About the Author

Jack Kornfield

Jack Kornfield, PhD, trained as a Buddhist monk in Thailand, Burma, and India and has taught worldwide since 1974. He is one of the key teachers to introduce Buddhist mindfulness practices to the West. He holds a PhD in clinical psychology and is the co-founder of the Insight...

Customer Reviews for The Roots of Buddhist Psychology

By priya
Date Added: Thursday 4 September 2014
the title sounds kinda academic, but this is really just a great storyteller talking about the experience of life using anecdotes from writers, spiritual figures, artists and his own life. wonderful. one of my ST top 10.
Rating:
 
By Susan S
Date Added: Friday 29 August 2014
I love these teachings of Jack Kornfield and have listened to them for years. This purchase was a gift for my niece who is a family counselor and art therapist and she loved receiving them. The clarity of the teachings, the inclusions of wonderful quotations from poetry and literature, the humor and compassion for all beings is so evident throughout the tapes.
Rating:
 
By Enid J
Date Added: Friday 11 April 2014
The Roots of Buddhist Psychology is suburb! Jack Kornfield is the most amazing presenter. His wisdom and goodness are ever present. I actually listened to this on cassettes years ago and wanted to hear it again. How fortunate for me that it was on sale. Jack's books and tapes have mentored me for over 25 years--tho he doesn't know it. I so highly recommend The Roots of Buddhist Psychology.
Rating:
 
By Judy P
Date Added: Friday 26 July 2013
Thank you for this beautiful and valuable teaching. I have listened to it twice and will listen many times more. Jack Kornfield is an amazing teacher.
Rating:
 
By Daniel C
Date Added: Sunday 2 June 2013
I find this very helpful. This psychology and practice complements my Christian beliefs just fine.
Rating:
 
By Lee
Date Added: Friday 16 November 2012
These are some of the finest lectures on Buddhist thought out there. They are funny, honest, heart-filled, and practical. Thank you Jack.
Rating:
 
By Angus C
Date Added: Friday 7 September 2012
This series was my first exposure to the Buddhist Philosophies, and it was so many years past thst I believe that it was on cassette tape! Dr Kornfield is an inspiring Teacher with an easy style and quite formidable breadth of knowlege. His work has sustained me through passages, both easy and some less so. My hope is one day to be able to meet and thank him for his Efforts.
Rating:
 
By rosalita crespin
Date Added: Saturday 19 March 2011
Jack Kornfield..tender voiced..humorous..engaging..so understandable..blessings to you!
Rating:
 
By Helen Fisher
Date Added: Sunday 8 March 2009
This book was outstanding. Having studied holistic counselling myself this put the whole lot into perspective for me. I love his wisdom adding a pinch of humour throughout. This author has been a god send for my own personal journey having a greater understanding for living my life with out so much of the struggle. One of the best books I have ever read. Helen F
PS I personal like his audio versions and have hard copies to follow the meditaion practices.
Rating:
 
By J. Dean
Date Added: Friday 25 April 2014
Jack Kornfield presents this talk with little clear direction. More than a historical look it is basically an unfocused presentation. Bought it on Audible and returned it.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others