About the Author

Clarissa Pinkola Estés

Clarissa Pinkola Estés, PhD, is an internationally recognized scholar, award-winning poet, diplomate senior Jungian psychoanalyst, and cantadora (keeper of the old stories in the Latina tradition). In addition to her international bestseller Women Who Run With the...

Customer Reviews for Untie the Strong Woman

By Sallie M
Date Added: Thursday 23 January 2014
I don't think it is possible for Clarissa Pinkola Estes, PhD, to ever disappoint! Her incomparable ability to awake us to Mother's unconditional Love and Presence in "Untie the Strong Woman" feeds body, mind and soul.
Rating:
 
By Dori T
Date Added: Tuesday 21 January 2014
She's so good.
Rating:
 
By Susan S
Date Added: Monday 6 January 2014
Clarissa Pinkola Estes is amazing. She has such a fund of experience, of stories, such an understanding of the sacred feminine ("the strong woman"). As always, I could not put the book down - yummy, challenging, nourishing, strengthening, funny, totally alive. Much joyous wisdom.
Rating:
 
By Joan R
Date Added: Monday 1 July 2013
This book is a beautifully written description of the Holy Mother and Her Presence throughout history into our modern times.
Rating:
 
By Elise S
Date Added: Saturday 29 June 2013
Dr. Estes won my heart with her first book, Women Who Run With the Wolves, so I was excited to finally read this new book. And I rate it very highly!
She takes greater risks revealing more of her very personal stories that shaped her soul life's calling and its connection to others. Prayer is the central focus, prayer that speaks to Mary, the universal mother of all of us. Real practice of praying brings real results and she addresses the many people and their difficult spiritual struggles that need our prayers and blessings. She shares her keen sense of staying attentive to ways we can all co-create a more compassionate world.
Rating:
 
By Joan M
Date Added: Wednesday 29 May 2013
Yes - I received the book and am loving it.

Thank you
Rating:
 
By Linda B
Date Added: Wednesday 9 January 2013
Dr. Estes' prose and poetry are incredibly heartfelt and descriptive.
Rating:
 
By Nancy Hooper
Date Added: Friday 14 December 2012
My order was handled with efficiency and courtesy. The material I ordered is inspiring and insightful; I will be giving several copies of the book as gifts this holiday. And it was offered at a very generous price. Thank you for your service...
In light and gratitude,
Nancy Hooper
Rating:
 
By Rosey Brumm
Date Added: Friday 3 August 2012
This is a must for every woman's book shelf. CPE truly brought the Blessed Mother's Immaculate Love into a personal, inner, heart-felt, tangible relationship. Bringing forth her own devotion and real connection with the Blessed Mother dissolving false concepts showing how we are all worthy of, born with this beautiful Divinity waiting for us to remember She is always with us.
As in all her life's work, all the Old Woman and friends ST series-her manuscript of life teachings. Holding within a mix of her life, her challenges, her wisdom with the worlds best stories and her professional knowledge unfolding in her magnificent capacity as author and worlds best storyteller! Listen Read and be touched.
Rating:
 
By Inge Hering
Date Added: Saturday 28 July 2012
Simply wonderful
Rating:
 
By Katherine Lehre
Date Added: Wednesday 20 June 2012
Top-notch, as always. She makes me cry, pray, write, open my heart, etc., etc. Strengthening the feminine in a non-sentimental way!
Rating:
 
By Carol Worthing
Date Added: Friday 16 March 2012
"Untie the Strong Woman," by Clarissa Pinkola Estes, was the perfect companion for my self-directed mid-winter retreat of 10 days at the Spiritual Ministry Center in San Diego. Her focus on and personal experience with Our Lady of Guadalupe, Patroness of Outsiders, leads one into meditative solidarity with all in their sufferings and inspires one to reach out with active compassion. I'm grateful to Estes for her insight!
Rating:
 
By Joan Breit
Date Added: Tuesday 17 January 2012
Am loving it and will pass it on to our Episcopal priest Mary who is preparing to speak on Mary, the Mother of God in March.
Rating:
 
By Gwen
Date Added: Saturday 7 January 2012
The exerience with this book grows ever deeper as I continue

to spend time within its pages. More importantly, so has my

sense of Blessed Mother -- a new relationship for some of us

who come from backgrounds in which She was not honored. The

words and images truly nuture such a relationship, new birth

or as homecoming, if the reader so desires. I learned my

answer is -- yes!!!

