About the Author

Clarissa Pinkola Estés

Clarissa Pinkola Estés, PhD, is an internationally recognized scholar, award-winning poet, diplomate senior Jungian psychoanalyst, and cantadora (keeper of the old stories in the Latina tradition). In addition to her international bestseller Women Who Run With the...

Customer Reviews for Warming the Stone Child

By Sharon G
Date Added: Saturday 19 April 2014
Estes' work is always brilliant, and this is one of her best.
Rating:
 
By H. Raven Rose
Date Added: Tuesday 17 December 2013
Deeply powerful story as medicine--this work is using for understanding of healing the attachment issues that bind humans (the suffering of the abandoned, neglected or abused inner child fragments, within AKA 'The Stone Child'). The audio is a masterful depth psychology transformation experience delivered as story and lecture, by Jungian psychoanalyst and cantadora (storyteller) Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estés, and bears listening to again and again.
Rating:
 
By Tammy T
Date Added: Thursday 12 December 2013
Exactly what this mothering motherless child needs to hear again and again. Thank you, again, Clarissa and Tami. Sounds soooooo True all the time.
Rating:
 
By DEBORAH H
Date Added: Thursday 1 August 2013
Fantastic I love listening to Clarissa.
She has such an amazingly mesmerizing voice and wonderful words of wisdom.thank-you
Rating:
 
By Allison S
Date Added: Thursday 25 April 2013
This changed my life. Is there anything more to say?
Rating:
 
By Denis L
Date Added: Sunday 14 April 2013
I found Clarissa to be an excellent story-teller, who uses her Jungian insights to bring to ordinary audiences some ancient archetypal truths about central issues of daily living, in this case the 'unmothered child.' I shall continue to acquire her products.
Rating:
 
By Kate M
Date Added: Thursday 11 April 2013
Brilliant. Highly recommend for all women looking to gain a deeper connection with themselves.
Rating:
 
By Rosemary W
Date Added: Wednesday 27 February 2013
It was excellent!
Rating:
 
By Tumps
Date Added: Friday 16 November 2012
Very touching...listending to her read it aloud was powerful. A true comfort for those of us who did not get the mothering we needed.
Rating:
 
By Carol
Date Added: Thursday 8 November 2012
One of my favorite CPE C.D.'s. Wonderful healing resource for us abandoned children . . .
Rating:
 
By Autumn
Date Added: Wednesday 17 October 2012
Wonderful...I appreciated the balance between myth/story and insight/meaning making. I will be suggesting this to (psychotherapy) clients who will resonate with this as deeply as I have. Highly recommended for the un-mothered.
Rating:
 
By Marjorie Schnabel
Date Added: Thursday 22 March 2012
I loved this. Beautifully spoken. Wonderful insight. thank you
Rating:
 
By Dianne Curran
Date Added: Friday 2 March 2012
A beautiful comforting teaching read by the best story teller one could wish for.
Rating:
 
By Jasmine Stanley
Date Added: Thursday 12 January 2012
excellent....I especially like the service that Sounds True provides.
Rating:
 
By Aneta Rząca
Date Added: Wednesday 14 December 2011
That recording came to me by serdendipity and synchronicity just at the time that I needed Docror Estes wise and kind words to move on. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Mary Morgan
Date Added: Wednesday 23 November 2011
I have. Listened over and over to this and have learned so much.
If you feel like an unMothered child
As I do, I highly recommend this.
I found solutions and I insights that
Have changed my life for the better. Thank you Dr.Estes!
Rating:
 
By Andrea Cagan
Date Added: Tuesday 20 September 2011
Wonderful tape. Inspiring.
Rating:
 
By RAYMOND MARTOCCIA
Date Added: Sunday 14 August 2011
Must listen to recording explains abandonment issues though stories and cultures. Gave me a keen insight into childhood I never heard or have seen addressed in over 50 years of reading or hearing processionals discuss childhood. It was kind of shock and awe for me about understanding earlier childhood experiences.

Pinkola Estes voice is clear and very soothing. Her delivery is flawless.
Rating:
 
By Kate McIninch
Date Added: Friday 25 February 2011
Clarissa Estes has transformed my life! Thank you Sounds True for introducing me to my tribe! Keep going with all the great work! Sincerely, Kate McIninch from Canadaxx
Rating:
 
By B. Diehl
Date Added: Wednesday 22 December 2010
This really helped me recognize my weaknesses, and value my strengths, as an unmothered child. I've owned it for 20 years, and find if I don't "refresh" with a new listen periodically, I get off-track. I recommend this work to ALL who have lost their moms to death, abandonment, and mental illness. ON ever re-listen, I discover something new and helpful.
Rating:
 
By Meghan
Date Added: Wednesday 19 February 2014
Lovely stories, well presented by the author. I wished there was more actionable information for how to go about warming the stone child within, but alas! Loved the author's voice & the way she told the tales.
Rating:
 
By C J Wentworth
Date Added: Friday 8 June 2012
Many, many people have said that Dr. Estes is the best cantadora our our times. I couldn't agree more. She has a beautiful and intriguing voice and an overflowing, courageous heart.
Rating:
 
By Susan Duncan
Date Added: Tuesday 3 January 2012
Very easy to listen to. Heart warming.
Rating:
 
By Robert The
Date Added: Sunday 2 June 2013
Insightful and thought-provoking.
Rating:
 
By Alice Holejsovsky
Date Added: Tuesday 1 March 2011
nice stories - not a very practical approach thou
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others