About the Author

Coleman Barks

Coleman Barks is a leading scholar and translator of the 13th-century Persian mystic Jelaluddin Rumi. In addition to publishing two books of his own poetry (The Juice and Gourd Seed), Barks has published 12 volumes of translations from Rumi and others, and...

Customer Reviews for Rumi

By Silvia L
Date Added: Friday 17 October 2014
Every time i listen to Rumi thee self still wonders about its speechless beauty spoken by a exquisite voice ears to heart
It resonates
Rating:
 
By AER
Date Added: Thursday 8 May 2014
I love this recitation of Rumi's sacred poetry, and have listened to it countless times. Hearing Coleman Bark's speak the thoughts, with Robert Bly contributing, made the poems come alive for me and I understood them so much more than when I just read them. The accompanying music, drumming, and vocals are amazing and haunting. I have some of Bark's other recordings of Rumi's poetry as well.
Rating:
 
By Lesley R
Date Added: Thursday 14 February 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed. The combination of music and Barks voice are wonderful.
Rating:
 
By J. Johnson
Date Added: Sunday 9 December 2012
I'm 62 & 1/2 and love it! I love to shake my booty to the beats. AweSome! 🎶👵🎶💃🎶
Rating:
 
By George
Date Added: Tuesday 22 March 2011
This recording captures Coleman Barks during one of his most inspired phases. Coleman embodies the spirit of Rumi like no other! The music creates a wonderful backdrop to the reading.
Rating:
 
By Susan Eichner
Date Added: Monday 15 August 2011
Background music terribly distracting.
Rating:
 
By CD
Date Added: Monday 24 December 2012
Why is the music Indian? Rumi was Persian.
Rating:
 
By Mary A Hare
Date Added: Friday 2 March 2012
i sent Rumi back to you. I could not hear the poety for the back ground music which I did not like

it does not deserve a star.
Rating:
 
By Anne Winter
Date Added: Wednesday 24 August 2011
This leaves something to be desired. The music is too intrusive and overshadows the poetry. I didn't bother to listen to it all.
Rating:
 
By diane sings
Date Added: Wednesday 23 February 2011
The poems are read well and are inspiring. I love drum music and syncopation but on the CD it is distracting and makes hearing the poems difficult.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others