About the Author

Clarissa Pinkola Estés

Clarissa Pinkola Estés, PhD, is an internationally recognized scholar, award-winning poet, diplomate senior Jungian psychoanalyst, and cantadora (keeper of the old stories in the Latina tradition). In addition to her international bestseller Women Who Run With the...

Customer Reviews for Bedtime Stories

By NEO P
Date Added: Tuesday 29 July 2014
I have been an erratic kind of insomniac for many years--erratic in that I will sleep well for a few days and then for a few can't sleep at all, or wake up at 3 for weeks on end and so on..

I've been trying to hear this mp3 for the past three days--with a under pillow speaker--and fall asleep within a few minutes---it's quite funny really--because Dr Estes starts preparing you to listen to the story and I sort of drop off at virtually the same point every night..and do wake up later..but the funny part is I am not getting to hear the stories at all ..
Rating:
 
By Alison G
Date Added: Tuesday 29 April 2014
I love the bedtime stories! They have helped me get back to sleep a number of times. I love listening to her beautiful, lulling voice.
Rating:
 
By marg c
Date Added: Wednesday 23 April 2014
great
Rating:
 
By M
Date Added: Saturday 19 April 2014
I felt like a big kid listening to these tales, but I never got to the end, as Clarissa worked her magic and cast her spell, before I knew it, I was asleep.
Rating:
 
By Alice G
Date Added: Wednesday 16 April 2014
Gave this CD to several friends and they just love it. Will probably purchase more copies as gifts.
I play this CD as I am getting ready to sleep. Still haven't heard the last story.
Rating:
 
By Phyllis C
Date Added: Monday 14 April 2014
This perhaps the best CD I will ever own. Clarissa Pinkola Estes, has a voice that that promotes healing,soothes the mind and body and makes you feel wrapped up in love. She is the best story teller I have yet to encounter. I bought this as I am dealing with pain relief and I thought it would help me to get some rest easier. When I listen to it, it leaves me feeling safe,and optimistic about my self and the world around me. I own about 300 cassette lectures/ meditations over the years, and more recently have bought full courses to assist with meditation. I have to say that this particular tape is different, in that it just comforts in a new way for me. Buy two, three, send as gifts; you will make many people happy. Thank you Dr. Estes. :) PS She has another tape called Creative Five - maybe on CD too.I recommend that one also.
Rating:
 
By P. Cruicksank-Schott
Date Added: Sunday 13 April 2014
I adore Clarissa Pinkola Estes and was thrilled to order, this new to me program… She has such a rich voice and also such a brillian mind and she digs deep with these stories… loved it.
Rating:
 
By Rosalind M
Date Added: Wednesday 9 April 2014
An excellent selection of inspiring tales.
Rating:
 
By Shanyia
Date Added: Thursday 11 April 2013
This puts my partner and I to sleep EVERY time. So soothing!
Rating:
 
By Donna D
Date Added: Thursday 14 February 2013
Answers, so many ways, so much to listen to, and then I find this beautiful woman who tells such beautiful stories, and opens up the wounds of time that have never healed and covers them with the warming balm with her most talented ability of acknowledgement. After listening to the Stone Child and recognizing the depth to which pain lives for so many eons, then ordering BedTime Stories, Clarissa has provided a most unique way for the Stone Child to nurture themselves into a peaceful sleep. If only Clarissa, this could be a premise into a few more Bedtime Stories, you would embrace many listeners and take them back to being a child in their sleep awakening fresh and alive. You are incredible.
Rating:
 
By Daisy Marshall
Date Added: Tuesday 5 June 2012
If an angel desecended from heaven to come and take me into the most soothing and healing of all dreams, it would heve Clarissa's voice and Clarissa's soul. D. Marshall
Rating:
 
By Mary Loescher
Date Added: Friday 20 January 2012
extremely pleased with this presentation
Rating:
 
By Kylie Hammond
Date Added: Wednesday 31 August 2011
Absolutely Amazing
Rating:
 
By Marsha Lane
Date Added: Monday 28 March 2011
I was very pleased. Even at my age I needed bedtime stories. Helps me sleep. M>
Rating:
 
By mone
Date Added: Tuesday 29 June 2010
Fantastic!!! Luv it!
Rating:
 
By Jennie Peut
Date Added: Monday 17 May 2010
Wondferul! Has made an enormous difference to my sleeping patterns - and provided me with a really peaceful and enjoyable way of moving into sleep.
Rating:
 
By anianiau
Date Added: Wednesday 7 October 2009
I did like this CD. It makes for wonderful bedtime listening. Though her stories are interesting, they are also relaxing. For that reason it took me a week to listen to those near the end. (HINT: Start the CD playing where you last left off.)
Rating:
 
By Nancy B
Date Added: Wednesday 16 April 2014
Sometimes the constant 'rabbit trails' on each subject made the main thread difficult to follow. The content is great!
Rating:
 
By Susan Etchey
Date Added: Tuesday 17 April 2012
Not what I expected. Very soothing and restful but not a monologue I could listen to on a regular basis without being bored. I can't say what it can do for another but I have a need for a spiritual context that is more direct, not so subtle. Allegory is too ritualized for me because of my religious background so I prefer a teacher that can remind me not to think or visualize stories in my head. Not thinking is better for me and Bedtime Stories does not bring me there.
Rating:
 
By J M
Date Added: Thursday 10 April 2014
Too short, and some of the stories told were too familiar, such as sleeping beauty. Some of the commentary was interesting but the whole thing was so loosely tied together I didn't really get it.
Rating:
 
By Laura Danon
Date Added: Tuesday 22 February 2011
The background music is kind of haunting. Did not feel soothing or comforting.
Rating:
 
By Peggy L
Date Added: Monday 20 August 2012
Very dissapointed in this product. It's only one story and while I love Clarissa's voice, at times she speaks so fast and low,it's hard to understand the words. Since the product is advertised as Bedtime Stories, not Bedtime Story,I believe this is false advertising. Also, the instructions Sounds True provides to get the fileson an IPad are incomplete and confusing.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others