About the Author

Joshua Leeds

Joshua Leeds is a sound researcher, music producer, and educator. He is one of few published authorities in the emerging field of psychoacoustics-the study of the effect of music and sound on the human nervous system, and bioacoustics-how human sound affects...

Lisa Spector

Lisa Spector is a graduate of The Juilliard School.She has won first prizes in prestigious national piano competitions, and performs concert tours internationally. A lifetime dog-lover involved in agility training and competition, she has served as a volunteer puppy raiser for...

Customer Reviews for Through a Dog's Ear

By Scott W
Date Added: Wednesday 6 August 2014
Thank you, It was just what I expected. Had a little trouble with the download (I knew it was my fault) and called for help and all was solved in 5 minutes.
Rating:
 
By Diane S
Date Added: Tuesday 15 July 2014
Our foster dog relaxed almost immediately after I started playing this recording. Before that, she was so anxious, she just stood all day until she was too tired. We combined it with a few other things, but it definitely helped calm her down.

My only suggestion is to provide a receipt for purchases.
Rating:
 
By Dorothy P
Date Added: Thursday 10 July 2014
Both my husband and I AND our dog enjoy the CD - it is very soothing.
Rating:
 
By Ann B
Date Added: Thursday 27 March 2014
This music calmed my dog IMMEDIATELY. The added bonus is that it calms me also. Thunder storms, fireworks and noisy neighbors in the upstairs apartment are now tolerated when we listen to "Through A Dog's Ear".
Rating:
 
By Donna N
Date Added: Sunday 9 February 2014
My Bichon settled right down during a thunder and wind storm where normally, he would be pacing the house and shaking like crazy!! I have ordered 2 more and also the "Thundervest" Txs. D Nail
Rating:
 
By lloyd t
Date Added: Monday 30 December 2013
Excellent quality, the dog likes it.
Rating:
 
By Janet B
Date Added: Saturday 28 December 2013
worked
Rating:
 
By Dorrie
Date Added: Monday 2 September 2013
I thought this was (probably) dumb. But I bought this one for a hyper dog that had leg surgery, and who has to stay in a crate for several weeks. I play it at night to let him know it is time to start calming down and nothing else exciting will be happening today. It works and seems to relax him. It is beautiful to me too. I'm going to order a couple more so there is a little variety.
Rating:
 
By Mary Kay M
Date Added: Sunday 18 August 2013
Great for dogs and people!!!!!
Rating:
 
By Sheryl
Date Added: Thursday 30 May 2013
This calms me down because of its slow rhythms. My dog seems to like it too.
Rating:
 
By Dorothy H
Date Added: Tuesday 27 November 2012
We put this on every time we go out in the evening and all I can say is that the dogs are far more tranquil than they used to be when we return home!
I do wonder if the same sounds every time might be very boring - but I suppose the thing to do is gradually build up a dog library of music !
Rating:
 
By Glenda B
Date Added: Tuesday 9 October 2012
Our dog is fascinated and visibly calmed by this recording. I've now made an iPod playlist which repeats the recording six times over (that's 5-plus hours), and leave it playing through speakers when we leave the house. No more doggie peeing or panic! Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Leslie Hafemeister
Date Added: Saturday 30 June 2012
wonderful, calming. All 11 critters mellow right down.
Rating:
 
By Annette Silva
Date Added: Friday 1 June 2012
Great music. I believe I may have enjoyed it more than my canine friends.
Rating:
 
By WENDY benson
Date Added: Saturday 3 March 2012
The item was great not only do the dogs seem more relaxed but also the whole family. When we have to leave them home alone it is so much nicer to feel that we are giving them something special. The music goes on, they are given a treat and we wish them farewell and they seem to like it now.
Rating:
 
By Dawn Ross
Date Added: Tuesday 28 February 2012
I was skeptical, but as I type my very hyper and noisy Manchester terrier is sleeping peacefully with 'his music' on. It has made a huge difference in settling him when I go out and keeping him from barking at every slight noise. I love this item.
Rating:
 
By Ann Salvatore
Date Added: Monday 23 January 2012
This CD worked wonderfully. It calmed my dog and also another dog that I was taking care of in my home. Within minutes of playing the CD both dogs were napping!
Rating:
 
By Frankie Enochs
Date Added: Sunday 25 September 2011
My two dogs and I enjoy the music very much. When I played it the first time, they got in their beds and relaxed. It calms us all.
Rating:
 
By Jeanne Segar
Date Added: Wednesday 17 August 2011
My dogs actually noticed this CD - it's was worth the purchase for this "dog house"!
Rating:
 
By Carole Trepanier
Date Added: Friday 12 August 2011
My Gog is afraid of thunder storms, but when I play the music, she just listens and goes to sleep, she is so relaxed makes a world of difference, I will be getting more of your product great product.
Carole T
Rating:
 
