Courses in Progress

Echkart Tolle
FREE video course

The MBSR Online Course
Saki Santorelli and Florence Meleo-Meyer

Deepening Intimacy
FREE Video Event Series

Coming in November

The Psychology of Loving Awareness
Jack Kornfield
November 15–16, 2014
Tucson, Arizona

Coming in March

Wake Up San Francisco
Join Adyashanti, Alanis Morissette, Caroline Myss, and many more
March 28, 2015
San Francisco, CA

Search Weekly Wisdom

Wise Words
Our authors and book editors offer these choice written selections for your contemplative reading and inspiration.

Layne Redmond: Chakra Meditation


The Seven Dimensions of Reality

Since the beginning of time, wisdom traditions have told us there are seven heavens, seven planes of experience, or seven dimensions of consciousness that we must journey through to enter into the totality of our luminous, awakened Self. This sacred, realized, essential, eternal, or higher Self is the deepest core of our consciousness, which is in touch with the creative source of all life. The total or true Self directly experiences its primal connection with everything, and is conscious of the unity and structure of creation. The renowned psychotherapist Carl G. Jung spoke of the archetype of the higher Self as the blueprint for all of humanity as well as for each individual human being. This blueprint of the mind’s infinite potential is waiting in the depths of our unconscious to be brought forth into the world. As the blueprint unfolds, the force of the awakening Self inspires, motivates, and guides our evolution into higher dimensions of awareness.

This archetypal journey is an internal, spiritual passage through the dimensions of our own consciousness that shifts our sense of identity away from the social or personal self (focused on the physical body and our individual mind) to this sacred Self. The yogic tradition details this journey through seven spheres of energy and information known as the chakras. The word chakra comes from Sanskrit, the ancient language of India, and translates as “circle,” “wheel,” or “vortex of energy.” The chakra system is the electromagnetic structure of our consciousness, created by the flow of our life force through the mind and body. The chakras are the intersections of energy and consciousness located along the main energy channel flowing from the upper brain to the base of the spine, and regulating our physical, mental, and emotional states.

Each chakra represents a realm of thoughts, emotions, desires, goals, and ideals. The first chakra, at the base of the spine, is concerned with physical survival. Moving up the spine, the second chakra, in the lower abdomen, is concerned with relationships; the third chakra, at the navel, with our place in the world; the fourth chakra, at the heart center, with the power of compassion and love; the fifth chakra, at the throat, with the power of communication of ideas of truth and beauty; the sixth chakra, in the center of the brain, with the power of meditative and cognitive awareness; and the seventh chakra, at the crown of the head, with the realization of our spiritual Self. The process of awakening the chakras and moving our awareness up from the first chakra to the seventh chakra is our journey back to the infinite potential of the highest Self.

If the flow of our life energy and consciousness is blocked at any point within the chakras or the channels through which the energy flows to the chakras, this will have a profound effect on our physical and mental health, how we see ourselves and others, how we operate in the world, and our ability to manifest our highest potential. In this program you will learn what causes blockages in the chakras and how to open, balance, and activate the chakras, bringing the energetic system of the mind and body to an optimal state of functioning.

You might also enjoy:

Purify the Chakras
Purify the Chakras
more details
Chakra Breathing Meditations
Chakra Breathing Meditations
more details
Heart Chakra Meditations
Heart Chakra Meditations
more details

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others