About the Author

Rick Jarow

Rick Jarow, PhD, is a practicing alternative career counselor, a professor of religion at Vassar College, and author of Creating the Work You Love, In Search of the Sacred, Alchemy of Abundance, and more. His acclaimed seminars, based on years of...

Customer Reviews for The Ultimate Anti-Career Guide

By Linda Z
Date Added: Wednesday 7 May 2014
Practical information that goes way beyond guidance about finding a job.
Rating:
 
By Aileen S
Date Added: Wednesday 6 March 2013
This is a deeply thoughtful, inspiring way of following your own path. It is especially helpful when you are confused at whether you are progressing, and whether it is worthwhile continuing. I've loaned this to several friends who were struggling, and all found it inspirational.
Rating:
 
By Aileen S
Date Added: Wednesday 6 March 2013
This is a deeply thoughtful, inspiring way of following your own path. It is especially helpful when you are confused at whether you are progressing, and whether it is worthwhile continuing. I've loaned this to several friends who were struggling, and all found it inspirational.
Rating:
 
By Sonny L
Date Added: Saturday 6 October 2012
Phenomenal live changing!

Disc 6 though is damaged. Wonder if can get another?
Rating:
 
By louise f
Date Added: Saturday 22 September 2012
I have learnt so much on the chakras . I understand them so much better as well as myself. Enjoyed every CD.
Rating:
 
By Aneta R
Date Added: Wednesday 22 August 2012
Rick Jarrow says at some point "[this method] works, if you do". I have had my first encounter with this book many years ago, and all it could do at that point was to plant some seeds: of thought, of longing, of expectation, of possibility.
Now I find the necessary grounding work has done itself over the years and I am ready to move on.
And as I slowly work through the course, I discover that I am moving on right where I am. As I start to embrace my work situation with all it's difficulties and imperfections, life gets richer and opportunities start opening up. And the chakras lens do reveal some very inspiring patterns.
Rating:
 
By Daniel Guerin
Date Added: Sunday 16 October 2011
Rick's is a natural teacher and expert guide.
Rating:
 
By Virginia Watson
Date Added: Friday 19 August 2011
I've been struggling for years trying to find, and then pursue the career path that will bring me the most joy.

Listening to this series really helped me to explore the many ways that our society has shaped the notion of work and how that fits into my own experiences in the working world. It has helped me immeasurably. I highly recommend it for just about anyone, not only from a philosophical and sociological perspective, but also from a practical one.

Also, when I first listened, I was a little dubious about the notion of a chakra-based guide, but the way that Jarow broke it down makes sense to me. Heck, I even learned more about chakras while I was listening. I'm still not quite sure I believe in them (or even understand them), however, that should not be an impediment to those who are looking for assistance with the topics this audio series covers.
Rating:
 
By Donna Kalbrener
Date Added: Wednesday 23 February 2011
Terrific...the cd is grounded in truth. He leads us though a process using facts, examples, and powerfully strong guided meditations. Stinging the different chakra influences. He shows us the importance of having a feeling of abundance and living simply and being aware of graditude. I took one session a day and found the process powerful yet beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a path to regain their strength and finding the peace and the knowing that the courage is within then. His guided meditations are so powerful.
Rating:
 
By Alexis
Date Added: Friday 24 December 2010
I have just finished working through “The Ultimate Anti Career Guide” for the second time. I bought it at the beginning of December, after months of procrastination. What a blessing I did! I am very grateful that Rick embodied his teachings in this recording, making it so broadly available.

I was laid off at the beginning of September 2010. It was partly by choice. The company relocated and I chose not to participate. The role I had, whilst promising much, didn’t work out. I looked forward to September with relief, but with a certain grim knowledge that soon I would have to go out and market myself for another fundamentally unsatisfactory bread winning position. Rick has helped change my attitude and build my confidence to stay free, work out my trajectory, and, when the time is right, re-enter the workplace with a totally different mindset. I accept that on my path I will encounter many challenges, but it sure feels good to be on it.
Rating:
 
By anna catella
Date Added: Tuesday 26 May 2009
Excellent work. A serious, committed, complete guide to really and lovingly help people to find a direction.
Simply excellent, the best I approached until now.
At the end, beyond the standing ovation in the heart, the desire and the need to listen again and again and to practice.
Thank you Rick
Rating:
 
By Lesley Foster
Date Added: Friday 27 March 2009
This is excellent. Well worth the asking price. A very in depth process to apply for personal insight and expression; instead of the too frequently heard or read airy, fluffy, lightweight, and completely useless approaches wrapped in great packaging. He crosses spiritual/cultural boundaries with ease and humility. Excellent guided meditations and awareness concepts. Approachable for those who are beginners in meditative practice to the very experienced. Worth repeated listening and practice.
Rating:
 
By Margarite Bradley
Date Added: Tuesday 12 July 2011
My daughter and I are listening together as she is hoping to discover a new career or job path. So far it has been a useful tool to stimulate this discussion.
Rating:
 
By Ruth Barreto
Date Added: Wednesday 30 November 2011
I was not as impressed as other reviewers with this product. I did not find the material very helpful. Rather, it is a series of meandering musings on the nature of vocation, with anecdotes and a few guided meditations. Personally, I did not find that the experience helped me to gain clarity or realize new insights. In fact I stopped listening to it about 2/3 of the way through. The basic message (which was not new to me) is that you probably aren't going to find true fulfillment through your career, and that it's best to focus on the deepest expression of your soul, so that the rest of your life can come into alignment with that.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others