By Drueann Benson
Date Added: Saturday 23 July 2011
Wow, this music really works...Max my Tibetan Terrier is going through detox from being addicted to synthetic thyroid meds...so today I reduced his dose again when I do this his respiratory system sometimes starts to go into stressful rapid breathing...just played the sample of the CD as he started the rapid breathing within 30 seconds he laid down and resumed normal relaxed breathing! Needless to say I am ordering this CD!
Rating:
 
By Drueann Benson
Date Added: Saturday 23 July 2011
Wow, this music really works...Max my Tibetan Terrier is going through detox from being addicted to synthetic thyroid meds...so today I reduced his dose again when I do this his respiratory system sometimes starts to go into stressful rapid breathing...just played the CD as he started the rapid breathing within 30 seconds he laid down and resumed normal relaxed breathing! Needless to say I am ordering this CD!
Rating:
 
By Arietta Balestreri
Date Added: Saturday 23 July 2011
Bob Dog loves Through A Dog's Ear, Vol 1. He is listening to it right at this moment.
Rating:
 
By Susan Marks
Date Added: Wednesday 23 February 2011
Four dogs with two visiting... settled them down a lot.
Rating:
 
By Sandy Lack
Date Added: Tuesday 10 August 2010
My friends Ridgeback who is terrified of Thunderstorms now no longer needs drugds to cope with them. Through a Dog's Ear and a homeopathic remedy are all he needs and he goes and sits in front of the speaker like he knows it helps him.
Rating:
 
By Kelly
Date Added: Thursday 4 March 2010
This CD is fantastic. It really works well. I use it in the evenings to calm my dogs down, just leave it on a loop and it plays all night. If I don't turn it off right away in the morning it puts me to sleep while I am on my computer. It is backed by real trials and research and it works.
Rating:
 
By Trish
Date Added: Thursday 29 October 2009
I just listened to the preview clip on the website and am ordering this CD right now!

My four dogs are disturbed by thunder and fireworks, but hey!, I'm ordering this for me, too, to play continuously through the night to overcome my sleeplessness.
Rating:
 
By Juliana Robertson
Date Added: Sunday 12 July 2009
I was amazed by this CD. We purchased it because my friend's rescue greyhound has seperation anxiety, her pitbull barks at anyone passing by on the street, and my greyhounds are terrified of either storms or fireworks. It absolutely worked to calm each of them in all of these situations. They just pass out on the couch, on the floor, wherever, whenever this CD is played. What a God send for them so they won't be so afraid.
Rating:
 
By Deborah Foster
Date Added: Sunday 28 June 2009
This CD really works. We tried it on my friend's 7 month old American Eskimo puppy, a loving but easily excitable dog. He calmed immediately, noticeably, repeatedly. Excellent CD.
Rating:
 
By db bd
Date Added: Tuesday 20 January 2009
It works!.. My little terrior/dachshund
mix laid down and shut her eyes just on the preview/sample music. Next I will try on my sheppard.
Great CD - love the soothing sounds.
Not bad for two-leggeds either.
db
Rating:
 
By Margaret C
Date Added: Thursday 5 June 2014
My dogs love, it realy does calm them; therefore I love it, too. I have a boarding kennel and so far the dogs that have had to listen, seem to stay calmer.
Now all I need to do is get another CD player, since mine quit on me.
Rating:
 
By Ann A
Date Added: Saturday 21 December 2013
What a lovely CD. I can't really tell for sure if my dog likes it but I certainly do!
Rating:
 
By Merrie Sand
Date Added: Wednesday 15 February 2012
Calms both my dog and myself. I am getting a lot of use out of it.
Rating:
 
By Myra Kitchenman
Date Added: Sunday 25 December 2011
Really enjoyed this piece of music designed to calm my dog…..but never mind the dog!!!…it calmed me.
Rating:
 
By Geertje
Date Added: Thursday 17 March 2011
Lovely.
It even calms me down -which makes me think about how this works: a calm boss calms dog or the other way around? Either way; it works!
Rating:
 
By Patricia Adler
Date Added: Wednesday 23 May 2012
The music seemed very simple and I was a little disappointed that the CD was so short.
Rating:
 
By Holly McDermott
Date Added: Saturday 23 April 2011
Puppy ignored but cats liked it. Hoping volume 2 works better.
Rating:
 
By Donald G
Date Added: Monday 11 August 2014
What a pain to download. Each song has to be downloaded individually. It would not work on my iPad,so I downloaded it to PC,where it went to quicktime, but not iTunes. Have no idea how to get it to iTunes so I can put it on the iPad.Have already wasted more than several hours trying to get this to work. The music is nothing special,just typical classical that I should have just went to the libray, checked out and burned to hard drive. If you do buy, I suggest getting the CD rather than download.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others