Date Added: Friday 26 July 2013
This book is brave. This book is true. This book is for real. Sera Beak is on it, in it, and standing with it. After I read this book, I started to live all those things I've been reading about...for years. You'll feel this book in your body; it's good to come home again.
Rating:
 
By Leah S
Date Added: Monday 22 July 2013
Wow...this book really packs a punch. It's challenged my worldview, which I think is a good thing...not likely to become stagnant. I'm in the process of re-reading the book, mostly because I'm still not sure I understand who or what the Red Lady is. What I can say is that my dreams are definitely exploring and exploding with curiosity.
Rating:
 
By william b
Date Added: Monday 22 July 2013
I heard Sera on your Pod Cast. I liked very much. I like the book even better. I have recommended her material to close friends. Thanks
Rating:
 
By Stephanie Pietkiewicz
Date Added: Wednesday 3 July 2013
"How strange my journey was... life has led me back to you, my Soul."


Sera Beak quotes from the Swiss Analytical Psychologist Carl Jung at the beginning of the second part of Red, Hot and Holy. Jung wrote those words around 100 years ago in what he called his Red Book. It is an uncensored document of one man's search for, encounter and reunion with his Soul. Only recently published, 50 years after his death, it shows us the deep work required to retrieve our Soul and to become what he called, an individuated Self. It involves facing the dark Shadow of our unconscious wounds and projections, while reclaiming and embodying ourselves in all our fullness. Ultimately this journey helps us embody our very own Essence, the gift that we’ve come to share with the world.

It takes immense courage to go on this journey. But to stand up and reveal it to others (while you’re still in your 30s) is brave beyond words.

That is why I feel immense gratitude for Sera Beak and her own Red, Hot and Holy book. Here, in language we can relate to, even though it’s richly woven with scholarship on the world’s psychoanalytic, spiritual and mystical traditions, a girlfriend sits down with us over a glass of red wine and has the courage to share in the most intimate, heartfelt, soul searching, gut wrenching, deep belly laughing, and Real way her own incredible Love Story with the Divine. It’s her life’s search for an authentic and individuated way to honour what she comes to know and embody as herSelf: the Red Lady of her Soul.

As Sera’s story reveals, the Soul’s journey is a wild ride. And she shares it with us in all its messy and mystical detail. Holding. Nothing. Back. Because of this I couldn’t put this book down. She describes being flamed by a contemporary mystic, erotic acts of Sacred Touch, mysterious appearances of Red Lady cheerleading teams, her intense experiences with JC, MM and Sarah, their daughter, and months of nights and days in a Red Tent where, losing everything of her former life, she wakes to the tenderness of her own Beloved’s arms. The book ends with Sera’s ongoing act of courage: the fragility and fierceness of honouring and embodying this great Love.

Why am I so grateful to Sera for this book? Her uncensored and ‘heretical’ words have made it safe for me to reclaim and honour my own mystical experiences of being kissed (and slapped and embraced) by my Inner Divine, as SHe calls me to be here, fully, home.

In this way, Red, Hot and Holy is much more than an unputdownable sexy, sassy and ‘potty mouthed’ 'spiritual memoir'. It’s a map – scented and splattered with red markers (petals and blood) for each of us, should we choose to go on that strange journey back to find the Beloved of our own Soul.

Sera’s ‘map’ gives us courage to reclaim our own experiences with and embodiment of the Sacred Lord or Lady of our own Being. To show up as That, and to share It and Shine through It in the world. As such, this book is ‘an open-handed offering’, reminding us all ‘to shine our inner light.’ When Sera does this, it’s bedazzling.

Deep, deep Soul bows to you, Sera. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Alison Fornes
Date Added: Thursday 27 June 2013
I am so deeply grateful for this book! I listened to Tami's interview with her, and felt an emotional resonance with what she was saying, even before I understood the words.

The book has connected me with the Divine Feminine in a way that is alive and on fire - and fully embodied. There's so much I could say - but my recommendations: listen to the podcast, buy the book!
Rating:
 
By chris johns
Date Added: Friday 21 June 2013
sarah beak is gorgeous.....so is her book. cuz its got a pic. of her on it. but i bet it's a good read too.
Rating:
 
By Karen N
Date Added: Saturday 4 January 2014
Just into the book now. I connect to her personal experiences and quotes by mystics of different religious traditions and the allusion to RED in all of them. I appreciate both her scholarship and her audacious style. Thanks!
Rating:
 
By Michelle
Date Added: Thursday 10 October 2013
Such a disappointment. I loved her first book. This one was more of an explanation of why she is qualified on spirituality. Apparently this chick gets more "winks" from the universe than the average bear and always gets randomly hit with a cosmic coincidence or her friend Emily who happens to be a medium guiding her through any emotional struggle and insecurity. Her editor was right that she fired, the book was terrible and basically bs. Too bad, author is talented just a bit full of herself.
Rating:
 
By Sharon
Date Added: Friday 14 February 2014
Totally agree, Nora "The ultimate in modern narcissism. Oh ick." We know she loves herself, we know we know we know. Can we move on now?
Rating:
 
By Sounds True to Matt
Date Added: Friday 3 January 2014
Hello Matt,

I was sorry to read that you didn't receive your book. If you haven't already, please contact Customer Service at 1(800)333-9185 or by emailing support@soundstrue.zendesk.com.

Shannon at Sounds True
Rating:
 
By Matt
Date Added: Friday 6 December 2013
never received it.
Rating:
 
By Nora Fox
Date Added: Monday 28 October 2013
The ultimate in modern narcissism. Oh ick.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others