About the Author

Clarissa Pinkola Estés

Clarissa Pinkola Estés, PhD, is an internationally recognized scholar, award-winning poet, diplomate senior Jungian psychoanalyst, and cantadora (keeper of the old stories in the Latina tradition). In addition to her international bestseller Women Who Run With the...

Customer Reviews for The Red Shoes

By Clare N T
Date Added: Tuesday 17 December 2013
Gets to the core of addiction. I have never had such a helpful perspective on my lifelong struggle with obesity. This has given me more understanding than 34 years of traditional therapy, diets, and medical interventions. Thank you Clarissa.
Rating:
 
By DEBORAH H
Date Added: Thursday 1 August 2013
Thank-you once again for your amazing story telling I could listen all day. A true Seanchai!
The word seanchaí, which was spelled seanchaidhe (plural seanchaidhthe) before the Irish-language spelling reform of 1948, means a bearer of "old lore" (seanchas). In the ancient Celtic culture, the history and laws of the people were not written down but memorized in long lyric poems which were recited by bards (filí), in a tradition echoed by the seanchaithe.
Rating:
 
By Jeannine E
Date Added: Tuesday 16 July 2013
The product and download worked perfectly!! Thank you.

Your feedback review is quite tardy, over 30 days.. If I ordered a lot, it could have been forgotten.
Rating:
 
By Cheryl B
Date Added: Monday 1 July 2013
Loved it - more material for book I am writing!
Rating:
 
By Mary F
Date Added: Friday 12 April 2013
Really enjoyed it. Very insightful in a simple format
Rating:
 
By Jennifer P
Date Added: Monday 14 January 2013
I really enjoyed my downloads and have taken to listening to them last thing at night. Clarissa Pinkola Estes is my favorite story teller and she reaches a place inside me that is old, yet very free and spontaneous. I love her approach, her storytelling and the way she brings into the current world the old stories and legends. The Red Shoe is outstanding and really helps conceptualize addiction.
Rating:
 
By nadia ashburner
Date Added: Saturday 28 May 2011
I enjoy listening to Dr CPE and always learn something valuable.


thanks
nadia
Rating:
 
By fiona knox
Date Added: Tuesday 19 April 2011
Another wonderful experience of storytelling and teaching from Dr Pinkola Estes.
Rating:
 
By Barbara Gibson
Date Added: Friday 11 March 2011
I absolutely love The Red Shoes and didn't want it to end. Consequently, I came home and ordered The Dangerous Old Women. I also have Mother Night to listen to that I ordered a few weeks ago. Can't get enough of this enthralling Jungian content and the way Dr. Estes delivers her stories. Thank you!
Rating:
 
By Uk Audiobook Lover
Date Added: Tuesday 22 February 2011
I was exceptionally pleased with the content of the audiobook "The Red Shoes" by Dr Clarissa Pinkola Estes. It was very helpful and supported some meaningful, personal, inner journeys for me. I have read a few of CPE's books now and love her artful, humaine and humorous explanations of some very complex jungian concepts. She draws on folk stories as particularly illuminating metaphorical demonstrations of the varied aspects of the Self and it's conflicts. Her books are just beautiful.

Her gentle voice and the love and light in it really soothed and supported me through some difficult but necessary territory. It's been a spring-board for further investigation into Jungian Psychoanalysis for me but I think this book could easily be taken as an isolated enjoyable experience. I would, however, highly recommend other books by Dr Estes. I particularly liked "The Stone Child", "Women Who Run With The Wolves" and the lecture series "Theatre of The Imagination".

Thank-you sounds true for your excellent service and for providing MP3s which can be transferred straight to personal MP3 players that are not big brand makes.
Rating:
 
By Edith May
Date Added: Sunday 11 July 2010
Dr Estes is amazing. Not only is she a delight to listen to, but the content is so enlightening! In the past I have found myths hard to read, but when they are spoken (I guess its their true form) they really speak to my psyche. Treat yourself, you deserve it.
Rating:
 
By Carolyn Edwards
Date Added: Monday 25 April 2011
Beautiful re-telling of this old story, though feel she made an error in analysis -- it's not the shoemaker who is the destroyer in the psyche, but the bearded soldie. Important issues well-dealt with.
Rating:
 
By JoAnne Davis
Date Added: Saturday 12 May 2012
very informative
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others