About the Author

Various Artists

Sounds True strives to preserve the essential "living wisdom" of each author, artist, or spiritual teacher we publish.

Customer Reviews for Songs of Mary

By kelly
Date Added: Tuesday 1 April 2014
What a wonderful compilation of music devoted to the Blessed Mother. To appreciate the beauty of this music, one doesn't need to understand the words which are primarily in Latin. The depth of the meaning goes beyond any human language. The vocals are clear and pristine and convey in heartfelt emotion the true meaning of Mry, Mother of God.
Rating:
 
By Elizabeth Clare H
Date Added: Sunday 9 March 2014
Soul-food. Very beautiful.
Rating:
 
By David H
Date Added: Friday 31 January 2014
These are luvely
Rating:
 
By Lucinda M
Date Added: Tuesday 28 January 2014
This is a beautiful cd which i'm really enjoying.
Rating:
 
By Margaret S
Date Added: Monday 13 January 2014
A stunning album. Contemplative and relaxing. I have listened to this album many times.
Rating:
 
By FC
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
I ordered this because the sound samples appealed to my ear. I am not Christian and have never had an interest in Mary. And I am completely blown away by the incredible music and musicianship on this album. It is divinely beautiful to my mortal ears and heart. High quality food for the soul
Rating:
 
By Eloise D
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
This music is beautiful and very uplifting. I'm so happy I purchased this CD!
Rating:
 
By Sofia T
Date Added: Monday 6 January 2014
Lovely, soothing music. it sounds like prayer.
Rating:
 
By Kate V
Date Added: Monday 6 January 2014
Gentle, flowing , sacred music. Love this album honoring Blessed Mother.
Rating:
 
By Grace V
Date Added: Wednesday 1 January 2014
This album is beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Fabulous vocals, a lovely harmonious sound, one of my favourites.
Rating:
 
By Ingrid B
Date Added: Friday 27 December 2013
Most beautiful voices and songs.
Rating:
 
By Charles E
Date Added: Wednesday 25 December 2013
Beautiful music which was perfect for the Christmas holiday season at a deeper level
Rating:
 
By Charles E
Date Added: Wednesday 25 December 2013
Beautiful music which was perfect for the Chritamas holiday season at a deeper level
Rating:
 
By Valerie M
Date Added: Saturday 28 September 2013
Love it , use it in my Expressive Art groups as we paint!
Rating:
 
By Elizabeth
Date Added: Tuesday 30 October 2012
This is one of my favorite CDs. I listen to it almost every day. A truly beautiful, reverent and deeply moving collection of chants, hymns and songs to the Divine Mother.
Rating:
 
By maddiepup
Date Added: Wednesday 18 January 2012
One more thing...there is a booklet in the cd that has the lyrics in the original language and a translation.
Rating:
 
By maddiepup
Date Added: Wednesday 18 January 2012
Love, love, love this cd. Beautiful music...peaceful and straight to the heart.
Rating:
 
By Kathy Lawler
Date Added: Wednesday 21 December 2011
Really like the soothing qualities of the music.
Rating:
 
By Stephanie
Date Added: Friday 13 August 2010
Wow- This is gorgeous! Pure tone singing. What a great combination of women singing in praise of Mary. Hail!
Rating:
 
By Julia D
Date Added: Monday 13 January 2014
very nice
Rating:
 
By Tess J
Date Added: Friday 10 January 2014
The energy of mary is magical
Rating:
 
By Jan H
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
Lovely!
Rating:
 
By John R
Date Added: Thursday 9 January 2014
I really enjoy this
Rating:
 
By Sandra J
Date Added: Monday 6 January 2014
I listened often to the chanting. Then put it away. It seemed to prepare me for surgery on 12/16. Haven't listened since I came home. Happy with my purchase.
Rating:
 
By Linda L
Date Added: Saturday 25 January 2014
There are some beautiful moments on this CD for me but not compelling as a whole
Rating:
 
By Liz Flynn
Date Added: Monday 26 September 2011
The CD and packaging was very nice. Personally the music was not what I expected. Do not like it.
Rating:
 
By TOM BURDO
Date Added: Wednesday 23 February 2011
For the most part, each of the songs on this CD are sung in a high-pitched woman's voice, often accompanied by simple strumming of a guitar or lute. Although each song has a different singer, I found most of the songs so similar that the album was monotonous.

This was made worse since none are sung in English (and the CD lacks any printed lyrics), so I cannot understand the meaning of the words. (Of course, it doesn't help that I find high-pitched voices [or instruments} jangles my nerves after awhile......)

There were several exceptions, songs which I did enjoy. Band #3 was the best, great. I loved it. Many voices, including low-pitched (men's), beautifully sung. This song brought tears to my eyes as I realized "It's true!" (about Mary's appearances told in "The Miracle Detective" by Randall Sullivan, for example....)

Band #14 is similar, many voices sing various parts simultaneously, the same group as band #3, I think....again, no instruments...almost as good as Band #3.

Another selection I liked is band #12, since the voice was for me somewhat soothing, at a slightly lower pitch (I would call it a "mezzo-soprano") than most of the other songs which are sung by a single vocalist.

There was a fourth song I liked somewhat, though I forget its exact number but somewhere in the middle of the album.....as I recall it sounded like many nuns in a convent singing a beautiful hymn, almost like Gregorian chant perhaps?, many voices, with several different parts together, no instruments accompanying.

If all the songs of this album were of the same quality as these four above, this CD would be a worth addition to anyone's collection. However, as it is, I cannot recommend this CD.

If you do not mind high-pitched voices, however, nor wish to understand the words, perhaps this album might be okay for your listening taste?
Rating:
 
By Betty G
Date Added: Tuesday 14 January 2014
Not at all what I expected. I listened once and I'm sure I won't listen to it again. I should have done more research on what this CD sounded like.
Rating:
 

Weekly Podcast

Free audio
interviews with spiritual teachers listen online

Sounds True
founder
Tami Simon

Find new artists & authors

Music, interviews, new releases, and more

Share some Good Karma

Earn free gifts by sharing good karma with others