Our Lady in this book is NOT naive, dainty, silent, isolated,

irrelevant, helpless or powerless. She is fully aware of all

the best and worst that life and humans have dealt to each

other -- yet She still holds, lifts, loves and offers the

roots, the ground stock for being together in compassion and

wholeness.

One among countless stories and phrases that return to mind,

seeded by Dr. Estes inner vision and wisdom is a question

what if ... as she mentioned almost buried in a chapter about

restoring the soul after shock. WHAT IF ... HOLDING OTHERS'

SORROWS WITH RESPECT WERE TO BECOME THE NEW NORM? Sorrows

-- of any life, including those most surrounded in

controversy. Indeed. What would that look like in the

decades ahead? How would it change the ways we co-create

ourselves, our families, our communities and our globe?

I do so want a chance to see -- starting with me. Today.

Every day! Untie the Strong Woman is and will continue to be

a worthy companion on that quest. Dr. Estes has touched

bedrock and then reached to created a lifeline, a powerline

-- that stretches to the stars. Somewhere in there is room

for everyone of us.
Rating:
 
By Margaret Martin
Date Added: Monday 5 December 2011
An extremely important book for women. I will put it on the shelf right next to "Dance of the Dissident Daughter" by Sue Monk Kidd. Although well-versed in several religions, I found my place as a woman to be "less-than", and I refuse to be relegated to a secondary position in worship and faith connection. These 2 books helped me clarify how I can make my own space and peace in spirituality. Religion is for those who don;t want to go to hell. Spirituality is for those of us who have already been there.
Rating:
 
By Dina Cormick
Date Added: Sunday 27 November 2011
just started reading but am absolutely thrilled so far. Clarissa is one of my most favourite writers and story-tellers that I am confident I shall cherish this book as much as "women who run with wolves" and the audio tapes of Dangerous Old Women"
Rating:
 
By Mary H
Date Added: Sunday 20 November 2011
I strongly recommend this book for both men and women. Friends will be receiving it as a Christmas gift from me.
Rating:
 
By Linda Bailey
Date Added: Wednesday 9 November 2011
I bought this book as a gift for my sister and plan to buy one for me. The cover is beautiful as are the graphics inside. The content looks rich as only Clarissa Pinkola Estes can weave insights, research, storytelling, wisdom and magic.
Rating:
 
By Valerie Rapp
Date Added: Sunday 6 November 2011
I gave this book to my 34-year-old stepdaughter, and she is finding it a very timely and powerful book for her stage of life. It will be an important book for her, for some time to come.
Rating:
 
By Jennifer Sayers
Date Added: Saturday 15 October 2011
Another classic by Dr. Estes
Rating:
 
By Susan Velasquez
Date Added: Sunday 9 October 2011
I am savoring Dr. Estes' new book as she leads me gently into a deeper relationship with the Blessed Mother. I marvel at her ability to transfer her love for Mary, Maria, Our Lady (all of the ways the Blessed Mother is portrayed) and find my own heart more open and receptive as a result. I was so touched by the Grotto story that by the time I finished it, tears were streaming from both eyes; the emotion that comes from that place inside that recognizes miraculous beauty when it is offered. Her writing nourishes my soul and is also reigniting a long forgotten relationship that I had with the Blessed Mother as a child. She is helping to bridge the gap of years and gifting me with the opportunity to have a richer relationship based on greater understanding of the intent of Our Lady to bring compassion, guidance and love to those in need. Thank you.
Rating:
 
By Lou
Date Added: Saturday 1 October 2011
I bought two books because I wanted to share this life-giving message with my niece to use in her life after I am gone.

Our Lady is with you and you are with her. She has always been with you and you are always with her. Those phrases are my mantra now. Thanks Dr. E, and SoundsTrue, Gracias por mi corazon.
Rating:
 
By Joan O
Date Added: Monday 21 January 2013
thanks good service
Rating:
 
By John P
Date Added: Monday 21 January 2013
Very good 4 week delivery to Canada at Christmas. The five books were well paackaged and in very good appearancr.


Rating:
 
By Susan Grace
Date Added: Thursday 1 December 2011
I am still reading it - slowly as I am loving it so much that I don't want to hurry it or skip through it.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others